Buy New
Free Shipping for Prime Members
FREE Shipping
Get free shipping
Free 5-8 business-day shipping within the U.S. when you order $25 of eligible items sold or fulfilled by Amazon.
Or get 4-5 business-day shipping on this item for $5.99. (Prices may vary for AK and HI.)
Learn more about free shipping
on orders over $25—or get FREE Two-Day Shipping with Amazon Prime
In Stock.
Ships from and sold by Gift-wrap available.
Country Blues has been added to your Cart
Have one to sell? Sell on Amazon

Country Blues

See all formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
New from Used from
Audio CD, February 10, 2010
Note: This product is manufactured on demand when ordered from [Learn more]

Editorial Reviews

"Country Blues" combines blues, country blues, and country/folk tunes, with several new original lyrical ballads. "Broke & Hungry Blues" is an adaptation of a song by Blind Lemon Jefferson. "Country Blues" is a loose adaptation of an old-time banjo tune performed by Doc Boggs in the 1920s. "The Young Man Who Wouldn't Hoe Corn" and "The Devil & the Farmer's Wife" are old folk tunes with a humorous bent. "Buffalo Skinners" and "Brown's Ferry Blues" are also traditional songs full of humor. "Honoring the Muse" is about a revived interest in songwriting after age fifty. "The Inner Pair" is about growing up conflicted. "Next Sunday" is a funny song about a simmering love affair. "Guitars I Have Loved" is just that.

1. Broke & Hungry Blues (Jefferson) 3:40
2. Honoring the Muse (Rathje) 3:25
3. Country Blues (Trad. arr. Rathje) 3:47
4. The Young Man Who Wouldn't Hoe Corn (trad. arr. Rathje) 1:51
5. The Inner Pair (Rathje) 3:43
6. Brown's Ferry Blues (trad. arr. Rathje) 2:13
7. Next Sunday (Rathje) 2:13
8. Buffalo Skinners (trad. arr. Rathje) 3:06
9. Guitars I Have Loved (Rathje) 4:02
10. The Devil & the Farmer's Wife (trad. arr. Rathje) 2:51

Dean Rathje: Voices, Guitars, Mandolin, Fiddle, Banjo, Bass

30:48 total running time

When sold by, this product will be manufactured on demand using CD-R recordable media.'s standard return policy will apply.

Track Listings

Disc: 1

  1. Broke and Hungry Blues
  2. Honoring the Muse
  3. Country Blues
  4. The Young Man Who Wouldn't Hoe Corn
  5. The Inner Pair
  6. Brown's Ferry Blues
  7. Next Sunday
  8. Buffalo Skinners
  9. Guitars I Have Loved
  10. The Devil and the Farmer's Wife

Product details

  • Audio CD (February 10, 2010)
  • Label: New Leaf Interactive Media, Inc.
  • Run Time: 31 minutes
  • ASIN: B0037Z6U3Q
  • Average Customer Review: Be the first to review this item
  • Would you like to tell us about a lower price?
    If you are a seller for this product, would you like to suggest updates through seller support?

Customer Reviews

There are no customer reviews yet.
Share your thoughts with other customers

Set up an Amazon Giveaway

Country Blues
Amazon Giveaway allows you to run promotional giveaways in order to create buzz, reward your audience, and attract new followers and customers. Learn more about Amazon Giveaway
This item: Country Blues