Hill Climb Racing 2 Industrial Deals Beauty Best Books of the Month Shop new men's suiting nav_sap_hiltonhonors_launch $5 Digital Albums PCB for Musical Instruments Starting at $39.99 Grocery Handmade Tote Bags Home Gift Guide Off to College Home Gift Guide Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon Transparent Transparent Transparent  Introducing Echo Show Introducing All-New Fire HD 10 with Alexa hands-free $149.99 Kindle Oasis, unlike any Kindle you've ever held AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Tailgating ToyHW17_gno



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 10 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 36 reviews
on June 9, 2014
Cookbooks are an excellent way to see real code examples to real life problems. This book is no exception. I have been programming in ruby for 2-3 years and find this book useful as seeing other professionals code always help build my confidence and understanding.

I would recommend any real ruby enthusiast buy this book as it walks through basic examples to very complex ideas on how to solve common and interesting problems.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 20, 2016
I'm a complete beginner to Ruby, but I still found this book very helpful. It's got a lot of information to help both beginner users like me, as well as people with more advanced knowledge. I would recommend it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 15, 2007
As others already said, this book is all about immediate, hands-on learning experience with some real, live and working code, delivered by *you* quickly. This book by itself may not be enough to gain a deeper understanding of Ruby, and its philosophical background, but should be certainly enough to get you going with a new language, and get a "feel" for it: not only it covers the language (more or less), and the standard library, but it also offers you a quick "preview" of some most popular 3rd party libraries. Just keep in mind that there are many others, and sometiems I disagree with author's selections of what to include. (ImageMagic is one, for example)

Personally, for almost everything I learn, I prefer to have two kinds of manuals: a) deep and concise, and b) quick&dirty. This one fits the second role just perfectly, therefore I recommend it.

For more depth, go ang get "Programming Ruby" as well.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 27, 2008
Yes you can read online material but it's just not as good. The book really has some great content.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 2, 2013
* Very accurate, fast & clever.
* Amazing lookup tool - sometimes finding an answer in the book is faster than google!

Just read it!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 30, 2013
The services was excellent. The book was in better shape that I thought. The writing of the book was as good as the other cookbooks Perl.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 28, 2014
Good book for the geeky persons in my family. Too deep and mind boggling for my brain but not for the geeks.
11 comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 11, 2014
Great book when you need to get something done and don't know which of the myriad ways is best.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 20, 2015
This book is really old. Everything changed
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 12, 2013
I was realy happy for recieving this book, it is full of reciepes that you can use to improve your knowledge.
11 comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse