Your Garage Beauty LyingGame STEM nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Starting at $39.99 Wickedly Prime Handmade Wedding Rustic Decor Book House Cleaning LastTycoon LastTycoon LastTycoon  Introducing Echo Show All-New Fire HD 8, starting at $79.99 Kindle Oasis Nintendo Switch Water Sports STEMClubToys17_gno



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 2,517 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 2,776 reviews
on June 25, 2013
Last week I was sitting outside a coffee shop reading a book on my kindle when a youngish guy walked by carrying a coffee and a computer, looking for a place to sit.

Since all of the tables were occupied and he was looking a bit displaced, I offered him a seat at my table. Relieved, he sat down and expressed his gratitude. I promptly went back to my reading but I could feel his eyes boring into me as I anticipated the dreaded question.

"What are you reading?" he finally blurted.

Now I know this is neither a profound nor earth-shattering inquiry but there were two problems at hand here.

One, I'm terrible at summarizing books. Just awful. (Which you're about to discover.) There's just something about the vast amount of information that I'm pressured to wrap into one or two sentences that completely overwhelms and paralyzes me.

And two, I was reading a book about shame and vulnerability. Which ironically, I was ashamed to admit for fear of being vulnerable. Clearly, I had just started reading the book.

Part of me was tempted to lie to youngish guy by replying, "oh, it's just some silly novel."

But then it occurred to me how shameful it would be to lie about reading a book about shame and vulnerability instead of just being vulnerable. Besides, as I'm sure it's obvious--I could use the practice.

"I'm reading Daring Greatly by Brené Brown. It's about shame and vulnerability and how shame can truly only dissipate by allowing yourself to be vulnerable", I quickly blurted.

Allowing myself to be vulnerable led Patrick and I into a conversation for the next hour. Patrick, if you're reading this, c'était une joie pour vous rencontrer. (If this is wrong I blame Google translate.)

This moment of unabashed vulnerability with Patrick was the beginning of a major shift in my life. And I have Daring Greatly to thank for that.*

I've always been one to be honest and open but Brene Brown's writing in Daring Greatly takes openness to another level.

She reinforces what I've known all along but been afraid of admitting--that vulnerability leads to happiness. Or as Brown calls it, "wholeheartedness".

And I, and maybe you too, could damn well use some wholeheartedness in my life.

We're living in a culture of `never enough'. I'm certainly feeling it. Are you? I never work hard enough, I don't help others enough, I'm not successful enough, I don't eat healthy enough... and on and on.

These thoughts of `never enough' turn into feelings of shame and fear. How do we combat shame and fear? By being vulnerable and expressing gratitude, according to Brené Brown. And now, according to me.

Following Brene's advice and expertise garnered through her research and life stories, truly does work.

It was the reading of Daring Greatly that prompted me to finally divulge my long kept secret of my history with an eating disorder; which wound up being my highest trafficked blog post of all time. As Brown explains, we're drawn to other's vulnerability but repelled by our own.

Are you living with shame? Do you always feel an underlying itch of `never enough'? Do you find yourself disconnecting from people you love? If any of these questions ring true then I hope you'll read this book for yourself. Even if they don't ring true, read this book. It truly is a game changer.

Buy It Right. This. Minute. Sit your butt down for an hour, and start reading. I promise you won't want to stop. I promise.Then come back to me and practice your newfound vulnerability. I'll appreciate and love every drop of the real you. And eventually, you will too. That's the truth.

[...]
*If you'll note the vulnerability here in that I'm attempting to review a book, despite my fear of reviewing books.
2222 comments| 1,951 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 23, 2017
This book was life changing for me. I'd already read Gifts of Imperfection, and have been struggling with having healthy boundaries with a psychologically unhealthy parent.

This book did an amazing job of helping me understand the difference between sharing vulnerability in ways that lead to connection and over-sharing in ways intended to manipulate an audience - and why that oversharing has always led to disconnection.

For the men out there - I'd recommend starting with this book (rather than gifts of imperfection) as Brown broadens her research to include men here. And I really liked the way this book works through so many interesting topics and challenging scenarios.

One of my favorite parts is on professing love vs practicing love (below). It made me appreciate that when someone tells me they love me, then treats me badly, that it isn't really love at all.

<i>During a recent radio interview about my research, the hosts (my friends Ian and Margery) asked me, “Can you love someone and cheat on them or treat them poorly?”

I didn’t have much time, so I gave the best answer I could based on my work: “I don’t know if you can love someone and betray them or be cruel to them, but I do know that when you betray someone or behave in an unkind way toward them, you are not practicing love. And, for me, I don’t just want someone who says they love me, I want someone who practices that love for me every day.”</i>
0Comment| 19 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 6, 2016
This is one of those books that seems ubiquitous. Everywhere I turned I saw Brene Brown’s book with the solid gray background and colorful letters spelling out Daring Greatly across the cover. Even more omnipresent are the book’s praises. There is an endless line of praises from acclaimed icons. Which is why I am shocked by my response: I found the book sort of boring.

The crux of the book is simple: shame, it is powerful and universal. We all have experienced shame. Most of us continue to carry the burden of shame and even throw it on to others. I can easily connect to the idea of shame. Every day is a fight beyond shame.

Pulling from the amazing words of President Theodore Roosevelt, to dare greatly is try something big; to live with courage. Taking the safe road while criticizing others is the easy road (and it is the road we see on social media all the time), but living a life of greatness does require some failures. We cannot be scared of failures. This is a concept we all need to grab hold of.

I only marked two pages in the book the intrigued me.

“Vulnerability isn’t good or bad…Vulnerability is the core of all emotions. To feel is to be vulnerable.”

“Hope is a function of struggle. If we want our children to develop high levels of hopefulness, we have to let them struggle.”

Perhaps I am a little late to the party and that is why I did not connect with the book like others. Perhaps not hearing her TED talk is fatal flaw on my end (she refers to her talk multiple times in her book). The information is good and grounded, but in the end the book felt long and arduous.

Sometimes I think an author and reader just cannot connect, it does not make the book bad or the reader poor. It is just an unknowable difference.
If you think I’m defending a book that I didn’t like, you are correct.
0Comment| 13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 17, 2017
Thank you for Daring Greatly and writing this book. WOW is all I can say. The last chapter on parenting is a MUST read for any parents, new to the game or those who are looking for ways to reinvigorate their relationship with their children. I am not perfect, however I'm sure that I come across this way to numerous people. I realized that I really am a product of pleasing, performing, and perfecting! LMFAO.... This book has humbled me and I am sure that I will need to re-read it a second time. Though reading this book and doing more assessment of my life, I realized that my values have changed quite a bit. I value Diversity, Courage, Vitality, Compassion and Community. Best two take aways, are the feedback checklist and the Parenting Manifesto. Even if you get nothing else out of this book (which would be shocking) these are two pieces that you can sink your teeth into and guess what - I think that they are on her website too.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 8, 2016
More than half the book consists of chapters on relationships, marriage, having children, etc. Seems to be written for people who have families.

There is also a lot of shallow motivational stuff, the kind that doesn't help a person with real problems.
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 13, 2016
I admit I had never heard of Dr. Brene Brown until I saw her on the Oprah Winfrey Network about a month ago. I was so intrigued by her that I decided to buy "Daring Greatly," and I'm so thankful I did. I've struggled so much with the issues that she discusses here, but I was never able to understand and verbalize the root causes until I read this book. My quality of life has changed dramatically in a short period of time, so much so that I'm now reading "Rising Strong," and I'll soon start "The Gift of Imperfection." No doubt about it: I will be a lifelong fan and eternally grateful.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 6, 2015
I love Brene Brown. But I got bored about halfway through this book. It sounds like her other books; just with different labels placed on our "issues". Then it was like she ran out of things to say and tried to stretch the page quota out for her publisher. She launched into something about supporting our troops and it felt like she was grasping for evidence to support her "new" way of looking at vulnerability.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 22, 2015
Yes, I gave this 5 stars and yes, I said it's not perfect. In terms of readability, I felt that certain chapters flew by while I had to somewhat slog to get through others. So why the 5 stars?

The sections that were good were REALLY. GOOD. The ideas presented are the type that make you reassess your interactions on a daily basis. It makes you self-reflect. It makes you see things in a light you've never considered. It makes you really think.

The sections that spoke to me really hit me in a way that no other book of this type has. I feel like I could reread this and take something else away from it that I didn't the first time.

Do I think everyone will feel this way after reading it? Frankly, no. But that's part of the beauty of this book is that you get out of it what you put in terms of your experiences and emotions. Read with an open mind and even if you don't love it, it'll at least make you think.
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 4, 2015
I think this book is for some people. I bought a few of her books. And I gotta tell you, they all are basically exactly the same. Using the same experiences and the same stories but in different orders, she rehashes everything before. It'd be different if it were all meteoric. But everything is a bit mundane. I can read the same phenomenal book over and over again. And maybe a different book filled with the same stuff if it were, again, phenomenal, but this isn't so I quickly got tired of it. If you've read any other of her books, it's not worth it to get this one.
0Comment| 32 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 11, 2014
This book is an interesting but lengthy discussion on the merits of vulnerability and how our refusal to engage in a vulnerable lifestyle impedes us personally and collectively. The author makes a convincing case that diving into a lifestyle that keeps you vulnerable will produce a more genuine and fulfilling life. Getting over the discomfort our society and family have instilled in us when we approach a vulnerable state is key to succeeding in life, feeling happier, and living a more genuine life that aligns with our personal dreams and goals.

Basically, we need to rewrite our paradigms. Accept trial and error while being observed. Accept trying and trying, failing and failing, until we get what we want out of life. Accept ourselves and put ourselves before the masses, and shrug. Because, though that is the state during which we can be criticized and berated and lampooned the most, it is also the state during which people succeed in attaining what makes them happy.

Critics are weak. They are not participating in life. They are observing. No glory goes to the people in the stands. Only the warriors in the arena get the attention, accolades, and honor. Even the defeated ones.

So, the book asserts, be a warrior on display. Win or lose, you are participating and receiving the most out of life. The audience is just . . . there.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse