Amazon.com: Customer Reviews: Corsair Vengeance Blue 16 GB DDR3 SDRAM Dual Channel Memory Kit
Amazon Vehicles Up to 80 Percent Off Textbooks Amazon Fashion Learn more Discover it Songs of Summer Fire TV Stick Health, Household and Grocery Back to School Totes Amazon Cash Back Offer TheKicks TheKicks TheKicks  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Starting at $49.99 All-New Kindle Oasis Florida Georgia Line Shop Now

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on November 5, 2011
I know looks aren't much of anything, but four sticks of Corsair Vengeance Blue looks like it was absolutely made for my ASUS P8Z68 Deluxe motherboard (which also sports blue heat-sinks) and Thermaltake Chaser MK-1 case (black, with blue accents).

Anyway, the RAM was well packaged and each stick was in its own protective packaging in the box. Installation was a breeze and I had no spacing issues or anything. Click-snap-power-zoom.

If there's one caution I would offer, it's that the fins atop the Corsair RAM are rather large, and if you have a small, compact system or oversized CPU cooler, there could be conflicts. In that case, you might want to go with the Corsair 16 GB Vengeance Blue Low Profile 1600mhz PC3-12800 240-pin Dual Channel DDR3 Memory Kit 16 Dual Channel Kit - CML16GX3M4A1600C9B instead.
0Comment| 36 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 24, 2011
I have been a loyal customer of Corsair memory for eight years. And for one reason: Corsair is the best. I used these DIMMs in my most recent build and once again, Corsair has come through. These puppies snapped in and the computer booted without a hitch. I went with air cooling on this build using the Cooler Master V8 and it worked perfectly with this memory. I was a bit worried these DIMMs wouldn't fit in the first socket of the motherboard with this monster sized cooler. But it fit just perfect and looks great. Just make sure to install the DIMMs first before the cooler. I'm running Windows 7 Home Premium (x64) and programs all run super smooth and quick. I haven't tried overclocking yet as I am quite satisfied with the stock speed. The blue anodized color is also a plus for designer systems. Looks great sitting in my Asus P8P67 motherboard. As always, Corsair comes through with a rock solid, reliable, and top quality product. And kudos to Amazon for the great pricing and ultra fast shipping. Thanks Amazon. Bottom line: If you're looking for memory that rivals Corsair's Dominator series for a great price, look no further.

My System Hardware:

Cooler Master Storm Scout
Corsair HX series 750w PS
Intel Core i5-2500
Cooler Master V8 CPU Cooler
Asus P8P67
Corsair Vengeance Blu 16GB, 1600MHz DDR3
Western Digital Caviar Black SATA 6GB/s 500GB
EVGA GeForce GTX 560Ti Ultimate Graphics Edition
Windows 7 Home Premium 64-bit
88 comments| 44 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 30, 2011
I picked up 16 GB of Corsair Vengeance Blue 16 popped it in my latest build. Didn't boot. I was so disappointed. Then I check and rechecked all my connections but still wasn't sure if it was the memory or not so I brought it to my buddy's house and popped it in his machine and it didn't work there either. I cycled through and found the bad stick and ran my new machine with 12 GB. I called Cosair and they told me that they wanted all four back. I told them I wanted to hang on to them so I could game. They overnighted me the replacements with an envelope to send all 4 sicks back.

Even though the memory failed I was very pleased with the way that they handled the situation.
44 comments| 35 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 3, 2012
Corsair quality and reliability
Fast and stable
Supports XMP Profiles
Excellent heat dissipation
Matched set of DIMM modules

I have now built 3 systems using this memory. I couldn't be happier. Not only does this RAM perform well, it looks great too.

This kit can be ordered with heat spreaders in two sizes and colors. Standard tall Vengeance or a low profile heat spreader which accomadates larger CPU coolers. Colors available are cerulean blue or black.

SPD speed 1333mhz
Tested speed 1600mhz

Many reviewers have stated that their MB did not correctly detect the speed of their RAM correctly. This is because serial presence detect properly identifies this memory at 1333mhz. Enable XMP and the memory will operate at 1600mhz or beyond if you want to OC. I am running my memory and cpu at slightly higher than stock speeds. Performace is awesome.

This memory was worth every penny. It's an excellent value and offers great performace at an incredibly low price. All of this with the stability you'd expect from a high quality product.
review image
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 8, 2011
Despite claiming a wide platform of compatibility I had some trouble getting it to work right out of the box so I'm only giving 4 stars. My system would boot just fine but after some period of use my system would lock up. I tried Memtest86 (from memtest.org) and found 100s of errors. I searched Corsair's web site/forum for some answers and found some crucial information for setup on an AMD Phenom II based systems that was not posted on the packaging.

Here are some suggestions I gleamed from various threads in Corsair's forums:
1. AMD Phenom II's memory needs additional voltage - Set to 1.65v for the memory
2. AMD memory controller operates at a maximum of DDR1333 so set the memory clock to 666 Mhz
It looks like you can go to the 16000 speed but you'd need to increase voltage to the memory controller and loosen up the timing settings but IMO I can't see a speed difference for that risk of stability.
3. Command timing is 2T when using all four chips

And on my own I discovered the Bios, version F8 in my Gigabyte GA-MA790XT-UD4P, was incorrectly setting the timings to 11-11-11-29 vs. the MFG recommended settings of 9-9-9-24. I changed this manually with no problem.

