Industrial Deals HPC Spring Reading Introducing Prime Wardrobe nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Unlimited Music. Offline listening. Learn more. GNO for Samsung S9 Starting at $39.99 Grocery Handmade Personalized Jewelry Home Gift Guide Mother's Day gifts across Amazon Home Gift Guide Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon howardsend howardsend howardsend  Echo Fire tablets: Designed for entertainment Kindle Paperwhite AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Shop now TG18PP_gno

Customer Reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars
34
Dark Shadows Collection 18
Format: DVD|Change
Price:$25.31+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


on January 4, 2014
I watched Dark Shadows as a kid and was intrigued with the series. There were many things on the show I didn't understand, but I continued to watch. One day my child-care provider introduced the series to me and I was hooked ever since. Never, had I known or seen the ending, so this is my chance to see it all over again with a more understanding of the series. Because of these DVDs, I was able to attend my first Dark Shadow Festival in Brooklyn, NY, the year before Jonathan Frid past. I got to meet Lara Parker, David Selby, Jerry Lacy, Kathryn Leigh Scott, Roger Davis, and many others because of these DVD's. Thanks Amazon.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on May 19, 2008
Collection 18 is amazing! For those of you who adore Joan Bennett, she gets quite a bit of screen time in this set, playing both the angles of angry Elizabeth and a brainwashed Leviathan victim. Barnabas, who seemed to have lost his morals in the last collection, finally questions the orders of his Leviathan oppressors and shows that the strong character we all love is still inside him. Quentin returns and quickly becomes the amnesia-stricken Grant Douglas, searching for his identity. This collection, on the whole, however, really belongs to Grayson Hall as Dr. Julia Hoffman. Grayson's amazing acting ability is showcased as Julia deals with four storylines: trying to figure out what has happened to Barnabas since 1897, piecing together the clues of the "three" children that have lived at the antique shop, struggling to aid Chris Jennings in his battle with the werewolf curse, and finally working to restore Quentin's memory. Julia gets some great episodes as the definite hero of the first two discs in Collection 18. Angelique returns later on in the set, and Christopher Pennock debuts as Jeb Hawkes even later. Add this to your collection of Dark Shadows DVD's!
0Comment| 13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on July 30, 2017
Arrived quickly. Good to see these shows again. Much of it I had forgotten so it was like seeing some of them for the first time.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on July 18, 2017
gift
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on December 30, 2012
Love watching this TV show that I watched as a little girl. My husband and I love it so much and make Sunday evenings a special time for watching Dark Shadows. Gives us something to look forward to at the end of the weekend (instead of thinking about Monday morning!). Price at Amazon was the best we could find, too.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on June 22, 2005
DARK SHADOWS' maligned LEVIATHAN sequence is subtle, suspenseful and genuinely creepy. The sober tone is a relief coming after the campiness of the otherwise excellent "1897 Flashback". LEVIATHAN is DARK SHADOWS for the thinking person.

The segment is rich in film and literary influences. The general storyline, loosely based on the science-horror fiction of H. P. Lovecraft ("The Dunwich Horror", "The Shadow Out of Time", "The Thing on the Doorstep", "The Case of Charles Dexter Ward", THE HAUNTED PALACE), involves alien creatures from earth's prehistory which absorb the minds and wills of humans in their quest to regain supremacy through the generation of a Leviathan messiah.

The segment also draws on the 1940's films of Alfred Hitchcock (SUSPICION, SPELLBOUND); film noir (Val Lewton's THE SEVENTH VICTIM); science fiction (INVASION OF THE BODY SNATCHERS, VILLAGE OF THE DAMNED); and shivery paranoid thrillers like THE MANCHURIAN CANDIDATE and ROSEMARY'S BABY. The subplot based on Oscar Wilde's THE PICTURE OF DORIAN GREY is carried over from the "1897 Flashback".

The underworld journey of Quentin and Amanda is a variant on the myth of Orpheus and Eurydice, while their survival into the twentieth century is borrowed from THE MAN IN HALF MOON STREET and its Hammer remake THE MAN WHO COULD CHEAT DEATH. Elements of PORTRAIT OF JENNIE and ALL THAT MONEY CAN BUY/THE DEVIL AND DANIEL WEBSTER are included for good measure.

LEVIATHAN represents a return to the mysterious early months of DARK SHADOWS and provides good dramatic material for the actors, notably series star Joan Bennett whose role had been greatly diminished since the advent of Barnabas (Jonathan Frid) and Quentin (David Selby).

The segment is deliberately paced, relying on intrigue and suggestion, and may seem dull to viewers conditioned by the wildness and blatancy of the vampires and werewolves which take a back seat for a refreshing change.

Rating: 8/10 **** OUTSTANDING.
0Comment| 30 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on October 30, 2017
Great series, Video looks great
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on October 10, 2015
Love Dark Shadows, for the true fan.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on November 15, 2014
My mother loves this series and she is very happy with the purchase. Exactly as seller described.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on May 27, 2015
um, hello. It's dark shadows. Of course it's good.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse


Need customer service? Click here