Oil month Automotive HPC Magazine Deals Introducing Prime Wardrobe nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc $5 Albums PCB for select Bang & Olufsen Starting at $39.99 Grocery Handmade Mother's Day gifts Home Gift Guide Mother's Day gifts across Amazon Home Gift Guide Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon Hostiles available to rent Hostiles available to rent Hostiles available to rent  Kids Edition Echo Dot Fire tablets: Designed for entertainment Kindle Paperwhite GNO Shop now SWMTVT18_gno



on March 8, 2017
I never got to play this game when it was first released, so when I saw how cheap it was now, I thought it'd be nice to give it a try on my little brother's 2ds. It's just a fun as I hoped it would it would be! the gameplay itself is simple, but provides a fun challenge for kids or those who are new to gaming! Even for someone who's been playing video games all my life, this game proved to be really fun and engaging, I can't put it down when I'm in the middle of finishing a recipe! And the pastel, pixel aesthetics are another lovely sight to behold! Definitely give this game a try!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on January 15, 2007
Cooking Mama is a great game for cooks of all skill levels from instant noodle munchers to iron chef wannabes. You needn't be a master in the kitchen to do well in this game, but it does require some stylus skill to be a cook in mama's kitchen.

Players are required to complete a variety of basic cooking techniques which you will have the opportunity to practice till you are ready to get started. From chopping and slicing, to wrapping and breading, mama has you you do it all.

Dishes range from salsbury steak to sushi rolls. Degree of difficulty is primarily dependent on the type of task or number of steps required to complete a dish. Some require one or two steps to a combination of several techniques. The more you play, the more dishes you unlock. Depending on how well you do, mama gives you a bronze, silver, or gold medal. However, don't get mama mad or you shall feel her wrath!

Cooking Mama is a really fun game that's extremely addicting. It's hard to stop playing. They make you really want that gold medal! The fact that you are able to see the very basics of how to make a cool looking meal is a plus. I think it's a nice intro to those afraid of culinary arts. The only thing that prevented me from giving this game a 5 is the fact that we finished it so quickly. I wish there were a lot more dishes and greater degrees of difficulty. There were alot of dishes of course, but if you get as addicted to this game as we were, those dishes aren't enough!
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on July 23, 2013
This game is a hit in our household with the cooking sound effects generating giggles and silliness and much enjoyment. It is a positive learning tool for elementary aged children as they actually must follow a recipe to " win ", that is beat-the-clock, as well as follow steps in sequence while using a specific cooking " technique" in order to accomplish a successful result.
An area to improve might be, though not an actual flaw, the amount of menu options to choose from. The kids do ask for more choices of different foods to prepare. Perhaps Cooking Mama 2 answers this need.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on June 23, 2017
This game is awesome! You get to go through a bunch of recipes from all around the world and make them all. Better scores unlock more recipes.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on October 30, 2013
Cooking Mama is a great game that makes simulated cooking rather fun. It gives you a large variety of dishes to make, and can sometimes even give you ideas for cooking in real life. There's a fun point system that rates your cooking skills and it gives purpose to going back and making the same dishes again.

My only real grip is that the controls on the touch screen don't always register very well, and that often adds some unneeded frustration. Overall, though, it's worth the small amount of money it costs to play and is a classic DS game that launched a fun series.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on October 11, 2016
A lot more fun than I was expecting, actually, and since every recipe only takes a few minutes, it's a nice pick up game. My only complaint is sometimes ill do am action and it won't read it, but for the first in the series that's forgivable and doesn't take away from how fun the game is
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on April 18, 2009
I saw people playing Cooking Mama and couldn't understand what the fuss was about. (It was so popular that I couldn't find it in my local stores.) Once I bought, I couldn't stop playing this game.

First of all, this game is for everyone and it's very hard for me to get bored with it. There are over 76 recipes and combinations of dishes. Plus you have an opportunity to master your skills (i.e. chopping, frying, kneading, and etc.) This game is a great way to keep yourself occupied if you are waiting for a flight, or if you just need something to help you pass the time.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on June 27, 2017
Can't rate this. I bought it as a gift
11 comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on September 12, 2015
!!!I'M GONNA TELL YOU THE TRUTH,
THIS STUFF IS SO MUCH FUN! WHO CARES IF YOU DON'T CARE TO EAT.. JUST A GOOD CLEAN HAPPY POURING MEASURE ,EVERYTHING YOU NEED, INCLUDED...DON'T HESITATE@
11 comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on June 28, 2010
If you are looking for a super challenge go else where. I loved this game for the fact that it was just simple cooking fun. You get to chop, slice, dice, mix and many other cooking functions. Doesn't teach you how to actually cook; this is just a ddr version of cooking basically. Once you get the hang of doing each function it makes game play a lot smoother. Also, it was neat that they give you the option mid-cooking a recipe whether you want to subsitute or add other items to make a whole other dish. The practice option came in handy for some of the less simple functions. Some of the tasks you do are timed while others you finish when you finish.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you are posting in the form of a question.
Please enter a question.
See all 8 answered questions


Need customer service? Click here