Amazon.com: Customer Reviews: Daniel Boone, Trail Blazer
Amazon Vehicles Up to 80 Percent Off Textbooks Amazon Fashion Learn more Discover it $5 Albums Fire TV Stick Health, Household and Grocery Back to School Totes Amazon Cash Back Offer conj2 conj2 conj2  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Starting at $49.99 All-New Kindle Oasis Kiss Rocks Vegas Back to School

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

VINE VOICEon August 20, 2001
No, this isn't the old Fess Parker television series, but rather a fairly standard frontier adventure programmer from Republic Pictures that was made in the mid-1950s. There's a reasonable amount of action, drama, and even some song, as Daniel Boone and his followers attempt to make a new life for themselves in the wilderness at Boonesboro.
There are no "name" stars here, save minor ex-Tarzan Bruce Bennett (former Olympic shot-putter Herman Brix), Lon Chaney, Jr., and country music star Faron Young, who does get a chance to belt one out. Bennett was in his mid 40s when he made this film and, indeed, looks the part of a father with grown children. The performances of the actors reflect the film's "B-movie" status . . . capable enough for the material, though I find the perpetually grinning Freddy Fernandez (portraying Boone's son Israel) to be annoying. In the middle of the climatic battle, there's Fernandez grinning away like an idiot (I wonder what ever happened to him?). All in all, though, this is a fairly watchable film that's helped by its short running time (approximately 75 minutes).
I have mixed feelings about this DVD transfer. I'm sure at the time of its initial release, "Daniel Boone, Trail Blazer" was probably a very good looking film. However, the print that Brentwood Communications has used has washed out colors and is "soft" looking, but the audio is fine. This is the type of film that probably could only be released on DVD through an independent budget video company; it's highly unlikely that any major studio would release this film on DVD. So, in that repect, viewers looking for older, hard-to-find films on DVD should probably be thankful to the independent video companies for searching out and releasing films like "Daniel Boone, Trail Blazer."
11 comment| 18 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 17, 2004
The technical part of this review refers to the Brentwood Home Video or BCI Eclipse version.
Republic Pictures was nearing the end of its career releasing B pictures mostly westerns, crime stories and those Bowery Boys pics when this one came around. Released in a process called TruColor, the films colors haven't aged well (at least in this transfer). But it doesn't detract that much from this fast moving story starring Bruce Bennett (Herman Brix, I gotta research and find out why he changed his name) as the namesake of the picture and Lon Chaney, Jr. as the Indian chief whom Daniel must eventually make peace with.
It's a story filled with fights, morality, romance and even song from country crooner Faron Young. Released in 1956, I'm sure to capitalize on the Davy Crockett craze at the time, this low budget story of building the new frontier is fine for the family with some mild violence and at 76 minutes is perfect viewing for a rainy day.
Brentwood/BCI put in their usual extras, six chapter stops, a DVD dictionary, trivia game and a short subject (Hal Roach's "Little Rascals"). This movie is also in a 10 pack of westerns at about triple the price for this one film from Brentwood Home Video called "The Wild West" and is available from Amazon.com.
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 9, 2016
Any movie that had the potential of failing becomes a good one when Lon Chaney is involved! The main reason I like this movie is because one of the main characters, Blackfish, was the adoptive father of my ancestor who was kidnapped by the Shawnees and was raised as his son for many years. Anything that references my family gets my vote!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 2, 2016
I like to watch how the Pioneers first came and learned how to live off the land. I also like to watch Daniel Boone. This was a good movie. It also answered a bunch of questions about his family and how he came to only have the little one with him on the series.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 8, 2016
Boone and blond and never wears a coonskin hat, no hat at all, guess he wanted to show off his blond hair. How many kids does Boone have? You may need to take off your shoes to count. Was the Indian dead or alive???????
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 31, 2016
I'm not a big fan of the western genre - meaning I watch some of them but not a lot of them. So this review is coming from one that watches westerns on occasions - depending on who is in the film, recommendations and/or what the movie is about. It was Lon Chaney that attracted my attention to this film mainly but I am also interested in film biographies and histories.

While this film maybe not be perfectly accurate it is a good film that gives us a fairly decent idea of what might have took place during the real Daniel Boone's life. I enjoyed the movie.

There are 3 songs in the film - although it's not exactly a musical those scenes are like a musical. They could have left them out of the film but it did not take away from the film to me.

Anyway - I liked this film and would watch it again.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 27, 2015
Bruce Bennett was the only actor Edgar Rice Burroughs requested to play Tarzan. The one Tarzan movie/serial he made flopped. Bennett redeemed himself in The Treasure of the Sierra Madre with a great performance in a true classic. Lon Chaney Jr is best known for his performance as the Wolfman. Here he one ups the role as an Indian Chief. His close ups are priceless. The American flag flying over the fort (in 1775) best attests to the level of thought put into this film. The Indian attack on the fort (with the 1775 American flag) reminds me of when we dressed up as kids and played Cowboys and Indians, except here if you get killed you don't get up and continue fighting. But nothing in the history of comedy beats the one of a kind ending involving Boone's arm, two sets of eyes, a dead Indian, and the Wolfman (I mean Indian Chief). I would have added two more stars if Laurel and Hardy were in the film. This must be the film that set off Marlon Brando against Hollywood's portrayal of Native Americans. It may not be How the West Was Won, but it's certainly good camp.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 12, 2014
For the dvd Daniel Boone ( dvd burned by amazon)
Very disappointed because there is a logo on the picture like if this copy was recorded from a channel's tv and it was not indicated on the description of amazon. Yes very disappointed !
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 28, 2015
every 15 min. when veiwing a movie on prime the movie stops and you have to it resume. You would think that the money it cost for prime you would be able to watch it all the way with out having to restart it every 15 min. I watch Netflix because of that with no proland.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 31, 2015
Personally love westerns, have for more than fifty years. Not only is historical accuracy not part of what the writers of this movie paid any attention to; this one not only doesn't have a Fess Parker to make the movie interesting, it has trouble laying claim to having 'Daniel Boone' as a character. IF NOTHING else is available, watch if you believe the other reviewers. Personally , ONCE was one time too many here. davzway
aka: Hardway Horsley, SASS Life #3106, the very wayward son of Frank Leslie Horsley, Lone Pine Creek Ranch, Larimer County, Fort Collins, Colorado, 1882, give or take a year or two, .... or.... uh oh.... may have a problem here.........
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse