Industrial Deals Beauty Summer Reading STEM nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Starting at $39.99 Wickedly Prime Handmade Wedding Shop Book House Cleaning Paterson Paterson Paterson  Introducing Echo Show All-New Fire 7 Kids Edition, starting at $99.99 Kindle Oasis Assassins Shop Now STEMClub17_gno

Format: DVD|Change
Price:$19.13+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 106 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 112 reviews
on February 9, 2014
The early part of the season was funny when JR went to jail and Cally moves in at Southfork before the official Southfork wedding. A lot of these scenes were laugh outloud funny.
This was Linda Gray's last season on Dallas and I could never really accept Cally as his wife. No one could replace Sue Ellen. JR and Sue Ellen were just a great couple to watch!
Never got into the trips abroad in this season or later seasons.
Linda Gray directed an episode at the end of the season which was spectacular with the ball room dancing and the lovemaking scene with Bobby and April was so artfully done.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon January 31, 2010
Season 12 of 'Dallas' was by far a vast improvement over the past few seasons (at least the ones released on DVD). Ever since the notorious "dream" season, it felt like the show had lost its footing. There was too much time and energy devoted to trying to make-up for the wasted season, too much character development lost and simply jumbled and confused, too much attention given to a few weak characters (Jenna Wade and her daughter Charlie, to be exact). From the first episode of the season, it felt like the show and its producers had wiped the slate clean and gone back to the show's glory days. There was suspense and action from the first scenes of the show; returning faces like Afton Cooper; new ones like the complex character of Carter McKay. In all, up until perhaps the last episode of the season, this was by far the best paced, best written season since the pre-dream one.

The Good: Certain things worked well. There was the feeling that the producers knew some characters had run their course and finally they did their best to write out those characters, and plots, that really tended to bring the show down. Jenna Wade (played by Priscilla Presley) is out; so is her daughter Charlie and, for the most part, Ray Krebs. Yes, Ray appears in what can be called a guest appearance early on in the season; but then he's effectively given a send-off and we only hear of him by name. Lucy Ewing-Cooper, who returned at the end of last season, returns full-time to the cast. Her cynical quips and strong dislike for J.R. made the show feel like it did in its early days. There was also the departure of some lesser known characters like J.R.'s police department contact who moves on from helping J.R. and his illegal plotting to be replaced by someone new; the Ewing's lawyer, who seems to have a plot or role that requires him to be the surrogate father-protector of the Ewing's interest also makes an appearance. There was also some great character moments that finally brought about some much needed changes to the show; after seasons of fighting and threats, Sue Ellen finally sets out on her own and decides to give J.R. a dose of his own medicine. In many ways, the season served as a swan song and send-off for Linda Gray and the Sue Ellen character. It was nice to see her finally out on her own, not threatened by J.R. Cliff Barnes also moves on plot wise from always setting out to destroy Ewing Oil to actually working with Bobby and J.R.! He's also given a new love interest and a plot that will spill over into the next season involving a returning old character, Afton Cooper. The show's nemesis Jeremy Wendell is finally written out in an interesting plot that involves both J.R. and Sue Ellen and the entire Southfork clan. A new nemesis, Carter McKay, is introduced but unlike past 'Dallas' bad guys, this guy actually his complex, has a heart and isn't entirely bad nor without motive. In all, the characters were the best part of season 12; they all interact, mingle, have scenes with one another and the usual 'fight for Ewing Oil' plot is put on a back burner.

The Bad: There isn't much to complain about with season 12. Some may feel on the fence about the new character of Cally, J.R.'s new love interest. While it was refreshing that she wasn't one-sided or as greedy and power hungry as J.R.'s past love interests, she did feel a bit too 'different' and as if the producers tried a bit hard to make her a true outsider to the whole 'Dallas' cast and characters. I didn't buy into their relationship; it was hard for me to, within the span of a few episodes, understand why J.R. would take a liking to her and want to stay married to her when she, at times, did things or asked of him things that Sue Ellen would or has over the past few seasons. Is it old age, her young age? I don't know but I look forward to seeing how her character is fleshed out because right now it just seems as if she was made to be a more naive, younger, foolish version of Sue Ellen. Another thing that I didn't understand was Bobby's ongoing relationship issues with April Stevens. To me, the characters simply had no chemistry and their relationship seems forced. Her character, one that was introduced in the 'dream' season and then re-introduced in the next season, seems flawed and confused, as if the producers have forgotten how she started out with an agenda and mean streak and now she's supposed to be overly needy and pleasant? I don't get it. Bobby's character felt off for the first episodes of the season. I didn't get why all of the characters, including Bobby and Miss Ellie, also suddenly seemed so cold and mean-spirited toward Sue Ellen after seasons of showing they understood her issues and troubles with J.R. I won't even get started on the attempt to wrap the Pam Ewing plot - it should have just been left alone. The season seemed to lose a bit of steam during the final episodes that contain the annual 'let's get out of 'Dallas' and into a foreign country' set of episodes. There really was no threat, no urgency, no conflict that drove the trip and having scenes of the the cast sight seeing just wasn't compelling television. Also, the cliffhanger left much to be desired. For a show that basically created the cliffhanger and perfected it, this season ended with a whimper and also made Linda Gray's departure a bit of a let down. Again, there was little suspense or a moment that had you out of your seat screaming for more. Instead you're left with a rather neatly-wrapped season with the most suspense and mystery left with a new plot for Miss Ellie and Clayton to have to deal with in the next season.

In all, despite some flaws, this season was a vast improvement over the last few released on DVD. I wasn't as crazy about the DVD transfer; there were a few scenes that looked a bit out of focus or low quality. I also wasn't crazy about how yet again we're left with a season release with absolutely no special features. Why not some commentary from Linda Gray? An in-depth look at the Cally character? These seasons have so much potential for a special feature or two but are usually left with nothing. Here's hoping Warner will make up for it with something special in the last seasons and (hopefully) the t.v. movie release. This season is definitely worth buying and worth watching. As I usually say with 'Dallas', it's still better than a majority of the shows on television these days.
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 10, 2010
This is a great fun season with some fun new characters (especially George Kennedy- a great actor and Cathy Podewell) and some great plot twists, but, oh dear, a TRULY TERRIBLE DVD TRANSFER--the wort of all the previous seasons. Why????????????????? Even when showing it on my blu ray, it still looks blurred, fuzzy, almost like a copy of a copy of a copy. Are Warners now just rushing these out to the conclusion with no concern of quality at all? It also arrived in terrible shape (Amazon bad packaging) Again a shame as it has one of the best episodes of the latter part of the series ("The Sting", more plot twists and surprise returns than any of any episode)With only three box sets to go (season 13 and 14 and the telemovie set)can't Warners at least look at the poor and shoddy prints they are selling to the public??
11 comment| 14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 8, 2013
I haven't finished this season yet but I had to scan the reviews to see if anyone else noticed the same thing I did In episode two, No Greater Love. About 20 minutes into the episode, Sue Ellen is having lunch with Miss Ellie and its the first time they have talked since she shot JR at the end of season eleven. Its Linda Gray's fourth scene in the episode but for the first time in this particular episode, all of the sudden her eyes are WIDE OPEN in a very odd way and her face looks somewhat longer than ever before! She looks noticably different and she could even pass for Pam Dawber with the dramatic way in which she plays the whole scene with her eyes so wide and looking so odd. I know she toned up considerably for season eleven which really helped her relationship with Nickolas Pierce seem more plausible, but she really looks like she's suffering some kind of cosmetic trickery to offset gravity's natural effect on her appearance or perhaps trying to ride out the after effects of some surgery that was a little too aggresive(???) I just stopped the episode to see if anyone else in the reviews had noticed it also. Perhaps it hasn't been mentioned because this strange appearance of hers only occurs that once, I'll guess I'll have to watch and see the rest! lmao!
Update: I'm into episode 15 and Sue Ellen is only having occasional eye spasms, But now I'm laughing hysterically at the opening night at The Metroplex. The young extras they cast for the club scene didn't know how to dance as couples so the director must've told them to try and just disco dance to the jazz ensemble playing the shmaltzy ballroom tunes! Fantastic!! rofl!!
Update: It would have been amazing if the Carringtons and the Colbys were in attendance in Vienna...They would have had every reason to have been there!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 9, 2010
"Dallas: The Complete Twelfth Season" - really season eleven when you realize that the first was just a trial mini-series - might be described as the experimental one. It could be divided into four segments, tied together with enough major and minor developments to make it cohesive.

The segment which started the season is "Let's give J.R. a young bride." This storyline puts our hero (Larry Hagman again giving Emmy-worthy performances) in mortal peril by a pair of yokels (Cliff Potts and Sherman Howard) that he runs into after he has taken their young sister to bed. The eldest Ewing son finds himself a member of a chain gang, an escapee, and eventually the husband of the much younger Callie, wonderfully played by Cathy Podewell.

From that storyline the show moves to "Let's see how Sue Ellen gets her revenge." This gives the former Mrs. J.R. Ewing (Linda Gray) the opportunity to plan for the ultimate "payback" as the producer of a film that will reveal to the entire world how ruthless her former spouse is.

Then, the plot intertwines with "Let's see who will replace Bobby's beloved Pam." Bobby (Patrick Duffy) is involved with not one, not two, but three women during this season: an old flame from his past (Irena Ferris), a new one (Beth Toussaint), and one who is trying her best to get on his good side and his into his bed (Sheree J. Wilson). By the end of the year, Pam becomes a memory and the youngest Ewing son has found her replacement.

Finally, the season ends with "Let's show 'Dynasty' how it's done and REALLY go to Europe." Like its chief competition, Dallas has a storyline where many of the principal characters go to Europe, but the cast and crew did go wherein "Dynasty's" European trip was on a Hollywood set. The trip allowed for some magnificent locations which made up for a rather lackluster ending to the season.

As the season progresses, the show will see the departure of several major characters which would leave the next two years spent seeking to continue this "experiment" with new players to interact with the one reason for the show's existence in the first place: J.R.

This particular season compilation is possibly the worst transfer of them all, with occasional "blurry" images and poor sound. However, inasmuch as there are no "extras," it's obvious that Warner Brothers is not worried about its customers who, like me, will buy the show regardless of the quality of the release.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 17, 2009
Season 12 is definitely my favorite season, it has a little of everything. Sue Ellen finally finds a way to get the better of J.R., Bobby finds a new love, and probably the most romantic encounter ever for Bobby. J.R. actually shows he does have a heart, and is somewhat confused by it when he truly does grow to love his new wife Cally. There is even foreign intrigue, when J.R. and Bobby must travel to Moscow to find out a sinister secret of a massive oil deal. But, by far the most interesting story of all, Cliff Barnes finally gets what he has wanted all these years, and becomes a full partner in Ewing Oil. He actually manages to have a working relationship with J.R. But this cannot last, like the old saying, be careful what you wish for.

Overall, this season has it all, and really shows why this series had the resiliency to continue for another 2 seasons following. Not just the great story lines by great writers, but truly this was one of the best casts ever assembled for a TV series, all true professionals.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 16, 2013
After TNT brought Dallas back for a new generation, I became interested in watching the original series. I have to say that season 12 is definitely the best so far. For starters, J.R. is still alive after being shot by Sue Ellen. He and Bobby travel to a backwoods city called Hayleyville where J.R. ends up flirting with a sweet innocent girl named Cally. After sleeping with her, her brothers send J.R. to a penal camp. He tries desperately to escape. Back in Dallas, the Ewings must deal with Carter McKay who has bought Ray Krebb's old house. McKay begins a turf war with the Ewings, even bringing in a militia. Meanwhile, Sue Ellen hires a director to make a movie based on J.R.'s life. All this and much more happen in DALLAS: SEASON 12!!!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 19, 2017
I missed the season 11-14 being mad that Bobby Ewing was killed off the show...and then showed up in the shower!! I'm over it now lol. I really am enjoying catching up on this show. I miss the great acting, writing, and production. The talent just isn't present in 2017 to pull something like this show off. After all, film is better on the eyes!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 26, 2017
Nothing better than an evening with JR and Bobby!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 10, 2017
Had to send back this season due to bad discs in the set. FINALLY got one set that were good.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items


Need customer service? Click here