Industrial Deals Beauty Best Books of the Month STEM nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc PCB for Musical Instruments Starting at $39.99 Grocery Handmade Wedding Rustic Decor Home Gift Guide Off to College Home Gift Guide Book House Cleaning TheTick TheTick TheTick  Amazon Echo now $99.99 Limited-time offer: All-New Fire HD 8 Kids Edition, starting at $99.99 Kindle Paperwhite AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Tailgating STEMClubToys17_gno



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 323 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 548 reviews
on March 8, 2017
**No Spoilers**

If you have not seen the series, stop and do that now.

This movie places it in the time line some were near the middle of the series even though it is not said were. It gives you a little bit more Cowboy Bebop should you be left wanting more after watching the series, as most of us were. This follows the same style the series did but with improved visuals.

If you liked the series, grab this, you will not be disappointed.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 10, 2017
While not as amazing as the series that inspired it, Cowboy Bebop: The Movie is still a rather enjoyable film but it lacks the charisma that made the series fantastic. With a cutaway villain and a throw away sidekick, Spike Speigel and the gang's latest adventure is more of a footnote than a resounding sendoff.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 3, 2012
I was first exposed to Cowboy Bebop, form a nerdy anime' obssessed roomate in college, circa 2001. Even though, I found his love of anime annoying, I was really happy that he exposed me to this movie.

The story focuses on a bounty hunter Spike Spiegel, who is a swanky dressed fella ( not as swanky as DOG the bounty hunter of course), and his crew. The setting of the movie takes place on a terra-foremed Mars, which looks pretty much like New York City. And even though it is set in the future, people still wear shirts and paints ( not neon jumpsuits) and shoot guns ( not disruptor rays).The movie focuses aroung stopping a terrorist plot, which is relevant to today, and very believable. I personally think that the futuristic, yet believable, setting made this movie appealing to me.

The drawing and the animation are quite awesome as well. I really like the depiction of everyday street scenes in the intro, credits, and other montages: this made the movie seem more believable in a way. Another cool thing about this film (for those of us of a western/ english speaking persuasion) is the english soundtrack that plays throughout the movie (which is also present in the Japanese original). We don't get any high pitched J-POP anthems, common to many other anime films, that I could do without, with. The soundtrack has a rocky/indie vibe to it, which I think fits the setting and tone of the movie pretty well.

I am not an anime fan, for the most part, but when it is done well, this medium delivers the kind of cinema, that cannot be attained by any other medium. I think all anime fans will like this movie, and for the person who just wants to test the waters, this movie is a good place to start. I do not think anyone will be dissapointed with this movie, and check out the series as well, if you like it.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 1000 REVIEWERon June 28, 2011
Being a big fan of the series and the movie, I was excited to see the movie hitting Blu-Ray (and at a budget price!)

The movie is back from 2001 and includes the same voice cast as the series -- it's a very fun and enjoyable film for fans of the series. The other reviews will go more into the story -- this is a review of the Blu-Ray.

The Blu-Ray comes in at a budget price, which isn't always a good sign, and at first glance it's easy to see where stuff is "missing". All of the original extras from the DVD are gone (the DVD included 6 Behind the Scenes features, music videos, art galleries, storyboard comparisons, character profiles and trailers). The Dolby 5.1 tracks (english/japanese) are also gone, replaced with LPCM Stereo (2.0) tracks instead. There is no 5.1 mix included on the Blu-Ray.

VIDEO: The clarity varies a bit throughout - some scenes look much better than others, but for a budget release it looks very nice. It does have a lot of grain (unlike newer Anime titles being released), which at least means they didn't use digital noise reduction on it (which affects the clarity as well). It doesn't "pop" like a lot of the newer TV series' and movies on Blu-Ray, but it does a good job.

AUDIO: While disappointing that the 5.1 mixes are gone, the 2.0 mix is good. It loses a lot of the surround effects you get with a dedicated 5.1 system, but it was better than I was expecting from a stereo mix.

EXTRAS: Nothing

Overall - It's a great movie at a great price. Video is improved over the DVD, while the audio is a bit questionable (it is lossless, but only 2 channel). The lack of any extras is disappointing, but somewhat acceptable considering it's a budget title. Even owning the DVD, I feel it's worth picking the blu-ray up.
11 comment| 18 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 5, 2016
Arrived in perfect condition, the only thing is make sure you select English cause if i remember that was not the preset for the dvd
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 13, 2017
One of the all time greats for anime shows, depth of characters, great plot, great story projection, well balanced dialog, and its so pretty,
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 20, 2017
You will love the characters, and the theme song. A must see for every anime watcher. I watched in english dub and the voicing was quality.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 4, 2012
One of my favorite movies got a blu-ray release, so of course i bought it and after watching for a second time it was as awesome as i remembered it was, the picture quality was greater than i honestly thought it would be. The thing about the release is that it feels really cheap, and it doesn't contains any extras, the movie is all you get. Also another let down is that the release doesn't feature Dolby 5.0 option, so you can't get the full audio experience. Now about the movie itself, it's a great movie, the plot is good, the fighting scenes are kickass, and the music... DAMN!!! Yoko Kanno always trows the greatest soundtrack possible, and it really fits the movie perfectly. Maybe a negative about the movie is that at times it feels a little slowly paced, but it's real fun and has lots of action. If someone asks me if I'd recommend this movie, i'd definitely do it!

Movie 5/5
Release 4/5
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 6, 2015
This is a great movie, and I must admit I bought this just to see the dogfight scene in blu ray. But I was a little surprised to see some film grain. I don't know why it isn't a gone. I can only assume they tried to take a lot out. But what can you. You buy blue rays for the best visual, audio, and overall best experience of your favorite movie. And that's what it is. So if you want to see the bebop movie the best it can be then you will not be disappointed.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 25, 2014
I ordered the DVD over the blu-ray disc because I heard it had special features. The special features didn't disappoint. The item shipped in the appropriate time and everything was just as expected. The quality of the footage was a little low in the beginning, but it got a lot better by the end!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse