Industrial Deals Beauty STEM nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Starting at $39.99 Grocery Handmade Wedding Rustic Decor Home Gift Guide Off to College Home Gift Guide Book House Cleaning TheTick TheTick TheTick  Introducing Echo Show Limited-time offer: All-New Fire HD 8 Kids Edition, starting at $99.99 Kindle Oasis GNO Tailgating STEMClubToys17_gno

Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:$9.69+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 15 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 35 reviews
on October 4, 2014
More "refined" and less hectic then most of Di Meola's early classic works (such as Elegant Gypsy), yet you can still here all the musical complexity. This is the more "mature" or you might say focused style of recent Di Meola, but with some fire from his earlier days mixed in, and great compositions to be found all over the album. It's a little "easier" to listen to, in that the complexities come across a bit more subtle then his early works, but still quite fulfilling musically as a jazz album. I would say it's the best of Di Meola's newer works.

The recording quality is great too, by the way. No complaints, very natural yet full sounding album.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 12, 2009
After exploring Synclavier sounds, world music, tango and even solo acoustic work, Al DiMeola had recharged his batteries and was ready to explore the power and passion of the instrument that made him famous; the solid body electric guitar.

In addition to his regular working band-Mario Parmisano (keyboards) Gumbi Ortiz (percussion) Victor Miranda (basses) & Ernie Adams (drums)-Al invited some famous friends to celebrate the occasion; Barry Miles (keyboards) Steve Gadd (drums) John Patitucci (bass) & his original mentor Chick Corea (piano).

Pieces like "San Marco", "Tao", "Azzucar" & "Hypnose" present Al laying it all out in a band setting, while "Turquoise" and "Cry for You" (a duet with Chick) showcase Al's acoustic side.

Al also adds a few short "link tracks" to act as set-ups or soundscapes for larger pieces.

The two biggest highlights however, are "Red Moon" a burning groove which co-features Chick and is a lot like the Al DiMeola of 'once-upon-a-time'.
Not only did this collaboration with Chick produce a stunning piece of music, but laid the groundwork for Return To Forever's triumphant 2008 reunion tour.

"Tempest" is a 9-minute epic that is reminiscent of Al's 1970's work. It absolutely burns.

Through it all Al's Paul Reed Smith solid body sings, wails & screams with touches of high speed runs like the days of yore.

Al's still got it. Make no mistake. 5 stars.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 28, 2006
Musically wise this album rates 5 stars, great musicianship all around from every one. However a "Return to solid body electric guitar" it is not. Which for me was rather a let down. I was really hoping for some fast hard paced playing as a refreshing change from the over all style of his last several albums. Still very much into the "Flamenco" style only some of it is played on an electric guitar rather than acoustic. For any one expecting something along the lines of "Kiss My Axe" or some of his earlier playing you are not going to find much here. There are fleeting moments of typical Di Meola 64th note style, but over all this is similar to his last several albums...which are great...just don't expect lots of heavy electric guitar or blazing riffs like the earlier days. If you are a fan already you will like it. Di Meola is one of the finest players alive today.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 7, 2006
Why is it that so many music fans want the musicians they like to continually rehash their glory days? I read all the reviews and then listened to Consequence of Chaos a half dozen times and came away pretty much agreeing with the reviewer from Hungary who asks fans to listen to this CD on its own terms. While this CD may not be the heralded return to Al's electric days, it does at least touch on them while not forsaking his most recent direction. It covers the full spectrum of his talents indeed!

I have been an Al DiMeola fan from the start and have seen him live many times over the past thirty years. When he makes a new album, I don't want him to recreate favorites like Casino, Soaring Through A Dream, or Orange and Blue any more than I wish to hear him remake albums I didn't like so much like Kiss My Axe or Scenario. I want to hear something new! Consequence of Chaos, while not among his five best, is an album that has at least something to offer fans of all periods. With musicians like Chick Corea and Steve Gadd, he assures us of his respect for his early years. With long-time percussionist Gumbi Ortiz still on board, he reassures those most attuned to his later World Sinfonia projects.

There are no tunes on Consequence of Chaos that stand out for me either positively or negatively. I have been enjoying it in the office for half the day now and find its vibes to be extremely soothing and conducive to a productive day. DiMeola's mastery is such that you can close your eyes if you like, kick back, and the music will take your mind anywhere in the world you want to go!
0Comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 13, 2006
I have all of his CDs, so obviously I'm a fan. My opinion is: I like it. Three of the songs -- San Marco Moderna, Red Moon and Tempest -- will be added to my 'Best Of' playlist immediately. He continues to discover unique new lines and syncopations that blow me away, but like I said, I'm a fan. The CD has 4 or 5 songs that I would call very good and the rest are certainly listenable. I'll take that ratio in a release from any artist. Much better than Flesh on Flesh, which I'd give 2 1/2 stars. I'd say its the best since Orange and Blue, which has been my favorite.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 13, 2015
Another great set of songs.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 13, 2008
It is pretty neat to see a musician who, after releasing many albums, produces something that may be his very best, and this after a long career of magnificent music. I wish he had more imitators. This album is so rich that it takes months to explore all of its facets.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 16, 2011
If you haven't heard any of this guys stuff and your into cool music I suggest you get some !!!! You'll want more.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 7, 2008
In the future, the music on this album will be viewed as world class, and revered, as Miles Davis'; Mozart has competition.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 27, 2009
Very good job of mastering for surround. Product arrived on time and as advertised.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

$16.14
$12.89

Need customer service? Click here