Industrial Deals Magazine Deals Introducing Prime Wardrobe nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Weekly One GNO for Samsung S9 Starting at $39.99 Grocery Handmade Personalized Jewelry Home and Garden Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon westworldS2 westworldS2 westworldS2  Echo Fire tablets: Designed for entertainment Kindle Paperwhite AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Shop now SWMTVT18_gno



on May 29, 2016
In the interest of full disclosure let me start by stating that I'am a huge fan of Aphrodite Jones, having said that I quit reading this book half way through.
Tedious would be a kind description of this narrative, the ongoing and long dissertations and infinite detail of letters between teenage wannabe lovers/lesbians is more than I could take along with the never ending description of the father and his issues.

I have read all of AJ's books and this by far is not up to her standards, I can state this because I had read another account of this incident by another author and so I had a comparative study. I got the impression that AJ was trying to fill pages rather than write a story.

In spite of my misgivings with this book I will continue to read and follow this author
0Comment| 20 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on May 27, 2016
Story about an absolutely horrific murder by teenage girls. It could have been compelling, but the writing is disjointed, hard to follow and, quite simply, bad. I enjoy Aphrodite Jones on TV, but she needs to take some writing classes.
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
VINE VOICEon June 23, 2011
The facts of this "Lord of the Flies" crime are presented in straightforward, chronological order, without any editorializing, without any attempts at creating suspense. The book reads like an extended police blotter report. But this crime was shocking enough without the need for any fine writing to describe it. A Capote-caliber treatment would always be welcome, but the reader doesn't need the embellishments of literary skill in order to feel the pain and horror of the murder committed outside of the picturesque, Mayberry-like town of Madison, Indiana, in 1992.

In this generally complete account of the crime, a few things don't seem to be addressed fully enough. For example, the reader is left wondering how the victim, a 12-year-old girl, was socializing so intensely with 15 and 16-year-olds. Those two age groups usually don't have anything to do with each other. Also the title of the book is a little misleading because the word "Sacrifice" could, in one sense, steer the interpretation of this crime back to the rumor that it was the result of the girls' practicing Satanic rituals. Actually, any interest in Satanic rites or witchcraft played virtually no part in the actual crime.

However, this book overall does a good job of telling who the victim and the perpetrators were. One of the best things about Jones' account is that it includes extensive information about the home lives of the teenage perpetrators. We see the extreme dysfunction that existed in these families. There was one father's frequent abuse of his wife and of his three daughters, including many kinky intrusions into the girls' lives. There was a mother's complicity in making such perversions commonplace in their household. There was religious fanaticism. We get an insight into the fierce, but fluctuating, crushes that the teen girls developed on each other. When it came to these love affairs, every emotion the girls felt was immediately translated into operatic hyperbole and acted out in Grand Guignol style.

The sheer amount of physical activity these teens engaged in was another surprising element of their lives. Whereas other generations of teens and even many modern teens might go to school, come home, do some homework, and then just slouch around the house, watching TV or goofing off for a while - these teens were up and about virtually every waking hour. They were going to clubs and hooking up sexually with both boys and other girls out in parking lots. They were going to punk rock concerts and getting piercings. They were experimenting with drugs. They were constantly going to each other's houses or talking to each other on the phone. None of them ever seemed to have a moment of quietude, a moment of being alone with herself without being hammered into conformity with peer group mores.

So Jones' plainly written account is very revealing about trends in modern life on a number of levels. Many teens and adults alike are leading these always-in-touch hyperactive lives now. However, very few commit such heinous crimes. Reading this, you might be reminded of the Roman playwright Terence's remark that, "Nothing human is alien to me." This book will have you asking over-and-over, "Could I, under any circumstances, be capable of such a crime?"
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on December 3, 2016
Sad, haunting story. It might focus too much on Loveless and her family, slightly ignoring poor Shanda's family life. It still surprises me that a 16 year old would be so jealous of a 12 year old!?! Melinda is a monster.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on April 19, 2013
gets you into the minds of 4 demented females with one mission, to kill a rival of one of them.it is hard to believe that such monsters are breathing the same air as me.To be tortured,beaten ,stabbed, and left nude in a trunk in january in the bitter cold,this poor child was subjected to the most vial,disgusting acts i've ever heard of,and then burned alive. these four things should have gotten death sentences, their putrid lives extinguished the same way as sweet young Shanda.may you rest in eternal peace! But no our immoral justice system let them all make plea deals,as if they let their victim have a deal,as she was begging for her young life.HOPE they all rot in hell
11 comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on June 4, 2016
This story is both compelling and scary. These young girls were just evil with a pack mentality. Their families were so dysfunctional. I was very caught up with this story and wonder how all their lives have progressed.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on September 22, 2013
The author did a good job telling this sad but true story. It was horrifying at times, that I had to put it down and come back to it later. It's amazing and so frightening that this actually happens in our cities, little towns and suburbs...that we don't realize we could be living right next door to these strange, mean, and cruel people. It's very unfortunate they didn't spend more time incarcerated for the crimes they committed compared to the cruelty they thought that little girl deserved and the sacrifice her parents had to pay in losing their daughter senselessly.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on June 29, 2016
This was a very good book. However, I feel that two of the characters' histories were expounded upon too much! The repetitive detail was not necessary to get the point across.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on April 5, 2014
this is a great well written book but a very horrific true crime story. it's a great read but will break your heart cause shanda was so young and the horrible things they did to her,is sad to read.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on February 10, 2014
I hope this isn't the new trend in America to just kill people you don't like. This book is graphic and doesn't beat around the bush and makes us imagine anything. I like a book that tells it like it is.
11 comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse