Amazon.com: Customer Reviews: Big Damn Nation
Amazon Vehicles Up to 80 Percent Off Textbooks Amazon Fashion Learn more Discover it $5 Albums Fire TV Stick Happy Belly Snacks Totes Amazon Cash Back Offer ElvisandNixon ElvisandNixon ElvisandNixon  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Introducing new colors All-New Kindle Oasis AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Back to School

Customer Reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars
12
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on December 31, 2007
No, these guys (actually two male, one female) are not gonna win awards for instrumental virtuosity or musical creativity. They have a couple of basic grooves and they pound 'em 'til they can't pound no more.

But every now and then, bands who play a basic, primitive musical style do it so well that you're glad they stick to what they do. Rev. Payton and his Damn Big Band is one of those. There is a level of joy in this album that is hard to define - maybe it's just the joy it engenders in the listener (at least this listener!) ... it's like I put on this CD and some "joy" switch in my right-brain just clicks on.

The style of music they play owes a lot to the droning North Mississippi Hills style of blues (a la Bukka White, Fred McDowell, R.L. Burnside), more than Delta blues. Some of their songs feature Piedmont blues style fingerpicking (but backed by ferocious drums, in the Mississippi style).

Perhaps the standout cut is the last cut, which is the only solo track on the album. The Reverend's vocals on "Sugar Man" will boil your spinal fluids. That is one serious track.

Did I mention that I love this band?
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 27, 2006
Not your daddy's Blues. This is the stuff you only heard from the deep south in the twenties and thirties. Some call it country blues, some call it pre-war blues, some call it delta blues, but I call it a damn good time. Highly recommended!
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 2, 2010
The sound you get from those driving drums, the relentless guitar then the texture of that washboard kicking into a song like Old Man Boogie stars your whole leg tappin. If you have any experience with slide-playing you have to fight to keep from looking like an air-guitar fool. Sure, vocals can be a bit mumbly but that's what you get from a band that just does their own thing.

These songs are performed with love and conviction. There are great covers and wonderful originals. I find myself singing this stuff all day long.

Finally, if you hear them live, I dare you to keep sitting(barring any medical conditions). They were thrilling and they just keep touring and touring and playing and playing.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 13, 2006
I first learned of this band at a local show and found their style to be refreshing. They have great energy. Their songs do however seem to blend together but I think that the range of their sound will expand with time. Worth investing.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 4, 2007
Just heard this @ an outdoor bar @ Indiana Beach cranked up. Had to ask the bartender who these guys were? Noticed people around me were also digging it. This CD is a must for anyone who loves old time deep(Wash Board, Dobro Guitar & Singing) Delta Blues with great groove & feel. Just ordered this & looking forward to recieving my cd.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 20, 2007
The friend who introduced me to them absolutely nailed it - "This is what it would sound like if the Minutemen made a blues album".

I understand the roots of blues talk that I've seen connected to the band, but what can't be said enough is that this record is going to kick your butt and steal your lunch money.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 10, 2011
Rev Peyton & Band may be the greatest punk blues (for lack of a better term) performers in history--with an acoustic guitar and washboard, no less. I love all their albums, but this one is my favorite.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 12, 2011
With the horrible, corporate board room "music" we,the listener and consumer, are force fed these days, The Rev delivers the antidote. No overproduced, multi layered, vocal effects riddled, electronic drum looped, music for swooning teen age girls here (though my 16 yr old daughter loves these guys). Just straight ahead, kick you in the head, locked in the groove and beat it to death raucous country blues with a punk energy. "Left Hand George" may be the most infectious song ever. I don't get the every song sounds the same comment.....there's more variation of sound here than in the entire AC/DC catalogue! What a blast this disc is.....an essential purchase........
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 11, 2008
Absolutely fantastic music. Original, toe tappin good fun. I was just recently introduced to this band and they are great. I can't wait to see them live here in LA in June!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 15, 2015
This band is great. Service was great too.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

$12.99
$11.99
$9.99
$9.99

Need customer service? Click here