Hill Climb Racing 2 Industrial Deals Beauty Little FIres Everywhere STEM nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Learn more about Amazon Music Unlimited GNO for iPhone 8 Starting at $39.99 Grocery Handmade Tote Bags Home Gift Guide Off to College Home Gift Guide Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon BradsStatus BradsStatus BradsStatus  Introducing Echo Show Introducing All-New Fire HD 10 with Alexa hands-free $149.99 Kindle Oasis, unlike any Kindle you've ever held Shop Now PSFF17_gno

Format: Paperback|Change
Price:$17.14+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 14 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 35 reviews
on March 5, 2017
Fantastic detial
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 31, 2013
This biography has been very enlightening. One would think that since he was one of the most notorious regicides in history that he would be much maligned by modern British citizens. Yet there is a respectful admiration for his accomplishments in the military legacy. So much so that there was a World War Two tank named after him. "Look out Hitler!" Some misconceptions about his reign have been exposed in this biography. He was on cordial terms with various foreign powers even to the point of making military alliances with some neighbors against others, onike the French during the Robespierre years when nearly every nation in Europe was against that nation. Another misconception was that Cromwell was entirely intolerant against most dissident religious groups. Quite the opposite. He even go along with John Fox of the Quakers. Of course Cromwell infringed on civil rights when he occasionally closed down parliament, but then so did the Stewarts. This is a very thorough readable survey of his life.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 11, 2014
Very minute and thorough coverage of a remarkable man. I was really happy to pick up a lot of information new to me . Fraser maintained a consistent balance between Cromwells inner thoughts as evidenced by surviving sources and moving the story along. I would recommend this book as an excellent introduction to the period.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 13, 2013
nice book, documents the life of Oliver well and i used it for a book review from my college history class.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 26, 2015
Very comprehensive. Cromwell was too humble to be king.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 14, 2014
Tremendous amount of detail for such a small period of British history ( some 20 years or so) and much more than I wanted which is why I gave only a slightly positive overall rating. Passages bog down and become almost stream of consciousness in content. Author over specifies Cromwell's belief in Providence for his / England's success. This work is slanted to present a positive view of Cromwell historically which would perhaps be accepted in England but not so in Ireland.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 13, 2015
If an American, one must understand the English reformation -- as it is our genesis -- to understand our philosophical origins.
Fraser did a remarkable job of keeping the context on Cromwell, not some interpretation, of relativism, of opinion.
If is not some postulate, of this is what Cromwell could have been, it is this is what Cromwell was and the reality of him as a man, and as one attempting to create a new world.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 19, 2014
Antonia Fraser is a serious historian, but this lengthy biography of Cromwell is betwixt and between: likely not acceptable to the professional historian, a bit overwhelming for the general reader.

It doesn't show up in the bibliographies of the academics, and it doesn't have the general appeal of her books on French history.

Antonia was a beautiful woman, not something that should be overlooked, although it is extra-literary, and she was married to Pinter, which probably had a significant impact on her and on him, but I begin to wonder if her best books aren't the Jemima Shore mysteries.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 5, 2012
I gave Cromwell, by Antoina Fraser, this rating because I was expecting this to be historical fiction. Although that disappointed me, I was not disappointed in the amazing detail that this book provides about Cromwell's life. This is a book of epic proportions in that respect and I would recommend it to any historian.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 7, 2015
Book had a cracked spine from the top to the bottom. I had to glue it top keep it from eventually falling apart. Better inspection of the product before mailing out should be an aim to insure quality for the customer. To many like this could hurt. Elmers will do the job every time without fail. It held together nicely, but I should not have had to repair it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse