Industrial Deals Beauty Best Books of the Year So Far STEM nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Starting at $39.99 Grocery Handmade Wedding Shop Book House Cleaning _fof _fof _fof  Introducing Echo Show All-New Fire HD 8 Kids Edition, starting at $129.99 Kindle Oasis AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Shop Now STEMClub17_gno



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 23 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 32 reviews
on April 10, 2012
I bought this after seeing the 2011 eponymous movie ("A Dangerous Method") which stirred me to get more information about the people in it, especially Spielrein, Gross, Jung, & Freud. Although my PhD is in clinical psychology and I went through a long psychoanalysis ("ego psychology flavor"), all that was before much of the information presented in this book was uncovered and came to light.

Kerr's book is based on his PhD dissertation and sometimes seems not far removed from that style. It has patches, like puddles after a scattered heavy rain, that are extremely detailed and which would be tedious reading for any but, e.g., the very few needing those details for their references such as the master's thesis on which they're working. However one can skip over those sections and resume reading where the text resumes a more narrative approach. I'm not sorry at all that I read the book and appreciate that it supplied most of the information I wanted as well as spurring me to find out more.
0Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 1, 2016
Way too technical and detailed for my tastes. It is a book written for someone studying to be a psychologist or analyst as opposed to an interesting story about the men and their research and methods. Not a story for a layman interested in human psychology.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 28, 2014
My mother is delighted with this book, even though it is roughly 700 pages long! She has viewed the DVD a few times, so the book is much easier to comprehend. There's nothing like two great men being revealed as two great, selfish and ego-centric men! Not that great women haven't had their share of ego. Perhaps it's best to understand that those we either admire, or who have done wonders for history in giving us their knowledge, will have the same faults most humans have!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 17, 2012
A most fascinating history detailing the public and inner lives of the people in the forefront of psychiatry and clinical psychology in their days . The backgrounds, Austria, Switzerland, France and Germany, complete and in some ways even explain how and why these people became so prominent. It seems to me that Freud and Jung really found a method of self analysis rather than a way to understand their patients. That neither Freud himself nor any of the others ever published a clear scientifically valid "method" in a way is not surprising. To paraphrase Freud's "sometimes a cigar is just a cigar", "sometimes an idea is just an idea". A great read for any member of the profession.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 26, 2013
I had just watched the movie with Michael Fassbender and Keira Knightley and was moved to delve more into it.
This is not the movie...peices of the movie are in this book but the book far outshines the movie. This is an in depth look at the circumstances surrounding some of the greatest theories of the minds of recent times.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 2, 2016
Excellent history of psychiatry and the writing style is superb.
His breath of knowledge of the subject is epic.
It is a book not to be read at night or else you might be late to work the next day.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 15, 2014
The book is for those who are interested in psychology and outstanding psychologists of the beginning of the 20th century. I've found it thanks to the film "A Dangerous Method", which is based on the play "A Talking Cure".
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 17, 2016
interesting film, although not enough insight into the Freud-Jung feud
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 30, 2014
I think anyone who has an interest in Freud or Jung that explores personality vs theory would enjoy reading this book. For anyone who is comforted in knowing that others
also fail in love and life they will feel even better after reading about these two men's struggles.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 25, 2014
I found this to be a very rewarding read. As other reviewers have noted, it is indeed a ponderous book but this wasn't a problem for me. Kerr is thorough, insightful, and respectful of the information. It provides new meaning to the film of similar title.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse