Industrial Deals Beauty Best Books of the Month STEM nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc PCB for Musical Instruments Starting at $39.99 Grocery Handmade Wedding Rustic Decor Home Gift Guide Off to College Home Gift Guide Book House Cleaning TheTick TheTick TheTick  Amazon Echo now $99.99 Limited-time offer: All-New Fire HD 8 Kids Edition, starting at $99.99 Kindle Paperwhite AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Tailgating STEMClubToys17_gno



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 32 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 35 reviews
on July 15, 2014
I really couldn't stand this book when I had to use it for an upper-level university class. To be fair, the authors seem to be extremely knowledgeable on the topic, but the presentation of the information, overall, was pretty lackluster.

The grammar was actually pretty bad/confusing in places, and I sometimes found myself reading sentences multiple times to try to understand what the authors were attempting to convey. The summaries at the end of each chapter were also pretty useless. Instead of discussing the important information and facts to take away from each chapter (e.g., describing the most important cyber laws discussed, the relevant events, etc.), the authors gave a superficial list of the topics contained in the chapter, without details (e.g. "we talked about this, and this, and then this"), making the summaries pretty useless if you wanted a refresher on the important information contained within the chapter after you've read it. The glossary was also pretty sparse, making it difficult to go back and find specific information.
0Comment| 15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 13, 2016
I have used this book twice as a text for my course, CSSS5130, "Cybersecurity Intelligence and Counterintelligence". This is part of the Master of Science in Cybersecurity at Webster University.

I like the book for several reasons:
1. It is inexpensive and compact.
2. It is very readable.
3. The material is well-organized.
4. It is *very* current.
5. It recounts numerous real-world events, giving specific information, to illustrate the concepts being presented.
6. It fills in technical background needed to understand the material without breaking the flow of the presentation.
7. It does not assume that the reader is a programmer or web developer; it is a book written for MIS people, SYSAdmins, Security folks (e.g., SISO's), and managers.
8. The material it presents is important and relevant to the modern security challenge.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 4, 2016
These guys really know their stuff, and this book is stuffed full of information, some of which you won't get anywhere else, but at the end of the day it is dry and occasionally pointless. They offer a good framework for understanding cyber offense and defense, and crucially, SHOW NON-ENGINEERS HOW TO GET STARTED AS HACKERS, which is brilliant But they spend half the book listing things like the different policies of various gov'ts and organizations, in language that is (necessarily) vague, and I would often read a chapter and ask myself what I actually learned. I would give the first 4-5 chapters 4 stars or more, but the whole book only earns a 3.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 17, 2016
I am going to keep this simple and short due to typing on my iPad. I work in the military and security field and I can say is spot on and is very enlightening. I have only read 20 pages and I can already tell this is a great book for any security professionals. May be difficult for new readers, but dedication to cyber security is the key to reading this book. Ignore the reviewer who bashed about spelling and etc; no issues that I see. (Background: CISSP, CCNP-S, CEH and CFHI)
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 23, 2015
Awesome guide and accessible to those with a passing or deeper knowledge if IT or INFOSEC. This book is a clearly written and comprehensive overview that was easy to read from cover-to-cover. While it won't make you an instant expert, it will "make you smart, fast" and has dozens of extremely valuable insights that often come at great expense if you have to learn them the old-fashioned way.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 19, 2017
This is a great book with a lot of information. It could use a good editing, though. Needs more commas!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 3, 2015
This is a good, solid treatise on many aspects of cyber warfare from a fairly high and non-technical level. Where the authors do delve in to the technical, they offer reasonably good explanations, although if you know it, it may seem clear when it's not! This book is not part of the Cyber Canon as blogged by Rick Howard (Palo Alto Networks), but he did tell me that the book was good, although he prefers Richard Clarke's--next on my list to read.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 22, 2016
Good book in decent shape with only a few signs of wear, highlighting, pen/ink.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 17, 2011
"Cyber Warfare: Techniques, Tactics and Tools for the Security Practitioners" is a consolidation of the current thinking around the topic of cyber warfare; not the way you hear about in the media where everything is a war of some kind (War on drugs, War on Terrorism, etc) but a discussion about what it means to conduct warfare via cyberspace. This is a tough topic because there are so many opinions about what Cyber Warfare is that you could literally spend an entire book just covering the definitions. The authors deftly avoid that trap and manage to provide a coherent line of thinking around Computer Network Operations even when these kinds of activities bump up against other cyber space dangers like Cyber Crime, Cyber Hactavism, Cyber Espionage and Cyber Terrorism. This is a primer; a one stop shop to get you up to speed on the topic if you are new to it or a refresher even if you have been enmeshed in it for years.
'
The authors, Steve Winterfield and Jason Andress, cover everything you will want to consider when thinking about how to use cyberspace to conduct warfare operations. The primary concepts have been bouncing around US military circles for over a decade but they have never been collected into one tome before. Clarke and Knake's book, "Cyber War: The Next Threat to National Security and What to Do about It," discusses how weak the US network defenses are and offers suggestions about how to improve. Carr's book, "Inside Cyber Warfare: Maping the Cyber Underworld," presents threat examples and nation state capabilities. Libicki's book, "Cyberdeterrence and Cybrewar," attacks cyberwar from a policy viewpoint and does not really address operational considerations. Stiennon's book, "Surviving Cyberwar," is a good place to start if you are new to the subject and is almost a prerequisite for this book.

Full Disclosure: One of the authors, Steve Winterfield, used to work for me when he and I were both in the US Army wrestling with all of these ideas right after 9/11. I ran the Army Computer Emergency Response Team (ACERT) and Steve ran the Army's Southern Regional CERT (RCERT South). He and I have been friends ever since and he even quoted me in one of the back chapters.

Although the content has been around for a while, it is striking how little the main concepts have changed. In a world where new innovations completely alter the popular culture every eighteen months, the idea that Cyber Warfare's operational principals remain static year after year is counter-intuitive. After reading through the various issues within though, you begin to understand the glacial pace. These difficult concepts spawn intractable problems and the authors do a good job of explaining them.

I do have a slight issue with the subtitle though: "Techniques, Tactics and Tools for the Security Practitioners." The way I read this book, the general purpose (GP) Security Practitioner will not find this book very useful except as background information. Aside from the chapters on Logical Weapons, Social Networking and Computer Network Defense, most of the material has to do with how a nation state, mostly the US, prepares to fight in cyber space. There is overlap for the GP security practitioner, but this material is covered in more detail in other books.

The book is illustrated. Some of the graphics are right out of military manuals and have that PowerPoint Ranger look about them. Some are screenshots of the various tools presented. Others are pictures of different equipment. One graphic stood out for me in the Cyberspace Challenges chapter (14). The graphic in question is a neat Venn Diagram that encapsulates all of the Cyber Warfare issues mentioned in the book, categorizes the complexity of each issue and shows where they overlap in terms of Policy, Processes, Organization, Tech, People and Skills. My only ding on the diagram is that in the same chapter, the authors discuss how much each issue might cost to overcome. It would have been very easy to represent that information on the Venn diagram and make it more complete.

One last observation about the graphics that I really liked is the author's use of "Tip" and "Note" boxes throughout the book. Scattered throughout the chapters are grayed-out text boxes that talk about some technology or procedure that is related to the chapter information but not directly. For example, in the Social Engineering chapter (7), the authors placed a "Note" describing the various Phishing forms. You do not need the information to understand the chapter but having it nearby provides the reader with a nice example to solidify the main arguments. The book is full of these examples.

The first three chapters are my favorites. Winterfield and Andress do a good job of wrapping their heads around entangled concepts like the definition of cyber warfare, the look of a cyber battle space and the current doctrine's ideas about cyber warfare from the perspective of various nations. It is fascinating.

In the middle of the book, the authors take on the task of describing the Computer Network Operations (CNO) Spectrum; a spectrum that ranges from the very passive form of Computer Network Defense (CND) through the more active forms of Computer Network Exploitation (CNE) and Computer Network Attack (CNA). It is indeed a spectrum too because the delineation between where CND, CNE and CNA start and stop is not always clean and precise. There is overlap. And somewhere along that same spectrum is where law enforcement organizations and counter-intelligence groups operate. You can get lost fairly quickly without a guide and the authors provide that function admirably. The only thing missing from these chapters is a nice diagram that encapsulates the concept.

Along the way the reader gets a nice primer on the legal issues surrounding Cyber Warfare, the ethics that apply, what it takes to be a cyber warrior and a small glimpse over the horizon about what the future of Cyber Warfare might bring. In the end, Winterfield and Andress get high marks for encapsulating this complex material into an easy-to-understand manual; a foundational document that most military cyber warriors should have at their fingertips and a book that should reside on the shelf of anybody interested in the topic.
0Comment| 20 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 15, 2013
This is a good book on cyber warfare policy. I must note, however, that I bought it because the descriptions and reviews led me to believe that it included material on cyber warfare technology. In fact, it does not. I am just making other technologists aware of this so they can make a more informed decision to buy it (or not). I liked the book, it just was not what I expected.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse