Kindle Price: $2.99

Save $23.96 (89%)

kindle unlimited logo
Unlimited reading. Over 1 million titles. Learn more
Read and Listen for Free
OR

These promotions will be applied to this item:

Some promotions may be combined; others are not eligible to be combined with other offers. For details, please see the Terms & Conditions associated with these promotions.

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

Buy for others

Give as a gift or purchase for a team or group. Learn more

Buying and sending eBooks to others


Single copy
(Sent by Amazon)
Amazon emails the eBook to a recipient on your behalf.
Learn more

Multiple copies
(Send on your own)
You send redemption links to your recipients.
Learn more


These ebooks can only be redeemed by recipients in the US. Redemption links and eBooks cannot be resold.

Quantity:
This item has a maximum order quantity limit.

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

Kindle App Ad
The Cross and the Curse (The Bernicia Chronicles Book 2) by [Harffy, Matthew]
Audible Sample
Playing...
Loading...
Paused

The Cross and the Curse (The Bernicia Chronicles Book 2) Kindle Edition

4.6 out of 5 stars 73 customer reviews
Book 2 of 6 in The Bernicia Chronicles (6 Book Series)

See all 6 formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Price
New from Used from
Kindle
$2.99

Kindle Feature Spotlight

CLOSE

Length: 429 pages Word Wise: Enabled Enhanced Typesetting: Enabled
Page Flip: Enabled Audible book:
Audible book
Switch back and forth between reading the Kindle book and listening to the Audible book with Whispersync for Voice. Add the Audible book for a reduced price of $7.49 when you buy the Kindle book.
Available

Beneath a Scarlet Sky
"Beneath a Scarlet Sky" by Mark Sullivan
Learn more about this featured book.
click to open popover

Enter your mobile number or email address below and we'll send you a link to download the free Kindle App. Then you can start reading Kindle books on your smartphone, tablet, or computer - no Kindle device required.

  • Apple
  • Android
  • Windows Phone
  • Android

To get the free app, enter your mobile phone number.


Try Kindle Countdown Deals
Explore limited-time discounted eBooks. Learn more.

Editorial Reviews

Review

"A tale that rings like sword song in the reader's mind. Harffy knows his genre inside out and The Cross and the Curse proves it." 
GILES KRISTIAN (Author of God of Vengeance and the Raven series) 

"The Cross and the Curse is a terrific novel that strikes just the right balance between fact and fiction, the plausible and the romantic, and it illuminates the Dark Ages like the bolt of lightning in its first few pages: in rare and unexpected ways. Top stuff." 
TOBY CLEMENTS (Author of the Kingmaker trilogy) 

"The best historical fiction enables the reader to simultaneously live in the here and now and the then and there. Matthew Harffy has this skill in abundance. He is one of the most accomplished and exciting voices in the field today. I love his novels." 
MARTIN LAKE (Author of A Love Most Dangerous and The Lost King series) 

"Harffy allows the reader to peel back the layers of Dark Age society beyond the implicit violence. His wordage is skilful and beautifully wrought, rather like a perfect damascened sword." 
PRUE BATTEN (Author of The Gisborne Saga and The Triptych Chronicle) 

"Matthew Harffy has created a gritty, authentic world, home to a hero who shows us the complexity of what it means to be human - the darkness and the delight. The Cross and the Curse is historical fiction at its finest." 
STEPHANIE CHURCHILL (Author of The Scribe's Daughter) 

Language Notes

634AD. Anglo-Saxon Britain. A gripping, action-packed historical thriller and second instalment in the Bernicia Chronicles. Perfect for fans of Bernard Cornwell.
Warlords battle across Britain to become the first king of the English. After a stunning victory against the native Waelisc, Beobrand returns a hero. His valour is rewarded with wealth and land by Oswald, king of Northumbria. He retires to his new estate with his bride only to find himself surrounded by enemies old and new.
With treachery and death on all sides, Beobrand fears he will lose all he holds dear. On a quest for revenge and redemption, he accepts the mantle of lord, leading his men into the darkest of nights and the bloodiest of battles.

This product is manufactured on demand using CD-R recordable media. Amazon.com's standard return policy will apply.


Product details

  • File Size: 990 KB
  • Print Length: 429 pages
  • Publisher: Aria (August 1, 2016)
  • Publication Date: August 1, 2016
  • Sold by: Amazon Digital Services LLC
  • Language: English
  • ASIN: B01DBZ51CM
  • Text-to-Speech: Enabled
  • X-Ray:
  • Word Wise: Enabled
  • Lending: Not Enabled
  • Screen Reader: Supported
  • Enhanced Typesetting: Enabled
  • Amazon Best Sellers Rank: #47,246 Paid in Kindle Store (See Top 100 Paid in Kindle Store)
  • Would you like to tell us about a lower price?


Customer Reviews

Top customer reviews

February 20, 2018
Format: Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
2 people found this helpful
|Comment|Report abuse
February 5, 2016
Format: Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
One person found this helpful
|Comment|Report abuse
February 20, 2016
Format: Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
One person found this helpful
|Comment|Report abuse
May 2, 2018
Format: Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
One person found this helpful
|Comment|Report abuse

Most recent customer reviews

Set up an Amazon Giveaway

The Cross and the Curse (The Bernicia Chronicles Book 2)
Amazon Giveaway allows you to run promotional giveaways in order to create buzz, reward your audience, and attract new followers and customers. Learn more about Amazon Giveaway
This item: The Cross and the Curse (The Bernicia Chronicles Book 2)