Your Garage Luxury Beauty Best Books of the Month STEM nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Starting at $39.99 Wickedly Prime Handmade Mother's Day Gifts hgg17 Book House Cleaning animespring animespring animespring  Introducing Echo Look Starting at $49.99 Kindle Oasis Nintendo Switch Shop Now disgotg_gno_17

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 65 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 68 reviews
on September 5, 2011
This little book, written nearly 100 years ago, is still just what the doctor ordered to help both beginning and professional gardeners grow better herbs. The slightly stilted, old-fashioned language is a very comfortable match to the subject matter. Be prepared to discover the histories of herbs, how to cultivate and harvest them, how to use them to add flavor to soups, stews, salads, and meats. The author's perspective is surprisingly modern, being very accepting of historical uses (and misuses) of herbs, but also allowing for the world's present wisdom to change, for new and improved uses and applications for herbs. Great care and affection is shown throughout this book for the disappearing art of herb gardening. In the author's own words, "It is not to late to learn the good old ways all over again."
0Comment| 51 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 21, 2017
Every single herb mentioned is thoroughly described, has its own history, and its uses in the culinary world. This book also has all the cultivation methods you need. I'm sure I'll keep employing this vast knowledge within regularly.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 21, 2017
Exactly what I was looking for.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 31, 2015
good
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 3, 2012
I truly enjoyed this book. I have often wondered how people used to use healing herbs as well a culinary herbs in past times. This book is a wealth of information on that subject. I am a gardener and also enjoyed learning how to grow herbs, process them and use them. It is a true gold mine of information.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 9, 2012
We're just finishing up the first growing season after I read this book. Using it as inspiration we have saved dill seeds, rosemary, sage, oregano, spearmint, lemon balm, garlic, basil, thyme, parsley, peppers and cilantro. We also won a second place county fair ribbon for our dill pickles garnished with home grown garlic, dill flowers and red pepper. You'd be surprised just how good a plate of home made spaghetti tastes when you've grown all its spices.

This is a basic introduction to the subject which teaches sufficient knowledge to choose herbs, grow them from seeds, keep the bugs under control, harvest their various parts, store them and use them in our recipes. It was written at a time when people expected their food experts to have real firsthand knowledge on the subject. So it is knowledge dense and short on b.s.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 1, 2012
This book is quite interesting and contains good information on using and drying herbs as well as growing them. Excellant reference for the novice.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 21, 2012
For those of you who like natural healing, this book is a must. You will most definitely greatly benefit from it.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 6, 2013
The contents can be found on the internet with minimul search. No colored pictures. Each herb is discussed in about 2 paragraphs. This is not what i was anticipating. I have other books that have more detail with colored photos. Tending and harvesting, revive a withered plant are things i was hoping for.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 2, 2012
We've decided to grow our own vegetables and herbs that are either our favorites or aren't always available where we live. This and several other books we purchased were a great help. Now if the 'endless series' of typhoons would let up, our modest but burgeoning garden will eventually yield the bounty this book helped us get started!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse