Bubble Witch Saga 3 Industrial Deals Beauty Best Books of the Month STEM nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Learn more about Amazon Music Unlimited PCB for Musical Instruments Starting at $39.99 Grocery Handmade Tote Bags Home Gift Guide Off to College Home Gift Guide Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon BradsStatus BradsStatus BradsStatus  Introducing Echo Show Introducing All-New Fire HD 10 with Alexa hands-free $149.99 Kindle Oasis, unlike any Kindle you've ever held Shop Now STEMClubToys17_gno



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 507 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 623 reviews
on October 30, 2007
There is a scene in the movie "Contact" where Jodie Foster is staring out the window of an alien space craft. Below her she sees the unspeakable beauty of the Universe and says "There are no words... they should have sent a poet". That is the very feeling I had watching and listening to this DVD concert. This concert is music for the soul, and music that stirs the memories of those of us who saw Pink Floyd, Crosby Stills Nash & Young, and David Bowie in live concerts. For those who did not see the live concerts, this is as close as you will ever get. I'm sure that you will treasure this DVD if you buy it.

David Gilmour, now 61 years young, remains in a class with few, if any equals. There are Rock Artists, Rock Stars, Rock Legends, and then there is David Gilmour. It is hard to imagine that his performances just keep getting better as the years roll by. David has a keen sense of putting together a terrific group of artists to perform Pink Floyd music. His choices on this DVD concert could not have been better (well - with one exception. I really did miss Nick Mason on drums). If you enjoyed the group that Roger Waters put together on his "In The Flesh - Live" DVD, you will find the musicans on "Remember That Night" equal or better.

The special appearances of Graham Nash, David Crosby, and David Bowie is a memorable treat. But, lets be honest here, it's all about the Pink Floyd sound, and it has never been better than on this DVD. My one wish is that the next Pink Floyd DVD concert is a reunion of David, Roger, Rick, and Nick performing once again as the REAL Pink Floyd. I'm sure that it would be the greatest Rock concert of all times from an unknown group that started as "Tea Set" over 43 years ago. Who'd a thunk it?

P.S. God Bless the memory of Sid Barrett. Shine on....
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 3, 2007
Musical ICON's like Gilmour are rare. Just look at all of music over the last 20 years. Can you name one artist that has changed music,or is still around? This dvd is a time piece of unmeasurable magnitude. It very well may have been his last tour. And he made it large. To see and hear Gilmour AND Wright together doing ECHO'S is worth the price of this package alone. Gilmour and Wright were obviously at peace in their lives doing that show. Their performance was unbelievably better then any show I can remember. Dating back to the wall tour I saw in Germany. (band intact) vocal harmonies by David Crosby and Graham Nash were angelic. And a cameo from David Bowie doing Syd's tune arnold layne and comfortably numb was interesting. They do include Richard Wright's versions on disk 2. It is amazing to me that Gilmour could at his age elevate to the level he did at this show. At sixty something to maybe perform your best show is personally moving. If you've lost track of Gilmour,you will be moved. It's like going back in time. Only better.ps. On an island is best listened to in a comfortable chair with your eye's closed. It will take you there. Addendum: Funny,I didn't read any reviews here before buying or listening to it. And after listening, posting my comments. I concede stealing about everyones opinions. This being said, I think it strongly indicates the deep quality and magic Dave and friends along with the filming crew captured. I only hope he tours in the USA again. I will NOT miss that one.
22 comments| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 7, 2016
Worst BluRay ever. Horrible video quality. Looks like a poor quality upscaled copy from a used VHS tape. Sound cuts out at several points. Very disappointed, will be returning it to Amazon, and I have never returned anything before now.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 23, 2007
When David's album "On an Island" came out, I was a little skeptical. It didn't blow my socks off (but of course it's better than the work by most other guitarists out there today). Well, after seeing the album performed live in its entirety on this DVD, I have a greater appreciation for the album. It's a superbly crafted piece of music, even with some of the lighter, fluffier lyrics. Gilmour truly shows his brilliance as a guitarist.

This 2-disc DVD is crammed full of material. I bought the Best Buy version for $12, and it included an additional EP with a few live tracks. The concert footage and sound quality are excellent. David is joined on stage by David Bowie, David Crosby, and Graham Nash. The concert is long and satisfying, and there are lots of extras, including behind the scenes footage and songs from other performances.

This DVD is a beautiful piece of work, and it offers lots of material for the Gilmour and Floyd fan. Enjoy.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 19, 2015
David Gilmour exumes the style, grace and fire from the guitar as no other in history has. Remember That Night is his celebration night at the Royal Albert Hall. Launching from one hit to another and back again he brings his axe to fever pitch over and over. This production takes you back to the time when he was with 'The Floyd' and beyond...to lava lamp lit rooms and lazer lit auditoriums of the past and back again. It rather makes you wish he had one more hit and one more LP left to relate. Regardless, he has the greatest guitar hits of his past together on this DVD, and it is great to "Remember That Night" Live from the Royal Albert Hall!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 2, 2013
There are some really good performances, in fact a lot of really great material in this 2 disc package! It has been my limited experience with the Pink Floyd Pulse concert and with this collection that the attention to detail, full rich sound, and the quality of the recordings have been outstanding. Great mixing, great depth and soundstage presentation and great, clean, full spectrum sound from deep bass to the high notes of the Stratocasters. The second disc offers not only more great music performances, but some personal glimpses of Mr. Gilmore's personal life, his recording, writing, work perspectives, and his devotion to music. There are also some candid views of the other associates, backstage and on the road, and their personalities as well. There are many, many hours of real music pleasure in this collection, I do recommend it!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 5, 2017
Can you really ever get enough David Gilmour? This is a phenomenal concert with guest stars included. Wish I had been there that night. Musicianship is superb and sound quality amazing. A must own Blue Ray.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 19, 2013
If you love Floyd, and you love spectacular quitar work, get this set.
First, the concert itself. The concert is incredible, with various Floyd hits, as well as the entirety of Gilmour's new album. Nobody misses a beat. The sound quality is incredible, as well as video. The one thing I did not like about it was during Echoes, the middle section where the squealing type-sounds occur is less audible. You can hear it, but not to the expectation I had. Besides that, this concert has nothing to hold against.
The second disc is special features, documentaries, extra live tracks, and a few music videos. This compililation of videos is incredible itself if you enjoy documentaries and such. It's very good, as well as funny at points. The extra live tracks sound incredible as well, same as the concert.
All in all, if you love Floyd, and you love quitar work, and one hell of a show, get this. The price is incredible for the content as well.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 30, 2016
I was about 5 minutes into listening and thinking, this is no better audio than a recording from youtube. Then I remembered that I had not reset the audio output of my Blu Ray player form when I had it hooked to an old stereo amp. Switched to uncompressed bitstream multichannel, viola, it is impressively good sound. Very much enjoyed "Wearing the Inside Out" on disc 2. There are only a few guitarists that are in what I call "the David Gilmour class".
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 2, 2017
If you love the Pink Floyd, you will love this. Absolutely sensational.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse