Luxury Beauty Killers of the Flower moon STEM nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Starting at $39.99 Wickedly Prime Handmade Mother's Day Gifts hgg17 Book House Cleaning Catastrophe Catastrophe Catastrophe  Introducing Echo Look Starting at $89.99 Kindle Oasis National Bike Month on Amazon disgotg_gno_17

Customer Reviews

3.9 out of 5 stars
24
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:$3.00+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 13 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 24 reviews
on March 17, 2016
Reading this for a class, I at first found the story a bit boring. As it developed, though, I began to really enjoy the author's writing style. He is Henry James, after all. Modern readers will find little excitement and not much going on, but for a simple novella it was a wonderful piece that briefly explores the difference between American and European courtship of that era.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 31, 2014
The book came in the estimated delivery date. The book was in excellent condition. I really enjoy the story. This edition of the story is just that, there are no footnotes or really any extra details to help the reader. I have seen an edition that had footnotes, and I wished this one did. Either way, it is a great short story and well worth the read.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 9, 2015
It is a much shorter version of The House of Mirth, but has better scene/character description. Sad. It shows the struggles and expectations of women and the society they live in.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 27, 2015
This book was very intriguing, fast paced, and has a vast vocabulary. Overall I appreciated the text and the organization in which it was written.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 19, 2016
another great work from one of my favorite authors. too short however.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 14, 2015
Absolutely beautiful tragedy. I don't want to spoil it, but I wish Winterbourne had seen the signs Daisy was giving him!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 22, 2016
Pure Henry James
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 10, 2013
Great short book! Interesting and it keeps you guessing. The story line was full of twists and the plot wasn't what someone would expect!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 8, 2013
Not the best of Henry James, but a good experimental novella, especially for prople in literature workshops. Some of the premises will be followed in later works.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 27, 2015
Lives without purpose pay the price.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse