Salon Beauty Fall Reading Hallo nav_sap_hiltonhonors_launch Learn more about Amazon Music Unlimited PCB for Musical Instruments $69.99 Handmade Tote Bags Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon curbpremiere curbpremiere curbpremiere  Three new members of the Echo family All-New Fire HD 8, starting at $79.99 All-New Kindle Oasis GNO Shop Now HTL17_gno



on August 7, 2010
This is a BIG beautifully illustrated book, with lots of text making a good read. The story is amazing. Although I was very familiar with the main points of David Hicks life (interested in both design and the Mountbattens) it was like reading a good analytical biography. The hubris, humiliation, triumph and trial are all here- and unvarnished, give or take some romantic escapades.
It also has LOTS of pictures and descriptions of interiors, gardens, designs. When compared to the recent Mark Hampton book, which is very good, this one had just as many pictures, and just as much analysis of design, but with a much fuller story.
There are some small illustrations right through, but in every one of the eight sections there are several glossy mag full pages of illustration.
I was going to give it four stars, because the type font makes the text a bit difficult to read, and the captions even more so. When I was griping about this, my non-design spouse pointed out that the choice might have been between size of picture and the size and quantity of text. So five stars.
(Slight warning: if you have several of Hicks design books, you'll find some replication of photographs.)
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 11, 2013
A friend and contemporary of Mark Hampton; it seems they were able to compromise and still follow their ambitions for the project in which they were involved.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 9, 2015
Classic!!!!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 2, 2014
Exactly what I needed as a special gift for a friend
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 29, 2009
This book is more about Hick's life than about his work or style. I am glad I bought it, but expected more: better glossier pictures, bigger pictures instead of so many small ones....I guess it's a book a son would write about the father he admires, but as a reader, I am not interested in his marriage, his private life, etc. For that I could buy a biography. I expected more about his work, better pictures, less about his life.
0Comment| 26 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 19, 2014
i love color!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 12, 2009
many thanks to his wonderful son for writing this book. so much information. just about the best book in a long time
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 14, 2010
I found this book interesting, however, one would need to know a little about
this famous english decorator before purchasing.
I would have liked more photographs of his work but apart from that I did enjoyed reading about this man.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 6, 2015
really boring book; definitely a waste of money
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 4, 2010
This a beautiful book on several levels. Ashley Hicks has provided an unsentimental and insightful overview of his father's career and masterfully edited a lifetime of designing and jetsetting into one gloriously rich weighty tome.
The book is layered with personal fragments of Hick's life...family phtographs, cherished heirlooms and notes from his sketchbooks. It really is an intensely readable combination of biography/design history.
Predictably, there are several previously published examples of his work (notably, from "Living with Design"), but this in no way diminishes the relevance of what is on offer here. For anyone interested in this great designer, this book is a must.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse


Need customer service? Click here