1 new from $4,999.00

Have one to sell? Sell on Amazon

Contour Vented Helmet Mount

3.9 out of 5 stars 30 customer reviews

Available from these sellers.
    This fits your .
  • Enter your model number to make sure this fits.
  • The Contour GPS captures beautiful 1080p video. It utilizes a 135-degree wide-angle lens that delivers a true high quality image that captures all the action with minimal distortion and no fish-eye. It records Full HD in all its glory!
  • Full HD 1080p (1920 x1080 @ 30 fps) to capture those awesome moments in the highest resolution available.
  • Tall HD 960p (1280 x 960 @ 30fps) for those sports like surfing that are better suited to a taller image.
  • Action HD 720p (1280 x 720 @ 60 fps) when frame rate is more important than resolution. The perfect setting to capture the fastest action. It reduces blur and rolling shutter effect.
  • Contour 720p (1280 x 720 @30 fps). When space on your card is at a premium and you need to record that last epic adventure. This setting takes it easy on your memory.
1 new from $4,999.00

Technical Details


Product Description

Expand your helmet cam mounting options with the Contour Vented Helmet Camera Mount. Designed to thread through the open vents of your helmet and then attach to the rail system on your ContourHD camera, youll be ready to hit the trail on your mountain bike once you cinch down the webbing strap, attach the backup security leash and fine-tune the angle with the built in adjustable tilt.

Product Information

Product Dimensions 5.9 x 5.3 x 1.5 inches
Item Weight 2.9 ounces
Shipping Weight 2.9 ounces
ASIN B0036X8B6I
Item model number 2550
Customer Reviews
3.9 out of 5 stars 30 customer reviews

3.9 out of 5 stars
Best Sellers Rank #684 in Electronics > Televisions & Video > Projection Screens
Date first available at Amazon.com February 5, 2010

Warranty & Support

Product Warranty: For warranty information about this product, please click here

Feedback

Would you like to tell us about a lower price?

Customer Questions & Answers

Customer Reviews

Top Customer Reviews

By Richard Singer on March 8, 2010
Verified Purchase
I just received my VholdR helmet mount. After strapping it to my bike helmet, I noticed that the pin holding the two plastic pieces together, slid to one side, allowing the other side to come apart. There is no provision for the pin to stay put, allowing the two-piece construction to randomly come apart. This is particularly dangerous if the supplied leash is not used - potentially resulting in a lost or damaged camera. At very least, the construction as supplied, may not serve as a secure camera mount and may induce a shaky video.

I fixed the problem by removing the pin and putting a rubber-band between the pin and the half-round seat in the camera-mount, then cutting the rubber band after the pin was mostly slid into the helmet-mount. Then I used a thin-bladed screw driver to push the pin completely into the helmet-mount. This is something of a temporary solution, as the rubber will eventually degrade and loosen. But for now, I have an interference fit between the pin and the plastic parts.
Comment 14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
Good tilting concept but absolutely poor design and plastic material on the base saddle.
The pin which holds the slider to the base of the mount broke off right after I landed
a jump off a 4 feet ramp while snowboarding. The plastic saddle is too weak/thin to hold
the camera securely. The side of the camera touches and exerts some pressure against
the base of the mount which causes the pin to pop out from its saddle.

Don't buys this! Vholdr makes good cameras but this accessory is absolutely disappointing.
Look elsewhere or wait until they correct and improve this design.
Comment 13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
Verified Purchase
Good product idea and looked like it would be good for biking. But it wouldn't fit the new ContourRoam camera. The two mounts that came with the camera fit well while this one could barely even go 1cm into the camera with a lot of force. Returned, Amazon helped and the service was good.
Comment 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
Verified Purchase
I don't know about offroading, but for streets this is great. I have had no problems with looseness or breaking. After reading the reviews I still bought it and tried a few configurations and realized a few things:
1. you have to have the straps cross several vents in order for the strap clips to be flat and be able to tighten the straps effectively
2. you have to really tighten the straps until you can't wiggle the platform. That should be obvious, but remember it will get jostled a lot more on your bike than when you're holding it.

I will load a pick of how mine is setup, but basically the flat mount is on the top of my helmet, and the straps go down the sides for about 2"-3" on each side. That was the only way it really kept stable. It didn't work so well trying to put the camera on the side of the helmet. Doing it that way meant one of the clips that hold the straps in place would be in a weird position and difficult to tighten properly.

Once i had it set up like that, I've had no problems with it, and the pictures are great. I may still end up buying the handlebar mount anyway though, since you move your head around a lot more than you realize, and you really can't watch the videos without getting motion sickness. But that is no fault of the product, just whether you mount it on the bike or on your head.
1 Comment 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
The mount is extremely hard to take off the camera. I checked the questions on the contour web site and saw someone else had the same problem. The advice from Contour was too use firm hard pressure. I had to use so much force I was afraid the camera would break, but it finally came off. I plan to modify the mount so it comes off easier before I try it again.
1 Comment 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
Verified Purchase
I would not recommend getting this mount for biking, it doesn't allow for much versatility in terms of mounting your vholdr. The new flat mounts are roughly the same price Contour Rotating Flat Surface Mount and there's infinte more angles to play with as opposed to how you strap this on your helmet. I wasted my money on this before the rotating flat mounts were released and it's been collecting dust. This is the worst Contour accessory available out there.
Comment 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
Verified Purchase
I tried this helmet mount on several mountain bike rides. The camera moves around in the mount and rattles with any kind of bump. Probably okay if you are just walking around but don't expect good video if you are doing anything remotely bouncy.
Comment 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
Verified Purchase
Strap design wouldn't really ever get fully secure on my helmet, though it didn't matter because one crash and the plastic ribs in the middle tore right off. I know you want to have a weak link somewhere, and better on that than your camera, but maybe a detachable design or something with a little more thought. It also did not offer much in regards to adjustment with the "rocker plate". In the end, I still love my Vholdr camera, but I got little use out of this cam mount before it was completely toast.

Two thumbs down for a badly designed product.
Comment 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse

Most Recent Customer Reviews