Amazon Vehicles Beauty STEM nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Starting at $39.99 Wickedly Prime Handmade Wedding Shop Shop Popular Services masterpiece masterpiece masterpiece  Introducing Echo Show All-New Fire HD 8, starting at $79.99 Kindle Oasis AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Shop Now Ellen

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 22 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 51 reviews
on June 12, 2015
This was a well written book that every dad needs to read. Taking a tongue-in-cheek humorous and witty look at fatherhood from preparing for your first child until that child is in the 3rd or 4th grade, Robert Wilder hits the nail on the head. My kids are in middle and high school, so I had the benefit of 20/20 hindsight. He would give examples of incidents in his life with his wife and kids, and all I could do was laugh out loud and nod my head in agreement. If he wasn't talking about something that I went through, he was talking about something friends of mine have gone through. Every guy who is a family man will relate to this book. It is funny book that most guys (and moms, too) can relate to. It is a good read.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 17, 2014
I really enjoyed this book, cover to cover. You know how it feels when you try to relate an amusing incident in your life and no one laughs? It's an "I guess you had to be there" moment. Robert Wilder knows how to tell it so you feel as if you WERE there. You can tell what a devoted dad he is and can relate to a lot of what he's experienced as a parent. He helps you realize the importance of humor in day to day life. I hated for this book to end.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 17, 2014
I purchased this book for a cousin who will be a father of twins in April of 2015. With that being said, I haven't read the book but I've flipped through it and it seems to be pretty entertaining. However the book I received had many small ink stains on the cover, which is disappointing but nothing to get angry about. Overall I'm satisfied with my purchase, just could go without the damaged cover.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 2, 2006
I once wrote a book myself about raising my son-but my funnybone has always been tiny. Rob Wilder's is the size of a ham hock, and he had me laughing from the first chapter to the last.

In the mundane world of heedless and demanding children, Wilder serves himself up as a churlish "Johnny Wiseass," quick to make fun of himself and everyone else. But he can be tender as well, a "slightly overweight white guy," vying for both Father of the Year and his seven-year-old daughter's eternal love. Preparing for an appearance at her elementary school in a ridiculous snowman suit, he imagines how, after passing out the candy canes, he would pop the hood and surprise his daughter, who would "declare her love to me now, next year, and even when I followed her in our minivan on dates."

It's a big circus, and everyone gets a turn. "My father," Wilder writes, "was from the `move on' school of emotional counselling. Something hurts, you feel pain, and then you either cut that part off (even if it's your heart) or ignore it and move forward."

Better duck, because here comes his wife, Lala. Out on a family expedition to buy a servicable refrigerator, she spies Rob caressing an elaborate outdoor grill. The author is lost, dreaming of the fish and game he could cook on this sumptuous appliance, when suddenly Lala appears at his side. "Step away from that grill," she says.

In the midst of a group of early-elementary school parents, when a woman makes a tart remark about his daughter's cuteness-"Well, Poppy is famous around here"-Rob turns to the group and says, "It's true. She is cute. Now if she'd only give up smoking." The woman laughs politely, uneasily, "her mouth pinched like a pickled octopus's ass."

I loved this book. The life we lead with kids is so draining and uncool that Wilder's sendups are always a delight. He mocks with a feathery touch or a sharp stab, but on every page he wins us over-because it's always clear how in love he is with his family.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 21, 2013
I had been stranded for hours in an airport without my usual just-in-case-novel. I picked this up at the airport bookstore. Not only did it save me from boredom, it had me in stitches.
After I enjoyed it, I gave it to my son. I intend to buy another for my other son.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 5, 2015
I love this book so much, I let someone borrow it and they never gave it back. I had to buy a second copy.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 13, 2006
I picked up a copy of the ARC in the used bookstore, on a whim. I liked the title, knowing nothing more.

In short, this book is brilliant. Family stories from the perspective of an father. The stories ring true to anyone who has kids or has known young children, or wants to know about the dilemmas, trial and tribulations men face. Wilder (who I never heard of before picking up the copy) also has a wonderful way with words, analgies and humor. He's a great writer and storyteller. I found myself laughing out loud and smiling throughout most of these episodes. I'd be surprised if we don't this made into a major motion picture soon.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 8, 2009
This is a genuinely funny book - and my no means "pornography" as someone else's review claims. It was created from a compilation of the author's newspaper columns, and unfortunately that shows. There is some repetition which is a bit distracting and could have been edited out. But a good read, ideal for vacations and dads on the beach!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 10, 2014
Prompt delivery. The paperback was in perfect condition as advertised. I was happy and impressed.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 10, 2006
It really has been a while since I have laughed until the tears were coming out. I appreciate his excellent writing. I think the author is sharing his own experiences in a way that make them seem both ordinary and extraordinary at the same time. He writes in a way that makes you think about your own life, and how you can be more aware.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse