Amazon.com: Customer Reviews: Crap I Bought On eBay: 101 Crazy Bizarre, Seriously Weird, Ridiculously Raunchy Items Exposed
Amazon Vehicles Fall Reading 2016 Amazon Fashion Learn more nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Ingrid Fire TV Stick Happy Belly Snacks Totes Amazon Cash Back Offer ElvisandNixon ElvisandNixon ElvisandNixon  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Starting at $49.99 All-New Kindle Oasis AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Water Sports

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on October 12, 2011
I must disclaim that I have known Bev for almost 20 years. She is one of the most genuinely funny, smart and smartly funny people I've known. It's great to see her talents finally in widespread print.

As for the book, it's wonderful. Funny, sharp, (as noted) crass in the best possible sense of the world, and without a doubt geared towards an adult audience that likes humor that takes both the high road, the low road and the subway at the same time.

I tend to read at night, and as such when reading humor books, I tend to wake my significant other when reading particularly funny books. She can tell how funny a book is by how difficult it is for her to get to sleep. Let's just say she slept badly for two nights straight. This is a book you can fly through in no time, but it's a tear-inducing bit of work here. Now, the items themselves are pretty absurd... nightmare fuel, in some cases. That would be amusing enough, without any commentary. However, that's the magic of the book. The author commentary (on the level of Mystery Science Theater 3000's best writing often), interactions with auction people and feedback are gut-wrenchingly funny.

Also, it's not fit for kids. Seriously. This one is your book, adult folks. However, be prepared for high quality poop jokes, sexual innuendo and outright profanity. All of which are used like surgical instruments in the most craftsmanlike manner to bring you the funny.

Buy this.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon September 27, 2011
First, let me say that I love reading Cary's "List of the Day" and I also really liked his other book, 1001 Things to Scare the Crap Out of You. This book isn't a random book of facts, but instead is a collection of 101 things the author(s) bought on ebay. Apparently they went for the craziest things they could find. Each item has at least one full color photo, along with the price paid, as well as the ebay seller's description. The fun starts when Cary (and Beverly) add their own thoughts to the mix, and often include "back and forth" emails between the buyers and sellers of said items. Here is my only complaint....when I purchsed the item it did not mention in the description that there were two different chapters on "adult" items, "Crap for your junk" and "Adults only crap" When I picked up my 11 year old from school, she opened the box with the book in it and started flipping through it. We both laughed at the giant false teeth and the "cowboy gray squirrel head mount" but I about drove off the road when she asked me "What's that?" and showed me a picture of a "butt plug with disco lights." Not something I wanted to explain to my 11 year old. So, not having a little heads up about those two chapters in the item description was a bummer. I still enjoyed the book, but it's certainly not something you want your kids to flip through.

*****UPDATE November 29, 2011*****
I am aware that the current description of the book mentions some of the more adult oriented "items" listed in the book, however, when I orginally wrote my review (September 27, 2011) this description was not in place. The description which names some of the items was added October 4, 2011. I am pleased that Amazon chose to change the description to give a little more insight as to what was in the book, but I stand by original review.
33 comments| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 18, 2012
I bought this for my Dad but I can't stop reading it! Some of the things in it are just crazy… like a fart filter, so you don't ever have to worry about smelly farts again! Seriously, I can't make this stuff up. I was about to wrap the gift, but decided to wait so that my husband can take a peek at it was well.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Being a notorious Ebay addict who has had approximately 1,800 Ebay transactions (with perfect feedback, folks!), I snapped this up as soon as I saw it at our local Half Price Books. Shortly thereafter I was laughing until tears flowed. It wasn't so much the items - though they did give me some ideas for new categories to explore on Ebay, where the best thing is to get on to a new item area before everybody else in some two-bit lost town in Texas does. After all, you only need one shiftless rival bidder to bid up the price of something you cleverly spotted. No, it was the Messages between the authors and the sellers. They were as amusing as anything I've read in quite some time. Nice work!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 2, 2013
I was truly amazed at what was purchased on eBay in this book. From dinosaur dung, to deeds for moon property, to taxidermy cowboy squirrels...you'll be cracking up at the insane items listed in this book! Can't wait to check out more books by Cary McNeal...these are hilarious!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 1, 2011
Anyone who has ever visited the online auction site, eBay, knows that it is indeed a vast marketplace with more things for sale than can be imagined. However, you might not realize just how freaky and ludicrous some of those items for sale are until you read the book, Crap I Bought On eBay: 101 Crazy Bizarre, Seriously Weird, Ridiculously Raunchy Items Exposed.

Writers Cary McNeal and Beverly Jenkins reveal these unbelievably wacky items in this book. Almost all of the items in the book they actually purchased off of eBay themselves. A few high-priced items like a life-sized dinosaur statue and a USMC tank (too expensive to buy just for the sake of a few laughs and a book deal) make up the final chapter. Be forewarned, some of the material in this book is strictly for adults in nature and is not intended for children (the word "Raunchy" in the title is a good clue).

The book gives a brief eBay listing, description, and the price of each item. The listings by themselves are quite entertaining, but are made even more amusing by the running humorous commentary from the authors about each item for sale. Also accompanying many of the listings are emails between the writers and the sellers, made hilarious by the writers playing the part of the devil's advocate asking questions that are quite often sarcastic or smart-alecky in nature to the sellers.

Just a few of the extraordinary items that McNeal and Jenkins write about include: a dead body action figure on a gurney, a Mexican fish bobblehead, magickal cat claws, a dinosaur dung fossil, a Mr. T air freshener, a rubber duckie Christmas nativity scene, and a zombie defense helmet protector.

Those who are already familiar with Cary McNeal's writing from his first book,1,001 Facts that Will Scare the S#*t Out of You: The Ultimate Bathroom Reader and the accompanying calendar, 365 Facts that Will Scare the S#*t Out of You 2012 Daily Calendar will not be disappointed. Those of us who are regular readers of McNeal's online humor from his blog, List of the Day, and from his advice column where he plays the role of the Wise Ass on the website, GuySpeak, will instantly recognize his sharp wit, his signature sarcastic wink, and his straight-to-the-point, no-punches-pulled humor that keep us laughing on a daily basis. As always, he writes with a twinkle in his eye and his tongue planted firmly in his cheek. Co-author Beverly Jenkins is a TV producer, director, and writer. She writes the humor blog, Out of Bev's Head...Into Yours.

For yourself, or as a fun adult gag gift, this book is sure to bring on the laughs. For those who enjoy humor that pokes fun at things that are ridiculous, inane, and far-fetched, this book is a sure win!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 29, 2011
I don't know what's funnier: the stuff that people try to sell on eBay, or the crude comments generated by the authors of this book when they find those items on sale. This book is definitely a conversation starter (or stopper) if you leave it on your living room coffee table.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 17, 2016
Fun time-waster. Weirdly, there was a typo in the acknowledgements...something you wouldn't expect, as the person is semi-famous.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 16, 2013
Am in the process of reading and find it incredible how some people literally sit on their taste. I'm going to search around here for some crap to sell!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 8, 2011
I ORDERED THIS BOOK AS A CHRISTMAS GIFT FOR MY BIG BROTHER THINKING IT WAS SOMETHING COMICAL & FUN! UPON RECEIPT, I FOUND IT TO BE EXTREMELY VULGAR (BORDERLINE PORN) & NOT FUNNY AT ALL. NO WAY CAN I, OR WOULD I GIVE THIS TO MY BROTHER OR ANYONE ELSE. & BY-THE-WAY, I "DO" HAVE A SENSE OF HUMOR, BUT NOTHING HERE EVEN WARRANTS A LAUGH. THIS BOOK SHOULD BE X-RATED.
I'M VERY DISAPPOINTED & DISGUSTED: & AM RETURNING THIS PIECE OF NASTY "CRAP"!
33 comments| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Need customer service? Click here