Shop Auto Winter Products Beauty Best Books of the Year Black Friday Deals Week nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Listen for a chance to win Electronics Gift Guide Starting at $39.99 Grocery Handmade Gift Shop STEM Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon Early Black Friday deals: save 40% or more on Amazon Video Early Black Friday deals: save 40% or more on Amazon Video Early Black Friday deals: save 40% or more on Amazon Video  Three new members of the Echo family Save $50 on All-New Fire HD 10. Limited-time offer. $30 off Kindle Paperwhite Trade in. Get paid. Go shopping. Shop Now HTL17_gno



on March 23, 2015
From the director of The Transporter, comes "The best movie adaptation of a video game so far" as said by Matthew Turner from View London. Sci-Fi Movie Page says "It's one martial arts action sequence after the other". Filled with non-stop action, martial arts, and SEXY women, this is a movie about a group of highly skilled fighters of a wide variety of fighting styles coming to an island for a chance to become the world champion. The leader of the group is played by Jaime Pressly(My Name is Earl) who plays a female pro wrestler similar to Trish Stratus(former WWE Women's Champion). Her dad is played by Kevin "Diesel" Nash who looks and dresses like Hulk Hogan in this movie. Her second in command is played by Devon Aoki(Sin City) who plays a female Ninja. However, their host has sinister plans for all of them as they soon find out. Other well known castmembers include Holly Valance, Sarah Carter, Eric Roberts, Natassia Malthe(Skinwalkers, Bloodrayne 2), Matthew Marsden, Steve Howey, Brian White, and Kane Kosugi(the family name is synonymous with Ninjitsu). This is a VERY exciting movie full of action! This film is VERYsimilar to the Mortal Kombat movie series in every way except for one: this film is CLEARLY a guilty pleasure in the "hottie" department. Jaime Pressly is smokin' HOT, as always in this film! Combine Charlie's Angels with Mortal Kombat and you have this movie understood. Enjoy the show!
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 7, 2014
A GREAT Video Game-to-Film adaptation that should serve as an example to other film makers on how to make a Live Action film based on a video game! The plot is sufficient and the stars and action sequences are impeccable in its similarity to the actual game! If you're a fan of the Dead or Alive Game Series, you should also add this one to your collection. If you're not familiar with the series, but do enjoy a light-hearted action film with a sprinkle of comedic moments while not sacrificing the seriousness of the plot itself, this should also please you, as well! 😎

I also love the fact that the 'violence' isn't the least bit graphic. No blood shed at all, and a very fun film! 😄
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 29, 2016
If you have the mindset, hilariously campy and fun. Reminds me of what I thought was gripping entertainment many decades ago. Just mindless fun and a lot of sexy talented babes. Hard to call it non-sexist, but on the other hand, some seriously empowered female heros...who just happen to have very classy chassis.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 25, 2011
I don't recall this movie being out at the movie theatres. The story was ridiculous. But the action was very entertaining. Jaime Pressly and Holly Valence were certainly the right actresses for their roles. I say that not just because they are attractive. These roles seemed very physically and mentally demanding. They have the fitness to be able to rise to the challenge. What is more important is that they were able to lend to the movie's characters their own personal charisma. That made what was an absolutely awful story very entertaining to watch unfold.

While the story was great, I have to applaud the cast. Their acting skills, physical abilities, and charisma made the movie entertaining.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 10, 2015
wow the best video game movie, watching this made me reminisce sssooo hard! about classic D.O.A. games. the casting for characters is thee most accurate in this movie adaptation of D.O.A. and generally all video game movies which actually makes up for the "not so great" storyline (still watchable though) overall i recommend to all D.O.A. fans.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 9, 2017
Love love love doa series, have all the games, all the real costumes, all 1 of each pvc doll, and this movie was completely Amaaaaazing! Love Kasumi the most in the game, Helena the most in the movie, ok it was because I just like Sarah Carter, you got me. However was a bit disappointed by Kasumi especially actor, Devon Aoki, I felt wasn't the right Kunoichi for the job, she acted it well, but to me with what I know, Kasumi was um lol chunkier, lol chest, legs and body wide, the character was acted well but could have been played better by someone who had the physic to play her.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 7, 2013
This was a great buy!! I bought this movie because I love the dead or alive game series, most of the actresses that were chosen for the roles in this movie, pull off the character very well. I have watched this movie soo many times since buying it!
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
I know the movie is based on a video game, but that usually isn't a good sign for a film. But not only did this have good action scenes, but also pretty good characterization and quality acting - at least one that is fitting for this type of film. Not that the movie is realistic, but my only gripe would be the suspension of belief required for the escape scene.

The movie focuses on four women, and a couple of men who tag along to some undiscovered East Asian island for a fight tournament that has been taking place annually for 21 years. The winner to get 10 million dollars (US dollars, HK dollars, we don't know.

Three of the women, played by Jaime Pressley, Holly Valance, Devon Aoki become friends. Sarah Carter plays the daughter of the man who sponsored the tournament until his untimely death preceding this current one. The current organizer, played by Eric Roberts, turns out to have some devious ideas.

Each of the women have ulterior motives. Jaimie Pressly plays a women's wrestler and daughter of another wrestler played by Kevin Nash (also invited to the tournament). She needs to prove to herself that she is also a warrior despite professional wrestling's reputation as a fake sport. Holly Valance plays a thief who is there to steal the $100 million in the vault, Devon Aoki plays a ninja clan princess there to find her brother who had disappeared at the previous year's tournament - she is being chased by Natassia Malthe, who is sent to assassinate her for leaving the clan. Meanwhile, she is being guarded by Kane Kosugi (who was also invited to the tournament).

Each actress is into character and does a good job displaying the motivations behind her character. There is a good chemistry between the actresses on screen, and it's very believable that they become friends despite being rivals. And the chemistry is there among all the cast, between Valance and Matthew Marsden, who plays Valance's partner in crime and romance, and Aoki and Kosugi, who share an unsaid fondness for each other. The action scenes are fun and varied, some ranging from the comdedic Jackie Chan style and some straight-forward fights. Male viewers get a bonus of eye candy, escpecially with the women's beach volleyball scene.

The dvd extras deserve special mention with the cast interviews, which complement the film very well. Of course, this is B movie, but one that stands out - not only does it do action well, but characters I cared for, good characterization, good acting all-around anc good direction.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 9, 2016
LOVE this movie.. Cheesy but totally AWESOME!!.. Some of the fighting is top quality with a very cool look. Great action and beautiful ladies.. Loved the games.. Love this movie!!!.. If you are a DOA fan you should probably see it...
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 25, 2015
I'm a complete sucker for cheesy action flicks, featuring hot chicks kicking but. Martial arts, beautiful women, fun fights what more can a girl ask for? Girl power all the way. For those of you who liked Naked Weapon, Nikita, and Kill Bill this is probably up your ally.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse


Need customer service? Click here