Amazon Business Best Books of the Month STEM nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Starting at $39.99 Grocery March Birthstone Book House Cleaning heera heera avfly_channel_heera  All-New Echo Dot Starting at $49.99 Kindle Oasis AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Shop Now STEM

Customer Reviews

4.3 out of 5 stars
15
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 12 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 15 reviews
on August 4, 2016
This book is a classic, VERY REALISTIC, intoxicating, and perfectly short read that allows one another view of Jamaica (beyond the resorts)! Hodge grapples with color-ism, class-ism, sexism, and the economic plights experienced by the "haves and the have nots". She exposed the similarities experienced across the globe by people of African descent living in colonized and post-colonized environments. Should be required reading within most higher learning institutions.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 12, 2013
A good short narrative of being brought up in the Caribbean. Hodge's writing is beautiful and to the point. The multiplicity of motherhood in Cynthia's life rings true for many of us who are familiar with Caribbean culture and anyone who recognizes the all too familiar issues of self identification during one's early teens. It's a shame Crick, Crack is no longer in print, get a copy if you can!
11 comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 2, 2013
I am totally excited about the acquisiton of this item. The condition of the book was great. I love Caribbean writers I relate well to them. I feel so lucky to have gotten this rare but valuable product.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 14, 2015
Hilarious! As a native Trinidadian I know all the colloquial terms and having grown up in Trinidad the time this book was written I am reliving Trinidad fully. Love it!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 9, 2016
Great read with enough historical perspective to provide more than just a story. Really good book for Lit. students.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 7, 2013
I gave this a 4 star rating because I was able to get the book in time for school. Thanks.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 31, 2015
Book was in excellent condition. Good read as well.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 23, 2016
This book was very hard to follow.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 21, 2015
Perfect conditions
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 11, 2008
This short but intense novel lends itself to a fruitful discussion of postcolonial issues such as appropriation and abrogation, assimilation and acculturation, hybridity, mimicry, and Eurocentrism. I taught it with considerable success in an upper-division class. The students found the ending disappointing, though.

The cultural and linguistic complexity of Trinidadian society and the country's struggle to carve out an identity for itself are effectively captured in the confusion of the orphaned protagonist, Tee, who is torn between the warm but no-nonsense environment at her Tantie's and the 'properness' of life with Beatrice, her aunt who lives in the city.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse