<Embed>
List Price: $16.99
Save: $2.14 (13%)
& FREE Shipping
Arrives: Sep 1 - 17
Only 10 left in stock - order soon.
As an alternative, the Kindle eBook is available now and can be read on any device with the free Kindle app. Want to listen? Try Audible.
Your transaction is secure
We work hard to protect your security and privacy. Our payment security system encrypts your information during transmission. We don’t share your credit card details with third-party sellers, and we don’t sell your information to others. Learn more
Ships from and sold by TheWorldShop.
+ $3.99 shipping
Used: Good | Details
Condition: Used: Good
Comment: Dust jacket included and in good condtion with minor to some wear. Corners may show some wear but no tears or rips.

Other Sellers on Amazon
Add to Cart
$16.30
+ Free Shipping
Sold by: -New Chapter-
Add to Cart
$12.70
+ $3.99 shipping
Sold by: indoobestsellers
Add to Cart
$16.99
& FREE Shipping on eligible orders. Details
Sold by: Amazon.com
Have one to sell?
Flip to back Flip to front
Listen Playing... Paused   You're listening to a sample of the Audible audio edition.
Learn more
See all 3 images

Follow the Author

Something went wrong. Please try your request again later.


A Curious Tale of the In-Between Hardcover – September 1, 2015

4.6 out of 5 stars 36 ratings
Book 1 of 2 in the Pram Series

See all formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Price
New from Used from
Kindle
Hardcover
$14.85
$10.85 $0.79

Amazon Book Review | Discover your next great read
click to open popover

Enter your mobile number or email address below and we'll send you a link to download the free Kindle App. Then you can start reading Kindle books on your smartphone, tablet, or computer - no Kindle device required.

  • Apple
    Apple
  • Android
    Android
  • Windows Phone
    Windows Phone
  • Click here to download from Amazon appstore
    Android

To get the free app, enter your mobile phone number.

kcpAppSendButton

Special offers and product promotions

Editorial Reviews

From School Library Journal

Gr 4–7—Pram Bellamy possesses a strange talent: she can see and hear ghosts. Unfortunately, her gift makes fitting in at school a challenge, so she prefers the company of her books and her ghostly friend, Felix. Then Pram meets Clarence, a lonely boy who has also lost his mother, and the two forge a friendship through their common bond. Just as Pram is beginning to embrace a more ordinary life, however, her extraordinary nature puts her in danger. The mysterious Madame Savant is more than willing to kidnap and murder to get what she wants—and she means to use Pram's abilities to fuel her own ambitions. Bereft of friends and family and struggling with powers she's just beginning to understand, Pram has to break free of her captors. DeStefano's story is startlingly dark, with mature themes of death, madness, and suicide coupled with a lively paranormal adventure. The author explores not only the mysteries of the beyond but also the impact of absent parents and the healing powers of friendship. While the emotionally charged narrative is less likely to satisfy those looking for a spooky thrill, more sophisticated readers will appreciate the vivid characters with rich internal lives. VERDICT Readers who enjoyed A.J. Paquette's Rules for Ghosting (Bloomsbury, 2013) and Grave Images by Jenny Goebel (Scholastic, 2013) will want to give this title a try.—Stephanie Whelan, New York Public Library

Review

“Readers will be hooked from the first line of this lyrical and suspenseful mystery/fantasy (part thriller too) of a brave and compassionate girl. . . . DeStefano artfully concocts a moving and multilayered tale that is an effective mix of genres and tones, at times contemplative and philosophical yet also macabre and psychologically sophisticated. Love, loss, and hope are at the heart of this exciting read.” ―Kirkus Reviews

“The perfect book to hand to readers looking for the mysterious and spooky.” ―Booklist

“DeStefano creates a beguiling world through haunting images and descriptions. . . An eerie, moving story about 'that murky place between this world and the one that comes after it.'” ―Publishers Weekly

“Startlingly dark. . . Sophisticated readers will appreciate the vivid characters with rich internal lives. Readers who enjoyed A.J. Paquette's Rules for Ghosting and Grave Images by Jenny Goebel will want to give this title a try.” ―School Library Journal

“The voice of this dark but often funny novel is as pragmatic as Pram, matter-of-factly acknowledging truths its characters need to know, even when those truths are unpleasant. . . Fans of Holly Black's Doll Bones may well enjoy this creepy, character-based tale.” ―The Horn Book

“A harrowing debut. . . . DeStefano has an observant eye.” ―Publishers Weekly on WITHER

“A concoction of tension and love with a cliff-hanger ending.” ―School Library Journal on PERFECT RUIN: THE INTERNMENT CHRONICLES BOOK 1

“DeStefano has created a perfect storm--intertwining plot, characters, and setting beautifully. . . . This is a page-turner, and waiting for the next book will be hard, hard, hard.” ―Booklist on PERFECT RUIN: THE INTERNMENT CHRONICLES BOOK 1


Product details

Customer reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
4.6 out of 5
36 customer ratings
5 star
78%
4 star
8%
3 star
14%
2 star 0% (0%) 0%
1 star 0% (0%) 0%
How does Amazon calculate star ratings?
Reviewed in the United States on September 4, 2015
Verified Purchase
3 people found this helpful
Comment Report abuse
Reviewed in the United States on June 10, 2019
Verified Purchase
Reviewed in the United States on December 30, 2018
Verified Purchase
One person found this helpful
Comment Report abuse
Reviewed in the United States on October 5, 2015
Verified Purchase
2 people found this helpful
Comment Report abuse
Reviewed in the United States on February 19, 2017
Verified Purchase
One person found this helpful
Comment Report abuse
Reviewed in the United States on February 10, 2017
Verified Purchase
One person found this helpful
Comment Report abuse
Reviewed in the United States on June 5, 2017
Verified Purchase
One person found this helpful
Comment Report abuse
Reviewed in the United States on February 28, 2016
3 people found this helpful
Comment Report abuse