Lyft Industrial Deals Beauty Best Books of the Month Shop new men's suiting nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc New Album by Josh Ritter Get 10% cashback on thousands of musical instruments with your Amazon.com Store Credit Card Starting at $39.99 Grocery Handmade Tote Bags Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon Fall TV Binge-worthy season premieres are here Fall TV Binge-worthy season premieres are here Fall TV Binge-worthy season premieres are here  Introducing Echo Show Introducing All-New Fire HD 10 with Alexa hands-free $149.99 Kindle Oasis, unlike any Kindle you've ever held Shop Now PSFF17_gno

Format: Paperback|Change
Price:$28.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 27 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 72 reviews
on May 11, 2013
DNS is one of those concepts that is almost kept in mystery in the tech world. The knowledge seems to be passed by word of mouth, and there doesn't seem to be one good repository to go to as an information source. That is not to say that this book is all inclusive, no book can contain every piece of knowledge you need/desire, especially on such a complex topic. This book however does a phenomenal job of demystifying the subject and giving a good, practical understanding of how DNS and BIND work.

I would highly recommend this book to anyone, whether it be the new network/sys admin who has just had complex networking needs dropped on his lap, or even the seasoned network admin who needs a good convenient reference on occasion.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 6, 2015
If you manage a bind instance, this book is indispensable. There are a number of clear examples of the configuration files, along with insightful and helpful hints that will help keep you out of trouble. Given how easy it is to screw your environment to the floor by messing up these files, you really need this book if you manage bind.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 31, 2015
Overall it was an OK book. I am already "competent" with DNS, specifically the BIND9 implementation but I got the book as reference material since the official documentation is a little sparse. The fifth edition (not sure about the others) even covers, albeit a little too briefly, how to deal with reverse lookup zones with subnet masks that do not fall on octet boundaries.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 6, 2014
The encyclopedia of DNS books, meaning thicker than a phone book.

I like the fact that this book is thick but so easy to read and follow along with. If you know nothing about DNS, this book makes it easy to learn about DNS. It starts with the history of DNS and then explains the hierarchy of the DNS tree. A must read if you want to improve your understanding of the internet and what happens under the hood for name resolution.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 26, 2017
Excellent book. A must-have for all network programmers.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 11, 2011
This is the most complete and must-have DNS book i've ever seen before. Nor only prepares you to understand every basic and some advanced issues about DNS, it also shows a lot of "tricks" with the most powerfull and well know - famous DNS implementation!: BIND.

If you are a beginner in the DNS world, this is a good step towards become an expert, if you're already an expert this guide will surely show you a lot of useful information in your daily DNS administration problems.

Definitely, this was one of my best investments on my way to become a site administrator.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 6, 2012
Very informative and easy to follow with excellent examples. If you don't understand DNS or need to understand BIND a bit more - this is definitely the book that will spin you up fast and easily.

I debated between purchasing from Amazon or DRM Free from the publisher but went with Amazon because of how easy it is to read kindle store books from any IP device these days.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 8, 2015
Excelent. I would not have been able to set up bind without it. Other books had pieces here and there. This book had an example that was easy to follow.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 31, 2016
Cricket is awesome.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 22, 2011
Networks have always been a mystery to me. While I have long had a rudimentary understanding, the nuances of networking remained a mystery until I found this book. Cricket unveils the secrets I needed to know to perform my job better and add the value that my customers demand.

Thanks for making DNS and BIND so easy to understand!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse