Spring Deals Automotive HPC Best Books of the Month Our favorite denim: shop women's jeans nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Stream your favorites. Amazon music Unlimited. Learn more. All-New Fire 7, starting at $49.99 Only: $44.99 Grocery Handmade Personalized Jewelry Home and Garden Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon TheGrandTour TheGrandTour TheGrandTour  Echo Fire 7, starting at $49.99 Kindle Paperwhite AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Shop Now TG18PP_gno

VINE VOICEon October 17, 2007
Critters is one of those rare crossover movies that's just as entertaining and fun for the adults as it is for it's targeted younger audience (PG-13). Think Monster Squad, The Gate, or House and you get a pretty good idea at how the movie is structured with enough of an edge to get some actual tension and jumps out of you without having to develop into a terrifying bloodbath. The story revolves around alien creatures (think 80's toy Popples with big teeth) who end up on earth with an insatiable appetite and ready to eat anything and everything in sight. Horror vet Dee Wallace Stone (The Howling, Cujo, Halloween remake) heads up a cast of likeable and believable characters trying to find a way to survive and repel the invasion. The "Critters" themselves are charming and funny while still being vicious and threatening and steal the screen everytime they show up. This is more like a 3.5 star movie (for what it is) but is worth rounding up do to tha ability to enjoy it with your kids (especially around Halloween). Steer clear of the lousy sequels that were cranked out after this movies success.
1010 comments| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on April 20, 2013
Though the box on the dvd is not original at all the dark movie is still great almost 30 years later. Good character development at the Brown farm and Brad's friend Charlie starts his four part journey here. Billy Zane bites it in the barn which is great and the two bounty hunters 'Ug' and 'Lee' have a smaller role in this one than in the sequel which raised the stakes. It is a very enjoyable horror/sci-fi low budget movie except for the 3 minutes of super low budget in space near the beginning. Wish someone would do a good new movie or reboot with a story - Critters are excellent.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on March 18, 2017
I have loved the "Critters" movies since I was little! Comedic horror cheesiness at it's absolute finest, these little deathballs are some of the best. A must watch if you enjoy late 80's or early 90's humor and horror, or just feeling like a bit of a throwback. All 4 "Critters" movies will always get a 10/10 from me! I am just sad that there is not a 5th one.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on July 2, 2003
There was a point in my life when I never would have thought in a million light years from now, that the Critters series would be released on DVD. Critters has to be one of my all time favorite horror/cult movies. The score was great, I never had a feeling you get when watching a horror movie where you felt something for the characters and yes, even the little Critters(a.k.a Krites; alien name). Have any of you seen those little bugs best known as rolie polies? That's what I think when I see these fury critters. Mutated rolie polies from outer space. That's a killer, right there. Cute, harmless, rolie polies that got transformed into something out of this world, with fangs, fur, and claws, oh my! Some people might mistake them for a strange bunny rabbit or something of the sort, until it faces you face to face with rows and rows of jagged teeth ready to attack you! Now the Krites like to head for the neck and stomach mostly. So, if you or I were to face one of these critters, then it would be best to wear a protection thing around your neck and probably would wanna wear a bullet proof vest or something to prevent them from eating your guts out. Yes, I know that sounds horrible, but that's the critter's nature. Eat, destroy, and eat some more. Their teeth can cut as sharp as cutting through metal, now that's sharp! And they're messy, little critters. So, if you want my advise: Stay away from the Krites as far as possible. They come mostly in packs, rarely in singles. So they are never really alone. That way, when you are alone, they can gang up on ya, and rip the flesh from your bones, just as fast as a pirana fish would. You might be asking yourself: Where do these critters come from? Well, as silly as they may seem, they come from outer space in a space ship. Yes, that's right. Outer space. In a space ship. How else would they travel? They're aliens. Man-eating fur ball aliens from outer space. How do you kill 'em you ask? With anything you got: Machine guns to knives to whatever! Just kill 'em before they kill you! Oh, I should mention that these Krites also shot posin darts from their backs and aim them at your neck and make you weak so that they will have a better chance of attacking you when unconscience. So, my guess is, to watch out for these mean, green mothers from outer space and make sure that you have protection or you can say bye-bye you. Now, enough of about the critters, and more about the DVD. I'm worried that since the price is a little lower than most normal DVDs cost, that there might not be any special features access to them. I'm one of those DVD freaks that like to explore the making-of featuretts and so forth. So, I'm hoping that this DVD isn't much of a dissapointment. But all in all, the Critters movies are still the greatest horror cults of the 80s, which makes them the number one on my horror movie list. Long-live the Critters!
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on February 2, 2016
A total 80's classic! Love the bounty hunter concept and the low grade special effects. The ending seems a bit accelerated and is slightly disappointing, but the soundtrack featuring Terrence Mann as Johnny Steele on "Power Of The Night" more than makes up for this!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on February 12, 2018
A christmas gift arrived on time. watched it with them loved the movie.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on February 4, 2017
Still a good movie, it's aged well and it made a good gift for a 12 year old boy.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on September 4, 2015
A funny romp. Quirky and fun with a strangeness that makes you want to see more, little gory for younger children, but cute, do not watch number 2, nudity, with children.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on September 16, 2013
This movie is fun although korny at times. It would have been more enjoyable without the mother (Dee Wallace) and daughter acting stupid and screaming throughout the movie, but the crazy, and sometimes humorous antics of the critters make up for it. They are mean, hungery little varmits!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on November 19, 2016
Great little monster movie with tiny hairy evil denizens who look and move around a lot like my cat. Lots of good humor at the bowling alley, the church, the attic, the sheriff's car, and the pasture. Don't expect to be frightened, but do expect to chuckle.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Customers also viewed these items

Critters 4

Need customer service? Click here