YED Best Books of the Month Amazon Fashion nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Starting at $39.99 Valentines Day STEM Book House Cleaning nerdculture nerdculture nerdculture  All-New Echo Dot Starting at $49.99 Kindle Oasis Trade in and get paid instantly Beat the Cold with Outdoor Clothing on Amazon NYNN

Format: Kindle Edition|Change
Price:$2.99
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 120 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 164 reviews
on June 6, 2012
Crazy for Cowboy had me up turning pages and doing my best to stifle giggles in the wee hours. Brandon Hollister is a yummy hero who tells, what he believes, is a harmless white lie and gets him into trouble on multiple levels including by misleading the heroine, Emily, about his real identity. She thinks he's a real cowboy - something she's sworn an oath to avoid at all costs - until she meets Brandon.

Watching the antics and sparks fly between these two multi-faceted characters was a complete riot! I couldn't help pulling for Brandon in spite of his digging himself in deeper at every turn, and Emily's attempts to talk herself out of her magnetic attraction to him had me laughing out loud in several places. Roxy Boroughs writes with a singular wit and charm I can't wait to read more of!
0Comment| 17 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 10, 2012
Emily is a large animal vet who has been burned too any times by cowboys. She swears them off, vowing to never date a cowboy again.Then she meets Houston, a cowboy who is determined to date her.
There's one big problem-have you ever told a little white lie that turned into a doozy? Well that happens here.
The great thing about this story is nothing is predictable. Why? Because the characters are well drawn. the man is caring and the heroine is multifaceted.
This is a great story-I'd recommend it.
0Comment| 16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 25, 2013
This book ended before it really started. This is the second book I've read of the Stampede Sizzler series, and while it may not be my last...cause I do like a nice cowboy story...this one kind of missed the mark.

Emily is a vet who mostly looks after the farm animals and is afraid of falling for another cowboy. Cowboys can be cruel on the heart, making her think she's falling in love then pulling the rug out from under her feet. She's sworn off cowboys for good. Except when she sees a good looking cowboy at a fancy restaurant, she just can't help but stare.

Brandon is an actor who just so happens to work at the fancy restaurant on his off days. While he doesn't normally dress up in cowboy garb, he is trying out for a movie part...a part in which includes rididng a horse for which he doesn't know how to ride and just so happens to be allergic to. But, he's willing to do anything to land the part.

Then he meets Emily and she takes his breath and sensibilities away. He thinks, because she's staring at him that she must like cowboys. So, he tells her a fake name. Lies are told, lies are found out...but the sparks fly amongst them anyway.

I really wanted to like this book as much as the other Stampede Sizzler romance novel that I read, but this one missed the mark by a long shot. While the story was okay, and there was lots of sexual tension, the book sort of ended before it could get to any good parts. There wasn't even a hint of any sexual encounters which I would have liked to have seen.

Studded with a little bit of humour, this romance would be good for those who like their romances less HOT. While it was predicatable, it was a fair story. I just would have liked to have seen more...if you know what I mean.

3 stars.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 21, 2012
What a refreshing short story. It was just sweet, funny, & a wholesome love story. You have Emily who is a lady veterinarian & Brandon who is an actor posing as a cowboy. At first he does it as a gag just to meet her & also gives her the false name of Houston. The next day he runs into her again purely by accident & allows the lie to spin out of control as well as their attraction for one another. Can he fix it & tell the truth when he hears from others that she real loves cowboys. Does he truly want to? The craziness that follows is worth the read. It is fun. It is clesn. & It is real. The characters are well developed as well as the storyline. Enjoy!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 24, 2012
Despite not liking the fact that Brandon is pretty much lying to the heroine for a good portion of the book (pet peeve button...), I really enjoyed Crazy for Cowboy. It's a fun romp through the Calgary Stampede scene from the Stampede itself to popular watering holes.

It's a sensual book with Roxy juggling the fact that Brandon's not on the up and up really well in their relationship (spoiler: no sex as that would make him sleazy.) So really, I'd let my mom read this and that's saying something!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 7, 2013
This is a really nice novella length book. The story is believable. The characters are believable. The plot could very well happen so it too is believable. The story is well written and concise. I do love stories who save us from long and drawn out opening before we get to the actual details of the story.

Emily Grant is an equine veterinarian who has been hurt badly by cowboys. She has taken a vow, thanks to her friend's urging, to swear off of cowboys due to a few bad romances with them. Then one day Emily meets Brandon Hollister at a restaurant. They don't exchange names, but keeping to her oath to not date cowboys anymore, she gives him the brush off.

When Emily makes her Vet rounds at a riding stable, she again encounters Brandon. But the stable hand, Sam, tells Emily his name is Houston as he knows Brandon wants to keep the secret that he is learning how to ride a horse for a role in a movie Brandon has. Rather than set Emily straight right off, he allows the lie to continue. And so the story continues in one situation after another. There is definitely chemistry between them. The situations that happen from the stables on leads to some romance, love and humor along the way. Oh, and lest I forget, Brandon has a 'family'. Not what you think folks, but you have to read the book to find out.

For those who hate sexy scenes, there is really not any. A bit of illusion in words, but nothing more. This does not mean I would give the book to young teens though.

This story teaches the value of honesty, in both Brandon's life and Emily's life. Emily has been living under a cloud from her childhood that was never really there because her mother would not tell her the truth. When her mother does finally come clean, Emily's burden is lifted and the world seems like a brighter and better place.

I do recommend this book. You will enjoy it very much.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 31, 2016
Emily is a vet. Brandon is an actor but she thinks he is a cowboy and she has sworn off them. As Brandon tries to be what he is not and Emily falls for him, comedy ensues.

I enjoyed this story. It was cute. It was funny. It was sweet. Watching Brandon try to act like a cowboy when he knows nothing about it tickled me. The two old ladies popping up through the story is fun also. The characters are cute as they head down the path to love. Sam, Brandon's horse teacher, is as much fun as the old ladies.

Suspend belief as you read but this is the perfect summer Saturday or Sunday afternoon book. Enjoy!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 27, 2013
I really enjoyed reading this book about Brandon Hollister & Emily and his sister Ally & her son Liam. Brandon is an actor & a waiter and six years ago he put his career on hold when his father died and left fourteen year old Ally all alone. He came home to care for his sister, his father's life insurance paid for his funeral but nothing else, the mortgage payments were too much so he sold the family home and purchased a small three bedroom ranch with an apartment above the garage. Brandon did most of the repairs himself, and turned the apartment over the garage into a real bachelor pad, Ally said it was more ski lodge worthy with all the wood paneling on the walls, this left the main house for his sister. When Ally turned fifteen she ran away for a week, Brandon searched day and night for her, till he finally found her at a friends house all messed up. Three months later she found out she was pregnant, she told her boyfriend and he up and left never to be seen again, she kept the baby and Brandon helped her raise him. Liam is a bright energetic five year old little boy, who loves his mom and uncle Brandon very much. Brandon meets Emily the vet at the restaurant Eduardo's where he works as a waiter, however the day she comes in he's just come back from a movie interview in which he plays the side kick for Houston Savage a cowboy in the old west. So he was dressed as a cowboy complete with the chaps and spurs on his boots. While he was talking to the two other waitresses he worked with Emily catches his eye, she's dropped dead gorgeous, he asked the girl's who the lady with the brunette hair over at table 10 neither girl had ever seen her before. Excuse me ladies I'll be right back, and is sauntered off to speak to Emily and her friend Jackie. Read this book because it will make you laugh & cry. It's heart warming, and down to earth. It's about a young women who has sworn off cowboys because they bring nothing but heartache and grief. And about a guy play acting as a cowboy who captures the heart of the women, and some how it's gotten so out of hand she has no idea he isn't a real cowboy. It's a very amusing story and will make you smile and laugh through out the whole book, enjoy reading it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 27, 2012
This story was simply beautiful and I loved every part of it. I'm only sad it's over. Went by too fast. I need another one of their life after and how it all goes with him rejecting the job. This was a beautiful story and a must read!<3
Totally in love with Brandon!<3
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 1, 2014
This is one of those feel good books.

This book was funny, great and very easy to relate to. I loved that it is set in Calgary, a city I have been to, and I know the surrounding farm areas as well. The main character is a veterinarian, a strong woman, with a broken heart. Not wanting an other cowboy to break her heart, she closes herself of from men. But this one just keeps coming, and he is so different from all the cowboys she has dated.

This makes it such an entertaining light read. Which I enjoyed immensely. The only thing that I do question, is that some elements seem to be what I imagine Texas to be, for example the accent. I haven't heard anything like that in and around Calgary. But since the author is Canadian and lives in Calgary, she probably knows a lot more about it then me.

Full bilingual review at: http://icequeensbookshelf.blogspot.nl/2014/03/review-crazy-for-cowboy-roxy-boroughs.html
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Need customer service? Click here