Amazon.com: Customer Reviews: Customer Service: New Rules for a Social Media World (Que Biz-Tech)
Amazon Vehicles Up to 80 Percent Off Textbooks Amazon Fashion Learn more Discover it Songs of Summer Fire TV Stick Health, Household and Grocery Back to School Totes Amazon Cash Back Offer TheKicks TheKicks TheKicks  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Starting at $49.99 All-New Kindle Oasis Florida Georgia Line Shop Now

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars
20
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:$19.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on August 30, 2012
What a fantastic book.. whether you are a follower of Peter and his rise into the stratosphere or never heard his name before, this book is an eye opener into how companies must operate to succeed in this new world, where one well timed steak delivery can mean millions to a brand in publicity-- or where one bad move can shoot down a multi-million dollar brand.

My only complaint about the book is the cover-- why on earth is Peter's name so small? Many more people would pick up the book if it said PETER SHANKMAN in big bold letters. As the Founder of HARO, which was totally social media conceived, developed and eventually sold for millions, this book's cover doesn't do it or its author justice!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 22, 2011
A great no frills look at how we are all failing at customer service and how to improve our outlook and embrace social media. Great read by someone who practices what he preaches. The advice Shankman gives is 100% implementable and really doesn't take much effort. From case studies to travel tips, this book has it all. Social Media is everywhere and this book really shows us how to harness new media to give our customers and clients a better experience.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 29, 2011
Peter Shankman's new book, Customer Service: New Rules for a Social Media World, is a fast, informative read that provides endlessly fresh ideas on how to harness the power of social media to grow customer loyalty. Every tip Shankman offers will make you slap your hand against your head and say, "Why didn't I think of that?" His recommendations on ways to use social media to build followers are deceptively obvious which makes them easy to grasp and make you realize that yes, you can do them, too!

Written in Shankman's easy, breezy style, Customer Service is a tremendous resource for business owners. I felt that a lot of the content is geared to retailers but the concepts can be applied to most service providers as well. He assumes the reader has a grasp of more than just the basics of the most popular social networks and how they can work to the business owner's advantage. Therefore, if you are a true neophyte to social networking and not yet sure about tweets or hashtags, I suggest you wait a while before plunging in here. But if you have already established your accounts and are comfortable using them, you should definitely read this book and start implementing some of Shankman's suggestions right away. He shows the reader how to make customers into "addicts online" and follows that chapter up with how to "keep the addiction going."

I found the book to be of tremendous value for its accessibility, fresh thinking, and great ideas on every page on how to incorporate social media techniques into positive customer interactions online. Whether responding to a complaint or building a fan base, Shankman has an answer to pretty much any customer scenario. Read this book and then go forth and conquer!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 15, 2011
Meet Peter Shankman, one of the kindest, smartest, and funniest movers and shakers in the social media world. This book is written simply and clearly, you can read it quickly and it's chock-full of memorable take-aways. No stupid info-graphics that communicate nothing, no over-reaching mnemonic devices, and no preachy-teachy language. This is not your standard "do better at your job" book. Just your friend, Peter, walking you through his experience, what's worked, what hasn't, and why. Not surprisingly, being Peter, he'll have you laughing at both the successes and failures of the companies he profiles. From blending iphones on willitblend.com to an analysis of what Kryptonite locks should have done at the first whiff of YouTube trouble, Peter takes the time to you you through it all for the best reason ever: to improve our lives as customers and to improve our businesses through customer service. Bravo!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 17, 2011
I heard Peter Shankman speak at a social media symposium in San Diego last January. Peter's views on `the power of listening' alone made my trip from Seattle worthwhile - his commitment to and passion for customer service left the audience hungry for more.

Months later I was thrilled to find much of what Peter covered, plus so much more, in `Customer Service.' As noted by other reviewers, Peter helps the reader devise a plan to get, thrill and keep customers in our social media world. And he neatly packages this information so it's engaging, entertaining and easy-to-follow. He even offers the reader this deal: come up with idea you think is awesome and send him an email about it. He'll take a look and let you know what he thinks.

When was the last time you got that from a book?

Thank you Peter.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 21, 2011
I think this book is well worth the read. It's informative and goes into a lot of detail. Peter Shankman's point of view I certainly trust.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 7, 2013
If you work with clients, people or social media, this is for you, great book. I read it in a day.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 5, 2015
Author is a ego maniac who does not practice what he preaches!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 31, 2011
If you are looking for a quick read that is written in no-nonsense terminology that reaches across a wide spectrum of audiences, don't pass up Peter Shankman's Customer Service: New Rules for a Social Media World.

Written in a tone that only Peter can do, he walks readers through basic, common sense advice of how social media can turn a tweet, comment or post into a catastrophe if it isn't handled properly. These days a customer can be as young as 10 to as old as 80 (or more) but they all expect the same thing - quality customer service because if they don't, more than likely they are armed with a smart phone ready to tell the world about the worst experience they have ever had. However, Peter offers great suggestions on how to turn those `complainers' to `complimenters' without being `that guy' who is oblivious to the social media world. Knowing how to connect and when to connect with customers is a skill learned through trial and error.

This book is a must read for online and offline businesses looking for ways to attract and retain customers.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 24, 2011
If you have a social media plan in place and haven't read this book, then in my opinion you aren't doing it right. Peter let's you know in this book how to do social media and customer service right for your business.

If your business is looking to roll out a social media plan, then I highly recommend you read this book. Not only does Peter show you how to do it properly, but he practices it for his business. I can't wait to start trying out his terrific ideas myself!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse