Lyft Industrial Deals Beauty Most Anticipated Fall Children's Books STEM nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Learn more about Amazon Music Unlimited PCB for Musical Instruments Starting at $39.99 Grocery Handmade Tote Bags Home Gift Guide Off to College Home Gift Guide Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon Transparent Transparent Transparent  Introducing Echo Show Introducing All-New Fire HD 10 with Alexa hands-free $149.99 Kindle Oasis, unlike any Kindle you've ever held GNO Shop Now FFII_gno



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 2,581 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 2,836 reviews
on June 25, 2013
Last week I was sitting outside a coffee shop reading a book on my kindle when a youngish guy walked by carrying a coffee and a computer, looking for a place to sit.

Since all of the tables were occupied and he was looking a bit displaced, I offered him a seat at my table. Relieved, he sat down and expressed his gratitude. I promptly went back to my reading but I could feel his eyes boring into me as I anticipated the dreaded question.

"What are you reading?" he finally blurted.

Now I know this is neither a profound nor earth-shattering inquiry but there were two problems at hand here.

One, I'm terrible at summarizing books. Just awful. (Which you're about to discover.) There's just something about the vast amount of information that I'm pressured to wrap into one or two sentences that completely overwhelms and paralyzes me.

And two, I was reading a book about shame and vulnerability. Which ironically, I was ashamed to admit for fear of being vulnerable. Clearly, I had just started reading the book.

Part of me was tempted to lie to youngish guy by replying, "oh, it's just some silly novel."

But then it occurred to me how shameful it would be to lie about reading a book about shame and vulnerability instead of just being vulnerable. Besides, as I'm sure it's obvious--I could use the practice.

"I'm reading Daring Greatly by Brené Brown. It's about shame and vulnerability and how shame can truly only dissipate by allowing yourself to be vulnerable", I quickly blurted.

Allowing myself to be vulnerable led Patrick and I into a conversation for the next hour. Patrick, if you're reading this, c'était une joie pour vous rencontrer. (If this is wrong I blame Google translate.)

This moment of unabashed vulnerability with Patrick was the beginning of a major shift in my life. And I have Daring Greatly to thank for that.*

I've always been one to be honest and open but Brene Brown's writing in Daring Greatly takes openness to another level.

She reinforces what I've known all along but been afraid of admitting--that vulnerability leads to happiness. Or as Brown calls it, "wholeheartedness".

And I, and maybe you too, could damn well use some wholeheartedness in my life.

We're living in a culture of `never enough'. I'm certainly feeling it. Are you? I never work hard enough, I don't help others enough, I'm not successful enough, I don't eat healthy enough... and on and on.

These thoughts of `never enough' turn into feelings of shame and fear. How do we combat shame and fear? By being vulnerable and expressing gratitude, according to Brené Brown. And now, according to me.

Following Brene's advice and expertise garnered through her research and life stories, truly does work.

It was the reading of Daring Greatly that prompted me to finally divulge my long kept secret of my history with an eating disorder; which wound up being my highest trafficked blog post of all time. As Brown explains, we're drawn to other's vulnerability but repelled by our own.

Are you living with shame? Do you always feel an underlying itch of `never enough'? Do you find yourself disconnecting from people you love? If any of these questions ring true then I hope you'll read this book for yourself. Even if they don't ring true, read this book. It truly is a game changer.

Buy It Right. This. Minute. Sit your butt down for an hour, and start reading. I promise you won't want to stop. I promise.Then come back to me and practice your newfound vulnerability. I'll appreciate and love every drop of the real you. And eventually, you will too. That's the truth.

[...]
*If you'll note the vulnerability here in that I'm attempting to review a book, despite my fear of reviewing books.
2323 comments| 2,065 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon September 18, 2017
In Daring Greatly the author explores what it means to be vulnerable and how being vulnerable can help you become a wiser and stronger person. As I read this book and applied it to my life, I found that I had deeper, more intimate conversations and connections and that I was able to create a space for myself that truly helped me embrace who I am. I highly recommend this book for internal work and meditation.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 26, 2017
It's Brene Brown...need I say more?? She certainly gives you a new way of looking at shame and the impact it has on your life, even if you think you don't have a problem with shame!! I do a great deal of driving so I got the audio book and absolutely loved it!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 23, 2015
This book was my first contact with Mrs. Brown's work. I must say it definitely opened my eyes to a new viewpoint regarding vulnerability and how to achieve the life I would want to life by going towards rather than away. This book helped me to review my attempts at control, relationships, contact with others and overall change. As a mental health practitioner, I have recommended this book to several clients who have reported they found it beneficial as well. I see a parallel with Gestalt therapy, specifically, the paradoxical theory of change. Overall, I feel this book can be helpful for individuals who are interested in obtaining a new viewpoint on life and are willing to try new things.

Her writing style appears to be based on personal experience, which is good as it helps to build reference points. I could see how that could take away from her years of research and make it seem as though she is simply basing this knowledge on her life, however, she uses references and refers back to her research numerous times which should help individuals who are looking for more of a scientifically based perspective as well!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 11, 2015
I am recommending this book to all my friends and family members, which is a rare thing for me to do. I can't imagine one person who wouldn't benefit from reading it. It has helped me rethink the decisions I'm making and understand the reasons and fears that had me making "safe" but unfulfilling choices. Beyond that, it has also transformed how I understand the decisions and actions of my loved ones and co-workers. When you know that shame and vulnerability are at the core of most comments and actions, you can't help but become more empathetic and respond in a different, more constructive way. I have tremendous respect for Brene Brown and am so grateful to her for "daring greatly" enough to share her life's work and personal story with the world.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 13, 2014
With so many reviews, there is little left to add. What I would say is that I have used Brown's research, extracted from Daring Greatly and also Gifts of Imperfection, to improve my executive coaching practice. The pressure to achieve, stay on top of everything and never break a sweat is a mighty assault on our ability to be authentic. We struggle to connect, and above all, enjoy the work. While it may not have been written specifically for executives, the content is of great value.

I recently had occasion to spend a week with Brene' and her team at the Daring Way, improving my skills in delivering this work. Of the many take aways, most powerful to me was the way in which she modeled the concepts. At each juncture, she demonstrated evolved leadership and connection. Many thanks to a researcher who chose to write, and speak and model.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 19, 2013
I love this book. It's been really eye-opening. I'm looking at my life through the lens of vulnerability and shame. Oh my, there's so much to look at and examine. It's bringing up a lot of things in a new light and I'm looking forward to looking at the role of shame in my life and being mindful of when it comes up. Vulnerability is a big one too. The combination of the two and the realization of how they're connected in my life has been highly emotional. I'm not afraid of emotion, but it's a challenge trying to stay in touch with it and allowing myself to feel and be seen. Whoa, being vulnerable in my day to day life is not harder than being vulnerable as an actor.
Thanks Brene. I'm looking froward to reading your other books. I start a lot of these types of books and stop reading them. But I have found "Daring Greatly" to be really approachable and thought-provoking. It's not just a quick-fix to-do list, it's easier to approach these things when your guide is open and honest about their own struggle with them. The fact that she has done this work and shares her trials with us makes a huge difference. It makes it personal, real and possible not just theoretical.
If you're at all interested, you should get this book.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 8, 2017
I got this book to read while flying and on vacation, and it is a great encouraging read. The writing is relatable and humble, and Brene gently changes your way of thinking and opens your mind to see things from a better perspective.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 18, 2013
I love this book and the grounded theory research journey Brene` Brown followed to uncover a treasure trove of thought provoking insights on shame, scarcity and vulnerability based on the experiences, perceptions and stories revealed through individual and group interviews.

"Shame" and "scarcity" have power over our lives.
The definition that emerged from her research is this:

"Shame is the intensely painful feeling or experience of believing that we are flawed and therefore unworthy of love and belonging."

The research, stories and insights inspire tons of self-reflection. I started asking myself these questions: How has shame influenced my choices, controlled my experience or corroded my relationships? How does shame show up today?

I can only wonder how different my world would be if I always engaged with life from a place of shameless "worthiness". As Brown explains "shame" loves prerequisites. Thinking of all the prerequisites for worthiness that are messaged through our families, media and culture makes my head spin.

Brown uncovered this pattern: Shame leads to Comparison leads to Disengagement.
If disengagement is an experience in your family, organization or community, shame may be the root cause.

If you are a parent this is a must read. It will change the way you treat yourself and inspire you to be the parent you want your children to become. Teaching and modeling "shame resilience" will become one of your primary goals. Her wisdom rich "Parenting Manifesto" is available on her website.

If you are an organizational leader, small business owner, or work in management this book will help you change your organization's culture. "Shame keeps us small, resentful, and afraid." - We cannot innovate or generate success from a culture of shame.

For people working in health care applying this research to physician/patient communications could be a positive step towards better patient outcomes.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 18, 2017
Great book! Put living whole-heartedly into your life and just a word of caution - not everyone you encounter whether your family members, friends, co-workers or acquaintances will be ready for you. However, it is the ONLY WAY TO LIVE LIFE TO THE FULLEST!!!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse