Beauty Kindle 10th Anniversary Hallo nav_sap_hiltonhonors_launch Learn more about Amazon Music Unlimited PCB for Musical Instruments $69.99 Grocery Handmade Gift Shop hgg17 Save $30 on a Deep Cleaning Appointment The Walking Dead season 8 available to buy The Walking Dead season 8 available to buy The Walking Dead season 8 available to buy  Three new members of the Echo family All-New Fire HD 8 Kids Edition, starting at $129.99 Kindle Paperwhite Shop Now HTL17_gno

Customer reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars
63
The D Programming Language
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:$35.61+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


on August 12, 2017
This book is good for learning D. But it does an even better job at introducing peripheral topics in computer science, how these topics have been handled, how D approaches it, and why this is a good design choice. I started learning D with Ali's book "Programming in D", the text is updated, free and what you would expect from a programming language introductory text. It is nothing like TDPL. I think that skimming Ali's book is important so that you are familiar with the language itself. TDPL, however, is so much more. Andrei builds intuition for computer science. You don't just learn the syntax for an object constructor, you learn the steps that D takes to yield a constructed object. He tells you that objects can be alternatively constructed with a string via Object factory--doesn't secondary syntax belong in the documentation? waste of time I thought--but Andrei proceeds to tell and show you how this is seriously preferable for maintainability. He succeeds in making language design accessible and leveraging those insights to make syntax meaningful.

Andrei likes to tout D's expressive power, lots of productivity with few lines of code. This is a fitting description for TDPL as well. TDPL promises its title but delivers much more.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 10, 2015
This is a great introduction to D if you already know another programming language. D looks like the kind of language I have been looking for all those years I have worked with Java. Low level features and control, but with lots of high level abstractions too. Every time a design choice had to be made, D seem to have made a good default decision - while often giving you the option to do something else too. I can't wait to start programming in D !
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 5, 2015
Thanks
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 22, 2015
Excellent book! It is not only very precise and descriptive on its subject, but also features colourful language and humour at the same time. It has a lot of examples. They have a few errors. but not enough to be a nuisance (and the ones I noticed are of sort the compiler cannot catch, so the writer hasn't been slacking here). If this book explained the standard library Phobos comprehensively, like the language itself, it would be even better. But considering it's documentation online it's not something you cannot do without.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 23, 2015
I bought this book 5 years after it was published but please note I was not interested in learning D language as D developer, I was interested how it was designed and why this or that way.

Andrei Alexandrescu has a gift -- not only he is a knowledgeable person, but he also knows how to write technical book. The reading was a pleasure, and it makes review only harder to write. I cannot spot a single flaw with this book -- the order of the material is as it should be, there is high signal to noise ratio, there is no presentation of any framework that is outdated in a month after it was published (unlike "Programming in Scala" for example), every piece of info is given in a way the reader has to understand it, there is a lot of explanations **why** given feature was designed the way it was, there is also a touch of light humour from time to time, but far from juvenile jokes.

What is there not to like? Of course, with my personal attitude I wish there would be more "why's" but I am not intended audience. No matter what your favourite language is, this book is a feast.

And one more thing, technically the book is published for developers -- I mean it! It is too many times overlooked issue that the code is not a text, that it should be made distinct in some way (here the background is grayed out), that highlighting should be preserved (here all keywords are in bold), that the font for the code should be monospaced (it is).

So in short, a book for developers (in all dimensions), written by developer who knows how to pass the knowledge in precise and light manner. Now... where is the second edition?! :-)
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 20, 2015
This is the best book on D. Andrei does a fantastic job telling not only what D is, but more importantly, the reasoning behind lots of trade offs. To really enjoy this book, it's better if the reader understand some other programming languages already and in general is curious of various different programming paradigms. After all, D is a multiple paradigm language.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 1, 2015
This is a brilliant book, not just for those looking to learn about D. There is a lot of good tidbits to pick up that are language agnostic. I just wish there were a more recent version as I know D has grown much in the last four years.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 31, 2014
I've always personally thought of 'D' as a curio language, a language that
never took off; filling the gap at a time when C++ was established, but the
rise of scripting languages were becoming popular. From reading
Alexandrescu's book, it's clear that from the examples given, D is a
slightly more compact form of C++, whilst being as expressive as some of the
scripting languages available (such as python).

The book is well-ordered; one nice thing about this book compared to a lot
of others (of programming books in general), is that not a lot of time is
spent explaining ancillary concepts which are better left to other books
(such as mathematical operators). Instead, Alexandrescu has kept those
things short, favouring to explain how D interprets these things. This is
refreshing, and coming from other languages such as C/C++ allows for greater
understanding of how this language should be used.

Alexandrescu does a very good job at balancing programming concepts against
the language itself, along with useful examples that aren't just rehashing
the standard ones. He is a good author in my opinion, at explaining the
different concepts that D has to offer without labouring the point. A very
enjoyable read, and drawing on parallels with other languages puts D into a
league of its own.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 31, 2014
Excellent guide to the D language. Well, a "D" programming language, as (confusingly) there are a few with that name. Although D has not taken off as I'd have expected, it's a good, solid language to learn. The D Programming Language isn't going to revolutionize programming, but it will get people using D well, which is the point of such a book.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 22, 2014
As a C++ programmer, I found this book fairly great. They explain why this language exist and what we can do with. They are going right to the main point, without being bloated with loads of not so useful paragraph. However, it's not for beginners. Before reading this book, you should know the basics ( what is a foreach, what are templates and what are classes ) in order to understand what they are taking about. Maybe having some tutorial about the D lang on the side can help along the read, because I felt like they skipped explaining how the syntax of the language worked. Should be for intermediate programmers who don't want to deal with the complexity of pointers and memory management and be pleased with a beautiful syntax.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse