Hill Climb Racing 2 Industrial Deals Beauty Best Books of the Month STEM nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc New Album by Big & Rich PCB for Musical Instruments Starting at $39.99 Grocery Handmade Tote Bags Home Gift Guide Off to College Home Gift Guide Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon BradsStatus BradsStatus BradsStatus  Introducing Echo Show Introducing All-New Fire HD 10 with Alexa hands-free $149.99 Kindle Oasis, unlike any Kindle you've ever held Tailgating FFII_gno

Format: Paperback|Change
Price:$12.66+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 162 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 252 reviews
on March 4, 2016
There are more then a few books detailing the Allied invasion in the pivotal battle of the 2nd world war. And there are none better than Anthony Beevor's. This is a masterful account that seeming leaves nothing out. The invasion from the opening glider and airborne attacks to the liberation of Paris is told with almost any major and many lesser known stories included. If you like this book as much as I did be sure to read his followup book on the Battle of the Bulge.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 9, 2016
Well researched and very detailed. Specific names, dates, and places with detailed maps. Well written. Beavor tells the story like he is speaking to me person to person. We went to Normandy and saw the battlefield.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 10, 2017
Really good read. Beever is a trustworthy and he's a good writer, two qualities that not all historians possess.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 25, 2011
Another excellent historical work by Anthony Beevor. It covers everything from the pre-event planning till just after the liberation of Paris. Like all Beevor book, it is easy to read and full of detailed information about the events and the people who played a part.

The book gives you a real sense of what it was like for both the common soldier and the commanders. It highlights the frictions experienced between different nationalities and different arms of the service. Importantly, it also conveys the highly successful, if not ultimately doomed, resistance of the German forces facing the largest invasion fleet in history.

It highlights the struggles and challenges the invaders faced that in many cases could only be overcome with the application of total air supremacy. This, however, does not detract from the amazing achievements of average soldier who successfully stormed Hitler's vaunted Fortress Europa and accelerated the end of Nazi Germany.

This book is a must read for war historians and those seeking to understand the momentous events of the 6th of June 1944.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 3, 2014
Beevor is quickly becoming one of my favorites! Having read the series of books on WWII by Stephen Ambrose, I couldn't imagine anyone else being able to bring the events to life the way he did. Antony Beevor does just that. Often times books about military history are dry treatments of strategy and outcomes. Beevor, like Ambrose, does an outstanding job of presenting the strategies and movements of units, but he does so as a backdrop for the personalities and people involved. This is the second of his books I've read, Stalingrad being the other, and I intended to continue reading his work. He is an outstanding historian who brings the subject to life!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 9, 2017
A fair, at times graphic treatment of the invasion that would bring a successful conclusion to, perhaps the deadliest war in history. The tenor of the author, in describing the personal destruction, loss of life and livelihood seemed to be focused on the side of the allies. Those losses would never have occurred were it not for the axis aggression. It is however a good read.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 14, 2009
Mr. Beevor brought it on himself. Having read Berlin, Stalingrad, The Battle for Spain, and Paris After the Liberation, I had extremely high expectations for D-Day because his previous efforts were just so damned good. I am happy to report he has done especially well here given the fact that the subject has been covered so many times before. Beevor's style of writing is a great mix of on-the-ground narrative, big picture strategy, and requisite facts and figures. The result is always compelling, convincing, and entertaining which is no small feat when writing history.

This treatment of D-Day is the most logical as it spans from preparation of the invasion to the liberation of Paris. June 6th itself will always be an incredible day in history but including the bocage fighting, the breakout, and entering Paris provides greater context and understanding to D-Day overall. I read The Longest Day about thirty years ago and approximately twenty other books on D-Day since and believe that Beevor's is the most holistic and balanced especially his insights into German strategy and response.

As a proud Canadian, I appreciated his treatment of the Canadian contribution. Many of the histories have given the subject short shrift. The 'what-ifs' Beevor explores regarding the taking of Caen breaks new ground. Obviously mistakes were made and his new theories are incredibly interesting and valuable for the debate. I also appreciated the photographs included because many I had not seen before. And facts like most allied tanks were knocked out by artillery and close order anti-tank weapons rather than the vaunted and feared Tigers and Panthers add more texture and insight.

I highly recommend this work along with his others mentioned at the top of the review.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 4, 2017
Excellent depiction of the invasion of europe.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 31, 2014
Superbly written book! I first read it as a hard back some years ago, but wanted a copy to travel with me as I was touring the D-Day beaches. Interestingly in the Museum of Caen, where we went for our guided tour, it was the major book in the museum bookshop, and both of our guides (French, incidentally) had read it and spoke of the interesting and readable style, and interesting anecdotes. Need I say more?

I would regard it as "required reading" for any student of the Battle for Normandy
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 26, 2016
Beevor's books are outstanding. His recount of the invasion is accurate and easy to read. Some of the D-Day/Bulge/Stalingrad/etc. books are rather clinical and dry. Beevor's style has panache and actually reads like a book, not a dry historical recount.

I enjoy his work and recommend it to anyone who enjoys reading about WW2.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse