Industrial Deals Beauty Save up to 90% on textbooks STEM nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Starting at $39.99 Grocery Handmade Wedding Rustic Decor Home Gift Guide Off to College Home Gift Guide Book House Cleaning TheTick TheTick TheTick  Amazon Echo now $99.99 Limited-time offer: All-New Fire HD 8, starting at $59.99 Kindle Paperwhite Trade it in. Fund the next. Tailgating STEMClubToys17_gno

Customer reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
86
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:$12.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 63 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 86 reviews
on February 3, 2014
Hip Hop IS Alive! After growing up in the 90s when real hip hop thrived I began to lose interest in what I feared was a dying art. As garbage was flooding the market like drake, 50 cent, pitbull, flo rida, and lil wayne with lack luster repetitive lyrics and beats I found myself digging in the crates as apposed to expanding my collection. Czarface is the resurrection and proof that hip hop can never die. With witty fun lyrics and head nodding beats this is a must have for any fan of true hip hop.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 24, 2013
14 tracks with Deck (which Deck i wasn't sure) I'm a big Gza & Deck fan (why they don't have a cd together I'll never know). Gza hasn't let me down yet, Deck on the other hand (well you know).The very first track you know this is the Deck from the wu-tang cds with the best verses that crushes his clansmen and anybody else on the track with him. 7l's production and eso compliment Deck well (a fan of eso & 7l also)but just happy to see Deck is back with great production from 7l and eso (who i think knows how good Deck is and they can push each other to greatness which they did). Each verse on every track from Deck will make you jump out your seat like FINALLY! They play off each other like they were together for years and you can hear the work that went into every track (the i have no time to meet with you take these lyrics add a beat and ship it that goes on sometimes) This is a great hip hop cd hopefully czarface is the moniker they both go under and show up on other people cds together, and looking foreword to czarface2 and hopefully czarface and the assassin(dj muggs)
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 9, 2016
As a rap fan, a Wu Tang fan, and an Inspectah Deck fan, when I came across this CD on Amazon I hit pause. Inspectah Deck with a comic book twist (this in lieu of a kung-fu twist)? Count me in.

The CD does not disappoint. Rebel INS is on top of his game with lyrics tighter than a vice, newcomer Esoteric with a style somewhere between Capadonna and Streetlife and fresh catchy beats from 7L, this is a can't miss for rap fans. I can play the CD straight through without skipping a track - a rarity in any era and any genre. There is a follow-up album - is it anywhere near as good as the first?
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 7, 2013
So I've listened to this a good 10-15 times by now and from the first listen to the most recent listen it impresses. Inspectah Deck of the Wu-Tang Clan (the unsung hero of the greatest hip hop group of all time) teams with MC Esoteric of the supergroups Demigodz/Army of the Pharoahs for their third collaboration by my counting. Deck did guest spots on 7L & Esoteric's The Soul Purpose in the late '90s and again on 7L & Eso's 1212 from a couple years back. They always had a natural chemistry and it's only strengthened by the time of 2013's Czarface.

The entire album is produced by Esoteric's longtime collaborator 7L who delivers his best beats to date. You probably will want the instrumental album when you get a chance. The roster of guest MCs is nothing short of perfect with the likes of Ghostface Killah, Vinnie Paz, Mr. MFN Exquire, Cappadonna, Roc Marciano, and Action Bronson all fitting in perfectly.

Personally, Inspectah Deck's verses on 1993's Enter the Wu-Tang was a large part of why I ever became such a heavy listener of rap music. While other Wu-Tang Clan members have found success with solo albums, Deck has never had a non-Clan album that fully showcased his unlimited potential. Czarface is the Deck album I always knew he was capable of making. Hard boom bap rap, witty lyricism, melodic flows... and he's found his long lost brother in Esoteric (whose other albums are all worth buying right away). I cannot recommend this album enough. 5 out of 5 stars is an understatement.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 5, 2013
This is the direction I wish Hip-Hop was moving in... Czarface is a coherent album comprised of diverse tracks. 7L's production is on point with legitimately unique beats yet a consistent theme, while lyrically, Deck and Eso flow well together (to say the least). This makes Czarface easy to listen to from start to finish repeatedly without getting stale. I break it down like this...

First off, the production by 7L (and Premier on "Let it Off") is a strong foundation. The beats are all quality and there is a distinct flow throughout the album.

Next you have Deck. He consistently shines on every track and that alone makes this Czarface worth the purchase.

That leaves Esoteric. A little less consistent than Deck, and altough most tracks I'd say he takes a back seat to Deck, he matches or even outshines him on tracks like "Rock Beast" and "Marvel Team-Up".

The combination of the three feels like a perfect storm and the end result is a must have album for any hip-hop fan.

Summing it up: dope beats and tight lyrics from start to finish. These are my "need to buy" tracks...

3. Cement 3's
5. Rock Beast
6. Savagely Attack
7. Marvel Team-Up
9. Let It Off
12. Poisonous Thoughts

... And at that rate you may as well buy the whole album.

-GG
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 20, 2013
No throwaways. A coherent album you can play from start to finish. Production is on point. Deck and Esoteric complement each other nicely. Solid features that fit the songs and the album as a whole. Best Deck album since Uncontrolled Substance.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 8, 2013
good beats and good rhymes, what more can you want? cool cover too, i recommend the cd if you can wait for it to get delivered!
deck - he switches it up from the typical deck flow with great success. also adds some personality into his raps, more than usual, you can hear it in his voice.
esoteric - this dude can rap his butt off. hats off to him, he really surprised me on this one. everything rhymes with this dude, he's talented for sure at the technical aspect of flowing, very listenable
7L - doing his best rza impression here, the beats are very wu-ish. which is great! thumbs up for the production on this one

loved ghostface's verse, actually all the features were ill on this, pick this one up!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 16, 2017
Another good verbal assault from Deck and crew.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 28, 2013
I love the cd. I gave it four stars because I like to reserve five for the absolute best. I've been a long time wu-tang fan and also think that inspectah deck is one of the illest emcee's out there. This was great because I got to see him out of his main element and collaborating with a different artist. I had never heard of esoteric until I got this album, but after hearing it I would get another one of his albums in a second. This album is well worth the money and more.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 15, 2013
Inspectah Deck has long been one of the Wu-Tang Clan's greatest artist who struggled to find himself when creating solo albums. With this LP, he teams with the Boston Hip-Hop group 7L & Esoteric to create one of his most cohesive works in years. This album takes a trip through 90s esque beats with two MCs dropping verse that mix and match words with exquisite skill and comic book references. This a must have for hip-hop heads that enjoyed the 90s brand of Boom Bap.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse