Industrial Deals HPC Best Books of the Year Holiday Dress Guide nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc For a limited time. 3 months for $0.99. Amazon Music Unlimited. New subscribers only. Terms and conditions apply. Electronics Gift Guide $54.99 for a limited time only Try it first with samples Handmade Gift Shop Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon Snuggle Up with Your Favorite Holiday Movies on Amazon Video Snuggle Up with Your Favorite Holiday Movies on Amazon Video Snuggle Up with Your Favorite Holiday Movies on Amazon Video  Echo Devices starting at $29.99 Save $30 on All-New Fire HD 8. Limited-time offer. $20 off Kindle Paperwhite GNO Shop Now HTL17_gno



on October 2, 2015
The last 10 year Thailand is torn between the elite and the poor, mainly because the elite they don't really understand the poor. Thaksin, I really think he is the bridge, because he had seen both side. when he came to power and willing to help the poor his cunning enemy saw an opportunity tried to painted him a colour, unfortunately the place believed. I feel sorry for Thailand that miss a chance to thrive like Taiwan ,Korea, Japan, Singapore etc. Thais poor still seeking and opportunity out side their own country. I really believe that if the elite really know the truth that Thaksin is loyal to the palace and allow him to put on his best performance, I think Thailand will surpass all the nation that I have mention earlier including the elite themselves.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on February 1, 2014
I am like Don Tarrantino and was mesmerized with the writing style. Among 30 ebooks I bought, this is the only one I completed reading in 2012 in two nights. It was so real when Tom Plate put words by words of Khun Thaksin's own bad English down on paper. The writer was sincere and fair in presentation. Many times, I nearly felt off my chair on Thaksin's remarks that Tom might not have understood but put them down anyway for the benefits of Thai readers. This book is a must for all Thais to read and probe into the mind of that man who still matters to Thailand. We now can determine whether his days are numbered.

The interviews were made after the landslide victory of his sister. Hence, that caused Thaksin to be so careless with his euphoric attitude that he may now have to pay for those words. I would not have dared to translate those words in Thai.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on February 18, 2014
Of course, no one expects 100% cold truth and discoveries about this controversial figure. However, the author manages to ask difficult questions to be heard in the day-to-day Thai political climates while educating the readers about politics philosophical ideas in the process. I appreciate that the author seems to be quite prepared with the unique Thai cultural characteristics except for a few e.g. when he postulated that homosexuality would be that controversial over here like anywhere else in the world. Well, it is not. All in all, it is a great read for anyone who is interested in Thaksin or the current Thai politics situations alike.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on June 14, 2014
I think people should read in two sides and make judgement by their own information and background. Now Thai people can get information from only military coup in one side. Many news from Thailand is propagated by anti-democracy side. Conspiracy theory in Thailand is obstruct for democracy in Thailand and all around the world. There is a translation of this book in Thailand but Mr.Somkiat Ornvimon, who supported military coup try to deviate this book from the author attention.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on March 3, 2014
Pro
- Get to know Thaksin
- Hard to find reading material in Thailand

Con
- Loads of excuses from Thaksin
- Biased
- Many stories are not true
- Could be used as Thaksin's propaganda
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on December 2, 2016
Fantastic book with great insights written in a light yet entertaining manner. Great work! I would recommend this series by Tom Plate
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on February 28, 2014
It is always interesting to hear both sides of a political story. I can see why Thaksin is loved and hated by many. He was just way too effective at accomplishing his goals. Whether his goals were "good" or not is a matter of opinion. I try to be neutral on this subject because I know emotions about this man are all over the map.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on February 13, 2014
Very one-sided story. The author got caught in the Reality Distortion Field worse than that of Steve Jobs'. It turned out not to be as "fair and honest" as the author had hoped for. If the author cared to dig up more information, he would be extremely miserable to find out he was lied to.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on February 19, 2014
The conversations were a little difficult to follow. Not sure if it's because of the language or how the conversations went in a way which was complicated or unwanted to answer. Thanks, Tom. It's still good to know what he "said" about so many things.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on February 18, 2014
Good smooth telling. Facts are included. It s not selling in Thailand coz Thaksin prevented it. Bettet than other lobbied media that censored bad things and show only good things. We need more books like this. No country for Thaksin anymore.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Need customer service? Click here