After all this, perhaps two hours of research and nearly a dozen re-boots, I managed to pass Memtest. I'll have to run the system through some hoops to see if it's stabile in real life but I feel much better now after passing a 2 hour intensive memory test.

As other's have stated, depending on your aftermarket cooling solution you may have a problem inserting these particular modules as their heat spreaders are tall. I'm using the Corsair H60 water cooler with no problem.

I have the following system configuration:
AMD Phenom II 955 @ 3.2 Ghz
Gigabyte GA-MA790XT-UD4P mother board with bios version F8
Xigamatec 850 watt power supply
XFX 1GB GDDR5 ATI 4890
4x640GB WD black HDDs in Raid 1,0
Windows 7 home premium 64bit
and of course 16GB of Corsair Ram at 666 Mhz (DDR1333) 9-9-9-24 2T
22 comments| 17 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 29, 2011
Great product by Corsair and of course, no problems, it works. However, the heat sinks are tall. I strongly recommend buying the Corsair Vengeance low profile item that Corsair had recently put out due to complaints about the high heat sinks in the regular first edition product for builders that need clearance in smaller cases. No failure and ran out of the box with no voltage adjustments. Some people had problems as they had to go into XMP Bios to set at 1600 or it would default to 1333, but I did not have that problem at all with my Asus Sabortooth FX 990 mother board... This memory does not run that high of temp. I am using it in my AMD CPU 1100T six core. I say get it and take the guess work out of your build. It works. I also noted it is real fast. My Noctura allowed easy clearance by the way with loosing the bottom fan later I just added the bottom fan and raised the CPU cooler. It's a go. I will be using it upon the Bulldozer release as well.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 31, 2012
I'm a custom systems builder in Los Angeles and I've just returned for replacement the 3rd set of these 16gb 4x4 Corsair Vengeance 1600 speed RAM back to Corsair all within the last 3 weeks for systems that I built less than 6 months ago. 3 weeks, 3 successive clients called about random blue screening which became more frequent until their computers would blue screen immediately upon boot up. Running MEMTEST, all sets of RAM exhibited massive ERROR and FAILURE and unfortunately have to be returned to Corsair who is really starting to slip not only in the quality of their RAM but their CUSTOMER SERVICE is horrible these days. I'd go into more detail but Amazon frowns on comments that aren't attributed directly to the product itself. Suffice it to say that I'm now going to start moving away from Corsair products in my custom builds.

Edit 7/9/2012: Just returned a 4th set of the Vengeance 4x4gb kits. I am now using G.Skill RAM for my Sandy & Ivy Bridge builds and no problems whatsoever so far.
44 comments| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon March 29, 2012
Works perfectly for me without a single blue screen or crash of any sort in over 3 months using these. These are the high profile version of the chip that adds aluminum heat dissipating fenders. I recommend them if you have the room. There is also a low profile version of the same chip without the fenders. If you check the Corsair site, it explains more behind the value of their fenders, so I believe there is a reason to them, especially if Corsair went out of their way to offer both. So if you have the room, as they aren't remotely in the way of anything on my board, I'd go with them as heat is the enemy inside of a computer. But check for room. If you need to hang cards over them, you'll need the low profile version.

Do check for the memory architecture used by your processor, and is probably repeated by the motherboard, which is to say if you need dual channel versus quad channel or tri-channel. These Vengeance Blue are targeted to the 2nd gen Intel chips, i5/i7-2xxx, all of which (that I know of) use dual channel. I believe quad channel can run in a dual channel mode, but I'd recommend just pairing the exact architecture with the right chips, especially at the price of memory as you are unlikely to reuse in a system years from now which by then, and I don't know if I trust the compatibility mode. For example, some AMD cpus use quad channel, and some high end Intel chips use tri-channel, and cannot use these. But I have the Intel i7-2600K and these are a perfect match.

These are PC1600 but are compatible with the PC1333 qualifications of many. It will run at the PC1333 speed if that is what your processor uses, such as is the i7-2600K that I have. There is no harm in over qualifying for speed, but you don't want to under qualify if you need higher. You can check the CPU facts or motherboard facts in the manuals or on the manufacturer website.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 27, 2012
Dropped this set in two weeks ago. Went to Bios and set up to use XMP. Everything worked. I've been using Adobe Premiere and Encore. At times memory usage gets up to around 15GB. Especially when transcoding video. So far, everything has been super-stable. I leave my PC up for days at a time and haven't had any crashes. Of course, everything is at stock speed so I cannot comment on OC stability. I'm very happy with this memory and would definitely recommend it.

Asus P8P67
Intel i7 2600k
16 GB Corsair Vengeance

Update: It's been almost a year now. No issues! Very happy with this ram and it's performance over the last year.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 1, 2012
So I bought this stack of volatile high speed memory because I could, it was less than $100, I was starting to have pains dealing with 4GB + no pagefile and it seemed like a perfect thing to go with my new i7-2600k.
Now I have a 1GB RAMDISK for no reason, and I just give 4GB to all the virtual machines I run for testing without a second thought. It sure does feel good living in excess.
I don't regret my purchasing choice one bit.

And hey, now I'm future proofed forever! 16GB ought to be enough for anyone, right guys?
11 comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse