Your Garage Beauty Best Books of the Year So Far STEM nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Starting at $39.99 Wickedly Prime Handmade Wedding Rustic Decor Shop Popular Services gotpremiere gotpremiere gotpremiere  Echo $129.99 All-New Fire HD 8, starting at $79.99 Kindle Oasis B06ZY5XM7W Water Sports STEMClubToys17_gno



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 118 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 139 reviews
on August 25, 2014
There are actually NOT 555 workouts in this book. Yes there are a lot, however a good bit of them are doubled up by making the same WOD, for time and for 1 round! Pretty bad editing too, misspelled words, no consistency in naming conventions, and other small details that just bothered me. That being said…... all the classics are in here (The Girls, some of the popular Hero WOD's like the Murph) and then some. What I liked most about the book was that there were Running only WOD's and Kettle bell only WOD's, Rowing only WOD's, along with some others. All in all not too bad, for the price I'm glad I got it.
0Comment| 14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 3, 2016
The recommended weights are not specified even for the well known girl workouts. Why? The exersises not explained at all. Use an online WOD generator, don't spend your money.

What does 'Row 9x (60: 60)' mean?
11 comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 16, 2017
Yes there are a ton of different workouts in the book, so it's great if that's all you want. However, there is no guidance to workouts. For the price, it's good to throw in your gym bag to find a quick workout idea, but otherwise, I would say just to find a few crossfit gyms you like and check their websites for the workout of the day.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 18, 2015
Good book, a lot of wod's. It would have been good to have the chapters indexed on the kindle instead of having to go back to the TOC every time.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 13, 2017
Great book full of workouts for all types of athletes. From beginners to full blown crossfit athlete.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Even though I am now in my senior years with numerous medical issues I am still a fanatic when it comes to physical fitness. I have been researching the many physical fitness routines and programs lately and one of the very best I have read is Cross Training WOD Bible: 555 workouts from beginner to ballistic by Paige Selter. I really loved this book even though there is not a single photograph showing the exercises in this entire 157 page book; nevertheless, it has fantastic routines for anyone desiring to achieve the ultimate in total fitness.

As anyone into exercising knows our body adjusts to any exercise routine when done for a certain period of time. With WOD (Workout of the day) you can overcome this natural tendency of your body because you can change your workout program just about every day. This wonderful reference source begins with a brief introduction and the benefits of cross training. The basic terminology of the WOD system is covered before moving to the actual programs.

This text lists the following fitness routines: Beginner WODs, Benchmark-the girls, Benchmark-hero WODs, Body weight WODs, Running WODs, Rowing WODs, Kettlebell WODs, Olympic Lifting WODs, Strongman WODs, Short and Heavy WODs, Minute by minute WODs, Bi-Element WODs, Tri-Element WODs, Four or more WODs. Hybrid WODs, AMRAP WODs, and epic endurance challenges. I read this book in a short period of time, but I went back and checked off with a pen all the WOD routines I will be doing in this book (85) over time.
If you are a workout fantastic you should check out this excellent guide and reference source. If you do not know how to do all the exercises mentioned in this book I suggest checking a WOD website where you can see the exercises being done.

Rating: 5 Stars. Joseph J. Truncale (Author: Samurai Aerobics for fitness)
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 9, 2014
I received the book a day went over the descriptions of workouts it seems pretty good and detailed...one thing is it doesn't provide rest days...neither what type of regime should u follow with this...3, 4 or 5 days a week? Does anyone understand that? Also the beginner portion does not specify if they have to E done when and how many per day? Can anyone help?
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 1, 2015
It's a book of WOD's, that's about it. They range from beginner to Insane level, and vary from " no equip" to "you should probably be in a crossfit gym to do this properly". Great to just open up and start working out!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 21, 2017
Great book for people who don't always know what they want to do. Lots of great options and new things to try.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 19, 2014
PLUS: A huge variety of workouts compiled.
MINUS: However, unless you're familiar with all the terminology, you may be at a loss to know exactly how to execute a specific workout. No pictures, no explanations, no nothing. I had to google several of the workout terms to know how to perform them.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse