Enter your mobile number below and we'll send you a link to download the free Kindle App. Then you can start reading Kindle books on your smartphone, tablet, or computer - no Kindle device required.
Getting the download link through email is temporarily not available. Please check back later.

  • Apple
  • Android
  • Windows Phone
  • Android

To get the free app, enter your mobile phone number.

Have one to sell? Sell on Amazon
Flip to back Flip to front
Listen Playing... Paused   You're listening to a sample of the Audible audio edition.
Learn more
See this image

The Dark City #1 (Relic Master) Hardcover – May 17, 2011

4.2 out of 5 stars 45 customer reviews
Book 1 of 4 in the Relic Master Series

See all 4 formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
New from Used from
"Please retry"
"Please retry"
$20.79 $5.51

Dumbness is a Dish Best Served Cold
Dear Dumb Diary
Jamie Kelly is back and dumber than ever in this super-deluxe four-color Dear Dumb Diary special edition. Hardcover | Kindle book | See more for ages 9-12
click to open popover

Editorial Reviews

About the Author

Catherine Fisher is an acclaimed novelist and poet, and has written many fantasy books for young people, including the popular "Oracle Betrayed" series. She lives in Wales.

New York Times best sellers
Browse the New York Times best sellers in popular categories like Fiction, Nonfiction, Picture Books and more. See more

Product Details

  • Age Range: 12 and up
  • Grade Level: 7 and up
  • Lexile Measure: HL540L (What's this?)
  • Series: Relic Master (Book 1)
  • Hardcover: 384 pages
  • Publisher: Dial Books; 1St Edition edition (May 17, 2011)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 9780803736733
  • ISBN-13: 978-0803736733
  • ASIN: 0803736738
  • Product Dimensions: 8.3 x 5.5 x 1.4 inches
  • Shipping Weight: 1.2 pounds
  • Average Customer Review: 4.2 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (45 customer reviews)
  • Amazon Best Sellers Rank: #207,755 in Books (See Top 100 in Books)

Related Media

Customer Reviews

Top Customer Reviews

Format: Hardcover
Catherine Fisher is one of those authors who, even if a story isn't the best, still creates a unique, hauntingly vivid world. "The Dark City" is a pretty good example of what she can do -- she crafts a grim, rainy sci-fi/fantasy story with a startling twist, set on a world that is slowly dissolving into darkness.

Long ago, the powerful Makers made the world, except for the Sekoi (who existed before that). Their powerful relics are still strewn around, and the Order of keepers has devoted itself to finding those relics and keeping them safe. Unfortunately, the evil totalitarian Watch has almost wiped out the Order.

Raffi and his master Galen have been living in hiding for years, only coming out to find relics. But then a small-time warlord steals a relic from them, and declares that he will only give it back if Raffi and Galen bring back a Sekoi storyteller from the cursed dark city of Tasceron.

Galen is fine with this, especially when they learn that the legendary Crow is in Tasceron. Since his powers have been crippled, he hopes the Crow can restore it. However, the two keepers have no idea that their travel companion Carys is a secret spy for the Watch -- and that the Dark City holds shocking secrets about their world's past.

The world of "The Dark City" is a pretty grim one -- Fisher crafts a gritty, rainy world, which has decayed into a sort of totalitarian Dark Ages. And while I won't mention what the twist involving this world is, Fisher carefully weaves in countless hints about the Makers, their relics, the Sekoi and the nature of this world.

The biggest problem is the magical powers shown by Galen and Raffi. Given what is revealed about their world, I'm not sure what these powers are or where they come from.
Read more ›
2 Comments 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
Format: Hardcover
The Dark City, the first book in Catherine Fisher's new rapid-release series Relic Master, hints at greatness, but it's not quite there yet. There's a lot of world-building happening and groundwork being laid. The story in The Dark City itself is good, but the possible revelations to come could be epic.

Galen and Raffi's quest to find the The Crow takes us on a wonderful journey through Anara, learning how this world works. While I tried to enjoy the adventure, I found myself fixated on the relics and what they could possibility be. The relics, unknown and powerful technology, in a world seemingly devoid of tech demanded my attention. The relics are one of those details that seem so utterly important, but go without explanation (because the characters themselves don't know) for the entire book.

I wasn't sold on The Dark City until the very end of the book. Not quite a reveal, but a possible indication that my most wished for explanation may be true was enough to make me need the next book. Lucky, this series is to be released a book a month over the course of the summer so I won't have long to wait.

The people and the places in The Dark City weren't quite enough to make me want to continue the series, but that ending pushed all the right buttons, making me sure that there is something more going on here. Something amazing in the works. I wish I could have been this excited the whole book. The Dark City comes together in the end and I can't help but want to read the next book.
Comment 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
Format: Hardcover
I love magic and mayhem. YA fantasy novel, Relic Master- The Dark City by Catherine Fisher has both. This 376 page book, published by Dial, is the first in a four part series. And the really cool thing, all 4 books come out this summer. #1 The Dark City- May 17, 2011. #2 The Lost Heiress - June 14, 2011. #3 The Hidden Coronet - July 12, 2011 and #4 The Margrave- Aug. 9, 2011.

The Story- Anara is a strange world where members of the "Order" are being hunted to the death by the "Watch". Once a group worshipped by many, now they are magical relic hunters on the run. This story concerns Relic Master Raffi, who has lost his powers and his apprentice, Galen. Together they travel into the dark city of Tasceron, a place of fire and evil, to find an ancient artifact that will hopefully save the Order and restore Raffi's powers.

My Thoughts- This is a quick read and I really enjoyed the fast pace. With the other three books coming out soon, it is the perfect length. I was fascinated by the world of Anara, I kept thinking that it was a post apocalyptic Earth, mostly due to all the technological relics that are found. It wasn't until the very last chapters that I realized I was wrong. Plus, the ending leads perfectly into the second book, I am so excited to see if the "Masters" come back. I wish there'd been more use of magic, I was a bit uncertain to what powers the Order actually have. The sense lines confused me. Are they ley lines? If there'd been more magic thrown around I would have had a better understanding. But, still, it did keep me guessing and I really want to read book two to find out what happens. Even though it's YA, I think older middle readers will love the book too.

For Parents: A little bit of violence as the Watchers hunt the Order, but nothing bad. All other aspects were fine.
Comment 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse

Most Recent Customer Reviews

What Other Items Do Customers Buy After Viewing This Item?