Bubble Witch Saga 3 Industrial Deals Beauty Best Books of the Month STEM nav_sap_hiltonhonors_launch Learn more about Amazon Music Unlimited PCB for Musical Instruments Starting at $39.99 Grocery Handmade Tote Bags Home Gift Guide Off to College Home Gift Guide Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon BradsStatus BradsStatus BradsStatus  Introducing Echo Show Introducing All-New Fire HD 10 with Alexa hands-free $149.99 Kindle Oasis, unlike any Kindle you've ever held Shop Now STEMClubToys17_gno



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 18 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 41 reviews
on March 9, 2004
Susan Blackmore has written an excellent book dealing with one of the most challenging problems confronting human kind as we enter the 21st century: What is consciousness and how do we explain it. The book examines consciousness from myriad viewpoints;philosophical, psychological, and biological. Ms. Blackmore presents a plethora of fascinating topics such as:What is it like to be a bat?,What are we actually seeing?,What is it like to be an animal?,Could a machine be conscious?, What are the neural correlates of consciousness?, How do we distinguish between reality and imagination?, and, finally, How are Buddhism and consciousness related?
All the key players involved in the study of consciousness such as Renes Descartes, David Chalmers, Patricia Churchland, Daniel Dennett, Alan Turing,Francis Crick, Roger Penrose, John Eccles, etc. are found in this wonderful book.
Each chapter contains profiles, concepts, activities, and practices,and readings. The references are excellent. And Ms. Blackmore writes in clear, concise prose.
If you have ever wondered what consciousness may be, then this is the book for you whether you plan to use it for a college course or simply read it yourself. This is a great and fun read! Don't delay; buy a copy today and the price is right!!!
0Comment| 29 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 13, 2014
Best, most fascinating textbook I have ever read. Textbooks are boring right? Not this one. And I loved the cartoon images drawn by her son.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 30, 2016
Outstanding book!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 26, 2015
Not easy reading but understandable to some extend.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 16, 2013
Susan Blackmore is sharp and relentless in her quest to unveil confusion and misunderstanding regarding what consciousness is and what -or who- the self is. Her own views take unmistakeable shape as she reviews and examines -critically- the views of some of the most relevant authors on the matter. She includes a section on meditation and the Buddhist view on consciousness and the self. She is one of very few authors that dares take a challenging stance regarding common misunderstandings of the Buddha's teachings. After reading this book, the Buddhist teaching of anatta (no substance, or no-self) reveals a radical and liberating scenario.
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 23, 2013
Even if you do not find the topic to be the most fascinating subject in philosophy, psychology and neuroscience, you will be surprised and enlightened on nearly every page of this excellent textbook. Practical exercises to expand your understanding of your own experience are combined with recent experimental studies and cutting-edge theory. Best of all, the reader is given everything she needs to overcome the illusion of consciousness altogether! Read the book, ponder the ideas it contains, & practice the exercises. Your life will change.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 19, 2008
Blackmore provides a readable, comprehensive introduction to the field. A great book for getting grounded in philosophy of consciousness.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 16, 2014
I gave this book 5 stars because it provided me much more concepts beyond the fundamentals. The book was very easy to read in terms of being able to understand the concepts right away. Even though it is used, this book was worth looking into and useful for my class related to the topic of consciousness.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 11, 2014
Some chapters in this book are confusing because the thought-experiments make assumptions on what they think you will think. That's very subjective and if I don't agree with it, I might not get what they're trying to explain. But overall, this book discusses current and past "general" ideas of what consciousness is. The cover is very pretty, but the rest of the illustrations are quite bland.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 4, 2015
Great book and very relatable to everyday examples
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse