Amazon.com: Customer Reviews: Culture Sketches: Case Studies in Anthropology
Amazon Vehicles GoldBox Amazon Fashion Learn more Discover it Ingrid Fire TV Stick Happy Belly Snacks Totes Amazon Cash Back Offer TheKicks TheKicks TheKicks  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Starting at $49.99 All-New Kindle Oasis Florida Georgia Line Water Sports

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on August 13, 2013
I had to use this book for my required college intro to anthropology class. This book was great, as it was quite well-organized. Each chapter described a group of people, with a map that shows where they originate. The sections in the book divide the different aspects of the peoples, such as origin stories, social structure, and how they obtain sustenance. Within these sections are unique subsections that describe anything special or unique for the culture. (Bonus: The subsections are fairly small and digestible.)

While I did get bored at times with the book, not being all that interested in people studies, this was a easy-to-read book that helped me understand other cultures.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 27, 2013
Had to use this book for a college course. Not bad to read considering I wasn't extremely interested in the subject matter but it was bearable. Got an "A" in the course and the cost of this book was very affordable. Thanks again Amazon!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 10, 2010
Book is split into small chapters with maps and photos. Very clear and to the point on each culture, pointing out the unique characteristics of each. Includes very interesting facts, especially about certain groups. Informative and educational while being easy to read, so I gave it 5 stars.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 12, 2013
Had to buy this book for class, hated it. Hated the class. Worst ever. Teacher didn't help; wanted to write horrible stuff about him, but refrained. But I'm more of a phys. anthropology person so take my opinion with a grain of salt.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 1, 2010
Very interesting if you are like learning about the world's cultures. Tons of information and very understandable. Definitely recommend for the higher education seeker. :)
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 30, 2009
Interesting, factual and to the point. Gives an overview of different cultures from beliefs of creation to rituals and traditions. Easy reading and concise. I learned alot without having to read overly worded chapters.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 26, 2010
I had to buy this book for my anthropology class..... I really liked the book. It wasn't a difficult read, but gave the information in an easy to read yet fun way.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 29, 2015
Pen marks and coffee stains.... But in usable condition. Not great...
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 2, 2010
Books like this are a good start to appreciating human diversity, which goes way beyond what we imagine possible, in our Newtonian/Cartesian world view. I do so love Anthropology. If you want to go further with diversity of what is possible, even just in America, other books, Urban Shaman,The Future Is Yours: Do Something About It!,Lost Secrets of Ancient Hawaiian Huna, Volume 1,ThetaHealing can be helpful; all are written by Americans, in a distinctly nonacademic way. Grandfather is an intro to a different kind of world, as isWhispers of the ncients: Native Tales for Teaching and Healing in Our Time, and House of Shattering Light: Life as an American Indian Mystic, or Journey to the Ancestral Self: The Native Lifeway Guide to Living in Harmony With Earth Mother, Book 1 (Bk.1).Way of the Peaceful Warrior: A Book That Changes Lives is a very superficial discussion of what indigenous spiritual apprenticeship could be. Wong Kiew Kit's books show some unusual survivals of nonwestern ideas in Chinese culture. My Tai Chi teacher was trained by Cheng Man-Ching, and he was really, really good. Joseph Murphy The Power of Your Subconscious Mind gives some idea of just how diverse even just America can be. This book is a good start, like a tourist guide to human diversity.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 16, 2010
This was "required" reading for my college course in Anthropology. It is well laid out, informative, and interesting if you have a real desire to learn about diverse cultures. As always, Amazon's delivery was quick and efficient.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse