Amazon.com: Customer Reviews: The Crocodile Hunter (Steve's Story/Most Dangerous Adventures/Greatest Crocodile Captures)
Amazon Vehicles Editors' Picks Amazon Fashion Learn more Discover it $5 Albums Fire TV Stick Happy Belly Coffee Totes Summer-Event-Garden Amazon Cash Back Offer ElvisandNixon ElvisandNixon ElvisandNixon  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Introducing new colors All-New Kindle Oasis Water Sports

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on September 28, 2000
For anyone who loves Steve's show or just likes wildlife programs in general must purchase this wonderful DVD. It includes three episodes that are also available seperatly on Video. Steve's Story, Steve's Most Dangerous Adventures, and Greatest Crocodile Captures. This DVD is a great bargain for what you get, basicly three videos for the price of one. Each takes the best moments from Steve's show and puts them together into over 170 minutes of footage. Not a whole lot of extras but non are realy needed. The quality is above par, the video is very clear and the audio is what you would expect from any DVD. Do yourself a favor and order it now before it is no longer available. A great movie for the entire family that will teach you a lot about wildlife. Keep up the great work Steve!
0Comment| 52 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 5, 2000
*L* Wheter you think he's absolutely LOST it or adore watching every moment of each show, you can't help but be interested in Steve irwin and each of his videos. The 3 tapes show not only soe of the more dangerous days ( one tape of all crocodile captures and near misses ) a tape of personal glimpses of the irwens lives ( includeing his mother, father, wife, one sister, best friends, wedding video, and the day baby bendi was born and he brought the film crew to the hospital with him, seemingly to his wifes dismay ) and some of the worst cuaght on tape bits where he and terrie nearly had to cash in those insurance policies. Like when he nearly sat on a rattlesnake or the day terrie fell off a cliff without beign tied to anythign but HIM.
all these tapes are DEFINATLY with viewing.
0Comment| 33 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 11, 2000
This movie is great if you want to learn more on how he started catching crocs and about his family. They also explain about how he got married and Steve and Terri's baby. It's a good one to get!
0Comment| 14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 19, 2001
I absolutely agree with the previous reviewer. This is great stuff, but so is everything this man does. He is one in a million. Spitting cobras become soooo fascinating in his hands. He takes risks that are mind boggling. Crikey is an understatement. We tend to use much stronger language when we are watching him. In our household, he has us holding our breath, laughing, covering our eyes,sitting on the edge of our seats, and learning so much we never knew while he entertains us. This is BRILLIANT stuff. Don't miss it.It's hard to find anything else that comes close to being this much fun! I love spitting cobras since watching this video. But I love Steve Irwin even more!
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon July 19, 2000
Steve Irwin is a man who genuinely enjoys his job (and life) with a passion. Steve's life (all 38 years of it, anyway) is documented in this hour-long Animal Planet video, from catching his first crocodile at the tender age of nine to the recent birth of his daughter Bindi Sue. Steve is becoming a worldwide celebrity due to the popularity of his show The Crocodile Hunter that he hosts along with his wife Terri Irwin.
Steve possesses an inhuman amount of onscreen energy, but that only adds to his charm, eyes wide with excitement and his boyish grin that he gleefully flashes at the camera. Not to mention the ever-present khaki shorts and hiking boots and Outback slang like "Crikey!" "Flat out like a lizard drinking" and the infamous "She's a beauty!" His love for reptiles and all animals is evident in the interviews. An interesting yarn, complete with childhood photos and interviews with Steve's parents.
0Comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 19, 2000
I never had much interest in nature-related shows before. But that was before the day I clicked on the Discovery Channel... and saw it. All of a sudden I'm watching 'Crocodile Hunter' or as I like to call it, 'The Adventures of the Aussie who loves nature a whole lot more than his personal safety'. Steve Irwin's actually getting right in the thick of things, and bringing the missus along to assist! Capturing venomous snakes with his bare hands and proper timing, wrestling crocs to the ground, carefully capturing timid, injured creatures so he can hospitalize them & help them recuperate, and other unbelievable adventures. And all the while he's telling you, a bit too gleefully perhaps, how deadly the particular species of beast that he's facing down is, or that you should "never attempt this kinda thing". Steve Irwin's gotta be close to clinically insane! It's the greatest!
There are those who say that it's mostly tricky camera angles that give the show the illusion of danger. All I know is, there's that moment when Irwin's actually subduing that spooked wallaby, or grabbing that anaconda at the precise moment, or getting run up a tree after being chased by monitor lizards. He does actually put himself at risk for the show. Now is that dedication to your craft or what? You never saw Marlon Perkins go that extra mile for 'Mutual of Omaha's Wild Kingdom', that's for sure! (Yeesh, I'm really diggin' deep here, ain't I?)
Forget about Tarzan or Ric Flair- Steve Irwin's the one and only Nature Boy!
0Comment| 21 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 5, 2002
Steve Irwin has done to the nature-themed TV show what Bruce Lee did to the martial arts movie: added charisma, class, and thoughtfulness. His approach to teaching conservation and respect for nature is truly entertaining. Not only is it amazing to watch him chase after some of the most poisonous snakes in the world without a second thought, his quirky, Australian humor gets me smiling every time. It's great for kids and adults.
This DVD has a lot of great moments in true Steve-style. Be warned, though, that there are some things on this DVD that overlap with his Croc Files DVD (Vol #1).
0Comment| 14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 9, 2005
We watch this DVD over and over again - great stories and lots of action. The Irwins are great and should be an example to all - they are promoting animal wellfare AND showing us exciting things we'd never see here in the states. Mutual of Omaha on steriods! Awesome by crikey!
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 10, 2002
Only Steve Irwin could wrestle dangerous crocs, swim with deadly sharks, stand face to face with venomous snakes and run alongside the giant komodo dragon!
This DVD has it all! Nature, action and comedy! Your sides will split watching his crazy stunts! Lots of feelings are present whilst watching Steve; suspense as he wrestles angry gators, relief as he gets away from a rattle snake unharmed, laughter as he comes out with the funniest things and just plain awe!
Only steve could look at a venomous snake, smile and say "you're a little beauty aren't you!" and then shout "Crikey! She's a grumpy one!" as it goes in for an attack!
I recommend this for all age groups. Everyone will love Steve and his antics!
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 31, 2012
This DVD is a complete compilation of Steve Irvin at his very best. Although it is only one DVD, it's broken down in to three separate sections. It's his early years with commentating from various family members about Steve and how he is and how it all started. Then it has a section on his most dangerous encounters and the third is Steve being Steve and doing what made him famous. Great DVD!
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse