Amazon.com: Customer Reviews: The Original Stomp Rocket: Ultra 4-Rocket Kit (20008)
Amazon Vehicles Up to 80 Percent Off Textbooks Amazon Fashion Learn more nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc $5 Albums Fire TV Stick Health, Household and Grocery Back to School Totes Summer-Event-Garden Amazon Cash Back Offer TheKicks TheKicks TheKicks  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Starting at $49.99 All-New Kindle Oasis AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Shop Now

Price:$18.00+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

VINE VOICEon January 12, 2009
Prior to purchasing, I searched all over to try and figure out the difference between the Ultra Stomp Rocket and the Junior Stomp Rocket Kit. Both products list for a similar price. The Junior version advertises that rockets will soar up to 100 feet in the air and the Ultra version lists a slightly higher height of up to 200 feet. But the age ranges for the 2 products are substantially different with the Junior Stomp Rocket recommending ages 3-8 and the Ultra Stomp Rocket recommending ages 8+.

For my 4yo son, we started with the Junior Stomp Rocket. He LOVES it! When/If going outside is not possible, he holds the stomp pad under his arm and points the rocket and shoots the missiles around the house. Because the rockets are all foam, they do not do any damage to walls, furniture, (or mom and dad, thankfully). When outside, my son literally plays with this toy for hours, adjusting and playing around with how hard you need to stomp to get the rocket to go really high.

Both the Ultra and the Junior Stomp Rocket kits come with a plastic rectangular "stomp pad" connected to a flexible tube. The end of the tube connects to one of the plastic/foam rockets (4 are includeded in each kit). There is a small plastic stand that you can put together to use as a launch base. Snap the plastic tube onto the base and stomp on the pad. Air is shot through the tube and propels the foam rocket up into the air.

We now have both the Ultra and the Junior Stomp Rocket kits and the only real difference I found is in the size and shape of the rocket missiles. The Ultra Stomp Rocket missiles are larger in size and shape. They have a plastic shaft with small plastic fins on the bottom and a large foam head. The junior stomp rocket missiles are smaller and made entirely of foam. Other than that, the launching equipment for both are exactly the same.

Refill Rockets for both the Junior and Ultra models come in varying colors and sell (at least on Amazon) for under $[...].

Whether you buy the Ultra Stomp Rocket (listed here) or it's sister product Junior Stomp Rocket, you will be getting a fantastic toy! This toy is so simple - no assembly required, no batteries, just easy to use and loads of fun!

I do have a slight preference in favor of the Junior Stomp Rocket, only because I like the missiles that are all foam if you are going to be using the toy inside. Also, the junior version has glow in the dark refill rockets. Really cool for night time use Junior Stomp Rocket Toy Glow in the Dark Refills. For some reason, you can only get the glow in the dark refills in the "junior" size.
2929 comments| 1,551 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 7, 2007
I don't think I've ever found a better toy. It's my birthday gift staple for ages 5 to 11, boys and girls. It is simplicity at it's best. It's easy to assemble. Just pull it out of the box, go outside, put a rocket on the launcher and jump on the launcher. Of course, everyone's got to try to catch the rocket when it falls - and no one can resist the desire to make it go higher! Some sets have rockets that whistle or twist. All rockets have a soft foam head, so no one gets hurt.

The rockets are fragile, but it's easy to get refills.
0Comment| 145 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 9, 2006
Bought this for my 2 year old as a way to spark interest in rockets. He loves jumping on it and watching the rockets cruise through the air. He has no problem loading them or firing them. He also likes watching the bigger kids (like dad) launch them also. It seems to be made well and hasnt fallen apart on us yet. A good way to blow off some steam after work and play with your kid.
0Comment| 88 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 23, 2008
Really fun toy! The plastic rockets break easily though. I prefer the foam rockets that come with the original Stomp Rocket instead.
0Comment| 29 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 28, 2012
If you going to buy this toy I recommend buy extra rocket, because the fin and the rocket itself will torn in few used especially on hard surface like driveway.
0Comment| 19 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 3, 2010
Fun toy, the kids love it but you should buy extra rockets as they don't last too long.
0Comment| 23 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 14, 2011
On the fun scale, this is a 10 out of 5. The kids love it.

Don't let the age recommendation fool you, when we bought our first one (I'll get to that later), my son was 3 and loved it. He had no problem jumping on the pump with 2 feet and getting a good launch.

The base of the product is a bit of a pain. It doesn't stand up on it's own very well, and I like to secure it to my lawn with a few landscape stakes.

The wing nut that holds the launcher up is also annoying as it's constantly loosening and the launcher keeps falling to a lower angle. I recently took the advice of another reviewer and tied a rubber band around the launcher and the base to help hold the launcher in place. It's works well.

The biggest issue I have with this product is the quality of the rockets. They are VERY flimsy. The tubes are very thin and easily breakable and the fins at the bottom are also very thin and not secured well to the tube. After a year of occasional use, our first stomp rocket had no useable rockets left, so we had to get another one.

If this was more expensive I'd have a big problem with the quality of the rockets, but given the low price, I had no reservations about just buying a new one.
11 comment| 34 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 4, 2015
The boys loved it, But it was pretty short lived. My nephews loved the stomp rockets, but they were not long lived. The plastic shafts the rockets were attached to were very easily cracked. also, the stand that comes with it is very flimsy. usually one nephew would lay on the ground holding the rocket upward while I or another nephew would stomp.

This is a great toy, but it could be improved. The shafts of the rocket need work, and I Think the bladder that you stomp could be bigger. The thing that the company can't solve is that the kids know the adults can make it go higher, and will relentlessly ask for you to stomp on it. know that before you buy it.

I gave it 4 stars because of how much fun it is, and for the fact that it gets kids outdoors. I give it 3 stars for durability.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 2, 2016
Christmas present for 8 yr old grandson. Played with several times for the week they were here after Christmas.
Very good for 10-15 minutes of fun at a time. See who can stomp the highest, or try to land in a target, etc. Worked well overall, but it does work better if someone holds the base as the other stomps on the pouch. Highest flight from adult stomp went about 45-60 feet high. Grandson (8) about 20-25 feet high. Plenty of height and short time fun. Satisfied and grandson happy!
Hopefully this helps as a review
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 9, 2015
The kids love it, but with in the first 20 minutes of use one of the rockets broke. The foam head popped off and will need to be glued back on. Very cheaply made product all around. I will be surprised if this lasts more than a week of low use.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.
See all 31 answered questions


Need customer service? Click here