YED Best Books of the Month Amazon Fashion nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Starting at $39.99 New Year, New You Valentines Day STEM Shop Popular Services homeland6 homeland6 homeland6  All-New Echo Dot Starting at $89.99 Kindle Oasis Trade in and get paid instantly Shop Now STEM

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
37
Format: MP3 Music|Change
Price:$6.99
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 31 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 37 reviews
on August 12, 2013
First time I heard Fit for a King was when Effect Radio played "Skin & Bones".

I bought the CD and was surprised at the crushing sound that reminded me of Killswitch Engage almost instantly.

I honestly don't know the band members names, but this is a well-oiled machine of artists who assault your senses and thoughts with their sound and lyrics. The combo of the lead singer's growl and the clean background vocals makes for Jekyll & Hyde approach.

The CD starts with a melodic Creation and goes right into the blitzkrieg sounds of "War Path" and "Hollow King". It appears that things will lighten up with the start of "Broken Fame", but that's shortlived with the roaring plea of "it's never enough it seems".

The listener gets a break with the melodic "Skin & Bones", but that's all for the "easy listening". The final half of the CD is one smashing sonic boom after another, ending with "Destruction" and "You don't speak peace You just salt the wound" lyric that is a searing attack on the judging of others.

For those who like Killswitch Engage, Times of Grace and others in the genre will instantly find a new favorite in Fit for a King. It's not for everyone, but one can't argue to passion & lyrical thoughts.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 14, 2013
The name of this album is perfect. If you heard the old Fit For A King you'd know that they were kind of vanilla metalcore. Nothing really special. But now they are. They are more deathmetal now than Metalcore. There are still plenty of clean vox, but overall it is just heavy. Half of the songs are like just massive breakdowns combined with crazy good growled vocals. Its really good. I mean, the whole album is like taking a brick to the face heavy. Its crazy, and a good thing to see from Solidstate. They have mostly metalcore bands, but Fit For a King brings something new to the mix. Great album. Good buy. Only complaint would be that all of the songs sound really similar. But thats not a completely bad thing. Every one of them is good.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 20, 2013
I had heard a single from their previous release and it was very stereotypical and had nothing special to it, just an ordinary metalcore song. I was hesitant for a long time to purchase this album, but when a good deal came along I caved and bought it for some new music to listen to. I put the CD in and when I was finished I kept wondering why I hadn't bought it earlier! It was fantastic! It's a really heavy album without the stereotypes that had made them "just another metalcore band." They've evolved a lot and have created a sound that is grueling and yet calmed by clean vocals. If you'd been debating about buying this, or if you like heavy music and metalcore, don't wait any longer, go buy it and start headbanging!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 31, 2016
Currently my favorite band. This is an excellent album and shows the progression they continue to make with their music. Good mix of screaming and clean vocals. Music that has a beat you can mosh and get into!. The lyrics are very inspirational and very God centered making them a light in a darker world of music.Recommended to any love of Metalcore music.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 22, 2014
Discovered these guys by mistake a few days ago, and man let me tell you! I'm glad I did. Awesome, super heavy breakdowns in your face, vicious growls combined with excellent vocals and melodies. And to top it off, strong messages about their christian faith and the struggles of overcoming the enemy! One of the best bands I've heard all year, nuff said. Whether you're a devout Christian like myself or just enjoy rocking out to metal! Get this album now, you'll be glad you did.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 8, 2013
Outstanding:
No offense to the metal community,
But if the rage of Devils Wear Prada, was mixed with the paralyzing bass of Impending Doom, with the boldness of Optimus Prime, it would be the weapon that is Fit For a King.
And after you think the rubber band can't stretch further, they serve you with a warm cupcake topped with strawberry frosting. Check out Skin and Bones. Even if Jesus isn't your thing, this song hits it. Well done.
What makes them great; they speak wholesome words.
Don't buy that double cheeseburger for lunch, download this album. You'll love it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 14, 2013
brian 34 year old male this new fit for a king album creation/destruction is also a good metalcore release this band is a tiny bit more metal than alot of its metalcore contemporaries 7and a half out of ten maybe 8 i like it the only thing that could be better is original metalcore from 2001-2006, has some effects and modern touches it is there second album if im correct very heavy metalcore close to very slick production which may not be for every body i am glad i got this now get this some pretty good metalcore probly 1 of my favorite metalcore albums out of the ones i recently purchased
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 19, 2013
From the first song to the last, this cd is brutal. I've bought close to 30 cd's or so since last summer, this is by far top 2 or 3 along with Wolves at the Gate's Captors and Demon Hunter's True Defiance. It seems alot of metal bands sound generic and the same. These guys are orginal and Creation/Destruction is one of those albums you can listen to all the way through; doesn't have an filler. If you're somebody who enjoys Christian metal or just brutal metal, you won't regret buying this.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 26, 2013
Creation/Destruction is the best album I've heard since Senses Fail's The Fire, which was released back in 2010. This album has everything. Amazing vocals, incredible lyrics, bouncy riffs, awesome fills, etc. I bought a digital copy the day it was released. It was so good, that I had to buy a physical copy. I love every song on this album. If you love this genre of music, this album is a must buy. Fantastic job FFAK! God bless!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 11, 2013
this singer has an incredible voice...his growls are as metal as his clean vocals are awesome...plus the music is just bone-crushing heavy...one of the best metalcore albums I've ever heard so if u like metalcore check these guys out!!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

$9.49
$6.99

Need customer service? Click here