Amazon.com: Customer Reviews: Cutting Edge: Fire & Ice
Your Garage Up to 80 Percent Off Textbooks Amazon Fashion Learn more nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Lindsey Stirling Fire TV Stick Health, Household and Grocery Back to School Totes Amazon Cash Back Offer PilotWave7B PilotWave7B PilotWave7B  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Starting at $49.99 All-New Kindle Oasis Shop Now STEM

Format: DVD|Change
Price:$5.75+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on May 13, 2014
Francia Raisa reprises her role as Alexandra "Alex" Delgado in film franchise.The Cutting Edge: Fire & Ice is a TV movie that follows the The Cutting Edge 3: Chasing the Dream. It also stars Brendan Fehr.It was produced for the ABC Family cable channel.

Alex whose figure skating career came to an abrupt halt after her partner became injured. As their love affair cooled, a heart-broken Alex stopped competing and turned to teaching. Enter James McKinsey, the smoldering bad boy of speed skating, who has had fiery Alex in his sights as a skating partner ever since he was banned from speed skating. There aren't many girls who say no to James and Alex may well be the first. However, James pushes her buttons, challenging her like no one else and her fighting spirit returns. She agrees to be his partner and they begin a grueling practice regimen fueled by their own tempestuous relationship which heats up as they get closer to competition. But will their passion destroy Alex's chance to bring home the gold again? Your guess is as good as mine.

I think that is about time to end doing poor sequels of The Cutting Edge.The three films that were produced - the Cutting Edge 2,Cutting Edge 3 and this film - have somewhat hurt the legacy of classic first film.I think that repeating the same thematic plots of the Tony Gilroy's script has become tiresome and uninteresting for viewers.They offer practically nothing different.But at least,Brendan Fehr and Francia Raisa have great chemistry and have tried their best with their characters.The only good thing about it is the entertainment it provides and the figure skating scenes.Nothing more.But nevertheless,it is time to end doing further sequels that does not even hold a candle to the D.B. Sweeney-Moira Kelly starrer.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 15, 2011
Frankly, this movie was a total waste of money - there was little "fire and ice" to make it even remotely interesting. "The Cutting Edge: Chasing the Dream" ended on such a positive note that it was disappointing to have a sequal that took away from the ending of the other. The characters were not as interesting as in the previous movie, and I found myself wondering what happened to the rest of Alexandra's family as only the mother seemed to be around. The poutiness of Alexandra's character got a little old the second time around. She seems to always have a chip on her shoulder and appears to be so angry with life. One wonders if she will ever grow up. There was way too much arrogance and anger to make this an enjoyable movie and the skating was disappointing in comparison to the other movies. The dialogue in this movie was so lacking that even the last line, "Just remember who said it first," was taken from the original "Cutting Edge" movie.

All in all, the dialogue, the plot, the development of the characters was "amateur skating" at its worst. Additionally, it is unrealistic to think that these two characters were going to put any quality skating together in a short period of time by a coach who could not even speak English and had little spunk in comparison to the coaches in the original movie and the "Chasing the Dream" sequel.

"The Cutting Edge: Fire and Ice" is shallow and boring and to quote from the original movie, it simply "didn't get the job done."
0Comment| 15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 1, 2013
Loved it better than the first Cutting Edge! I saw this one first and then several days later, then the 1st one was on tv and I watched it. Brendan Fehr put more excitement into playing the part of the hockey player than the other guy. I thoroughly enjoyed the movie.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 19, 2015
This sequel to Cutting Edge: Chasing the Dream never thawed. There was absolutely no chemistry between the two main characters, unlike its predecessor which had Matt Lanter in the lead male role. Brendan Fehr could have skated on his head and still wouldn't have been able to build a bridge over troubled ice. The actual ice skating scenes were nice to watch regardless of who was doing the skating. But, in the end, this was basically a remake of the previous Cutting Edge minus any real story. Fehr was so deadpan that one didn't really care if he even made it to the final event on time. The producers of this series should have stopped while they were ahead. To paraphrase a more famous quote: "I think they went an ice skating rink too far." Even the background music to the ice skating had a "second fiddle" quality; and the whole was emotionally barren. There may have been plenty of ice but, to once again paraphrase a more famous quote, "Where's the fire?!"
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 7, 2011
For starters, this movie really heats it up compared to the others, so probably not a totally "family" movie. This movie is definitely better than the last two installments of The Cutting Edge run. I am an avid fan of the first movie, and this one parallels the first a lot more than the last two.

This is a simple, light-hearted, enjoyable skating movie, and is not meant to be deeply complex. I highly recommend to anyone just looking for a great movie! One diasppointing fact is that we have to see Miss Delgado's body over and over while she dones a sportsbra, the extra lbs. she put on from the last movie don't do the movie any justice, and fail to show what a real healthy, fit, and atheltic pairs competitor would look like. On a lighter note, it is definitely a plus that we are finally blessed with a decent-looking male lead. Sorry if that seems shallow, but the last two were way to immature for this role (in acting, physicality, and flair on the ice). Ow Ow!
11 comment| 17 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 27, 2013
I love sequels to movies, most of the time. I usually get a little leary when the number of the sequel starts to climb. Usually after the 3rd one, they have nailed the last nail in the coffin. However, I loved this one too. I love finding out what happens to characters after a movie ends.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 25, 2013
It was a pretty decent movie. I love figure skating and enjoyed that part of this movie. Of course having Brendan Fehr star in it helped a lot. I really love him. He was great in A Christmas Kiss. The story line in the movie moved at a pace that I liked. No dragging on and on scenes. The story had believability to it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 20, 2013
I enjoy these roughly started relationships built on need. ..and this doesn't disappoint. Lots of fun and beautiful skating. Maybe a bit of a chick flick but fun to share with the males in your life.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 27, 2015
Great movie. Although I was really bummed that she was the same girl from the last movie and 2 characters from previous cutting edge movies broke up with their men. Movies with happy endings should not be spoiled in sequels. Other than that I love Brendan Fehr and he did not disappoint in this movie. Aptly named Fire & Ice it's a great fiery and passionate love story.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 2, 2013
I CHOSE THE RATING BECAUSE IS IT A GOOD ENTERTAINING MOVIE AND I LIKE SKATING MOVIES NOT ALL OF THEM BUT SOME. I LIKE IT BECAUSE IT TELLS A STORY AND ABOUT LOVE AND SKATING. I WOULD RECOMMEND IT TO PEOPLE WHO LOVE TO SKATE AND ARE INTO MOVIES THAT MAKE THEM SMILE
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse