Buying Options

Kindle Price: $4.99

Save $13.00 (72%)

These promotions will be applied to this item:

Some promotions may be combined; others are not eligible to be combined with other offers. For details, please see the Terms & Conditions associated with these promotions.

You've subscribed to ! We will preorder your items within 24 hours of when they become available. When new books are released, we'll charge your default payment method for the lowest price available during the pre-order period.
Update your device or payment method, cancel individual pre-orders or your subscription at
Your Memberships & Subscriptions

Buy for others

Give as a gift or purchase for a team or group.
Learn more

Buying and sending eBooks to others

Select quantity
Buy and send eBooks
Recipients can read on any device

Additional gift options are available when buying one eBook at a time.  Learn more

These ebooks can only be redeemed by recipients in the US. Redemption links and eBooks cannot be resold.

Kindle app logo image

Download the free Kindle app and start reading Kindle books instantly on your smartphone, tablet, or computer - no Kindle device required. Learn more

Read instantly on your browser with Kindle Cloud Reader.

Using your mobile phone camera - scan the code below and download the Kindle app.

QR code to download the Kindle App

Loading your book clubs
There was a problem loading your book clubs. Please try again.
Not in a club? Learn more
Amazon book clubs early access

Join or create book clubs

Choose books together

Track your books
Bring your club to Amazon Book Clubs, start a new book club and invite your friends to join, or find a club that’s right for you for free.
The Curse of Morton Abbey by [Clarissa Harwood]

Follow the Author

Something went wrong. Please try your request again later.

The Curse of Morton Abbey Kindle Edition

4.4 out of 5 stars 467 ratings

Price
New from Used from
Kindle
$4.99

Only $5.95 a month for the first 4 months on Audible. Limited-time only.

Editorial Reviews

Review

"The Curse of Morton Abbey is a delightfully spooky and wonderfully atmospheric gothic novel. Clarissa Harwood's elegant prose is a pleasure to read, and her firm grasp of Victorian history manifests itself in note-perfect period detail. Reminiscent of the works of Charlotte Brontë and Frances Hodgson Burnett, this story contains everything I love best about the genre. Highly recommended."
- Mimi Matthews, USA Today bestselling author

"A beautiful blend of history, romance, and mystery, with a hauntingly gothic spirit."
- Dianne Freeman, Agatha and Lefty Award-winning author of the Countess of Harleigh mystery series

"A pacey Victorian Gothic full of suspense, romance, and a refreshing amount of feminist sensibility. A resounding five stars!"
- Terry Lynn Thomas, USA Today bestselling author of The Silent Woman, The Family Secret, and House of Lies

"Clarissa Harwood proves herself to be a mistress of romantic suspense in The Curse of Morton Abbey, a delectably gothic page-turner. With echoes of The Secret Garden and the Brontës, The Curse of Morton Abbey will keep you reading late into the night to uncover its dark final twists. Fans of Hester Fox and Mimi Matthews will want to devour this one!"
- Kris Waldherr, author of The Lost History of Dreams and Doomed Queens
 
"Like the bare branch of a tree tapping on a nighttime window, this absorbing novel shivers with mystery and romantic possibility. Clarissa Harwood has created a gothic wonder, a captivating novel filled with secrets, betrayal, and the echo of invisible footsteps down a dark corridor. This book is a delight."
- Carrie Callaghan, author of A Light of Her Own and Salt the Snow

"A perfectly ominous and enthralling page-turner of a mystery, The Curse of Morton Abbey is an exquisite mix of Edgar Allan Poe and Jane Eyre. You won't be able to put it down until you've pursued the sinister labyrinth of the story through each increasingly dark twist and turn, and come to the explosive, astonishing end."
- Lauren Sapala, author of The INFJ Writer and West is San Francisco

"Mix together a gloomy, ancient abbey in rainswept Yorkshire, a spikey, determined heroine, a dark secret to unravel and you could have the elements for any Gothic novel. What makes
The Curse of Morton Abbey special is the author's understanding of the genre, her fluid prose, impeccable Victorian-era details, and a twisty plot to upend all of your expectations. For the full effect, I highly recommend reading it by flickering candlelight this Halloween season."- Laurel Ann Nattress, Austenprose

About the Author

See "More about the author" below.

Product details

  • ASIN ‏ : ‎ B097Q9TF46
  • Publication date ‏ : ‎ October 26, 2021
  • Language ‏ : ‎ English
  • File size ‏ : ‎ 3865 KB
  • Simultaneous device usage ‏ : ‎ Unlimited
  • Text-to-Speech ‏ : ‎ Enabled
  • Screen Reader ‏ : ‎ Supported
  • Enhanced typesetting ‏ : ‎ Enabled
  • X-Ray ‏ : ‎ Not Enabled
  • Word Wise ‏ : ‎ Enabled
  • Sticky notes ‏ : ‎ On Kindle Scribe
  • Print length ‏ : ‎ 361 pages
  • Customer Reviews:
    4.4 out of 5 stars 467 ratings

About the author

Follow authors to get new release updates, plus improved recommendations.
Brief content visible, double tap to read full content.
Full content visible, double tap to read brief content.

Clarissa Harwood is the author of three historical novels. Publishers Weekly called her first novel, IMPOSSIBLE SAINTS, "a rich debut." Her second novel, BEAR NO MALICE, won the Editor's Choice award from the Historical Novel Society, and Kirkus Reviews praised it as "a smart and highly civilized tale about love, temptation, and second chances."

Clarissa holds a PhD in English Literature with a specialization in Nineteenth-Century British Literature. In addition to being a proud member of the Historical Novel Society, Clarissa is a part-time university instructor and full-time grammar nerd who loves to explain the difference between restrictive and nonrestrictive clauses. Born and raised on the Canadian prairies, she currently ives in Ontario, Canada, with her husband and three neurotic cats.

To learn more, visit www.clarissaharwood.com

Customer reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars
4.4 out of 5
467 global ratings

Top reviews from the United States

Reviewed in the United States 🇺🇸 on October 18, 2022
Reviewed in the United States 🇺🇸 on October 26, 2021
Customer image
5.0 out of 5 stars A tale of deceit and unconventional love
By Élodie Nicoli on October 26, 2021
Will she be able to see past all the false pretenses…

It is sure, this book has very much a taste of the stories of my youth, the house with its secrets and shadow, the reclusive protagonist, the unsettling servants, the described plain but clever heroine and the deceit.
Everything for a good read with some spookiness.
It is described as The Secret Garden meets Jane Eyre, and yes it could be described as such, except the protagonists are not children but full grown persons, damaged by their past and much flawed.
And as the story is told in the first person, we follow this adventure from the unique point of view of Vaughan.

Vaughan is so much more than her fragile appearance let picture, Nick out of spite called her a crippled spinster. And while she might limp and was unmarried, she is no bitter woman. She just reprioritized her needs and wants. She was told all her life she was the plain Jane of the family, the youngest and the least provided with charms and beauty of all the five Springthorpe daughters. Why maybe had she been indulged by their father, allowed to follow him in his study and offices.
As the mainly prospects expected for a young women are rather seen as out of her reach, Vaughan has found solace in her father’s business, but now he is no more, she refuses to be the spinster aunt, she wants to strike on her own but the simple fact of being a woman is like a “no” to any of her request, until she found a way to avoid specifying her sex.
So when she is handed the means to prove her worth, she is not one to back down, she will prove she is capable, organized and reliable. And she is even more.
Courageous to not run crying or fainting when noises, shooting and attempts to scare her could have, she is determined to stay and accomplish the job she has been hired for.
Upon her arrival, she has to deal with the “glumlyness” of the place, the hostility of the inhabitants, the absence of her employer but the unsettling presence of his brother Nicholas Spencer. Hopefully she has encountered a kind of an allied In Joe, a man who alleviates a bit of her loneliness, as Mr Spencer is much hostile to her presence.

Vaughan is in for the adventure of her life, she won’t walk away the same sheltered naive woman she was before, her sanity, loyalty and heart are to be tested, for her to determine the edges she can walk by, the tenets she stands by and if can she follow and trust her chest organ.
So as the noose tighten, true motives, sins and real characters are to be revealed when the masks fall.
Whom can she trust as no one is whom it seems.

If one this is certain, it will not be my last read by the author, she created the perfect read for a cosy afternoon with the right dose of gloom, chillness, creepy characters plus a sweet romance.
5 stars

𝗦𝘁𝗲𝗮𝗺 𝗹𝗲𝘃𝗲𝗹 kisses
Images in this review
Customer image
Customer image
6 people found this helpful
Report abuse
Reviewed in the United States 🇺🇸 on August 6, 2022
Reviewed in the United States 🇺🇸 on November 18, 2021
One person found this helpful
Report abuse

Top reviews from other countries

bsr
5.0 out of 5 stars fabulous gothic novel
Reviewed in Canada 🇨🇦 on August 7, 2022
One person found this helpful
Report abuse
Gail Carrie Lander
5.0 out of 5 stars good read
Reviewed in Australia 🇦🇺 on September 22, 2022
Report an issue

Does this item contain inappropriate content?
Do you believe that this item violates a copyright?
Does this item contain quality or formatting issues?