Industrial Deals HPC Best Books of the Year Holiday Dress Guide nav_sap_hiltonhonors_launch For a limited time. 3 months for $0.99. Amazon Music Unlimited. New subscribers only. Terms and conditions apply. STEM Limited time offer Try it first with samples Handmade Last Minute Gifts Holiday Home Gift Guide Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon JCVJ JCVJ JCVJ  Echo Devices starting at $29.99 Save $30 on All-New Fire HD 8. Limited-time offer. $20 off Kindle Paperwhite GNO Shop now HTL17_gno

Customer reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars
23
David Hockney: A Bigger Exhibition
Format: Hardcover|Change
Price:$39.21+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime

on July 22, 2017
Great condition! Really informative beautiful book.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on December 29, 2013
I saw the exhibition and had to have the book!
It is everything I expected, beautiful reproductions , incisive writting , And most importantly very comprehensive ! It gives a wonderful insight to the various stages of Hockney's work many of which I was unaware of.

It came well packaged ,no damage and very quick delivery !
0Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on February 5, 2014
Hockey is one of the most brilliant colorists ever. The exhibit this book accompanies was awe inspiring, and I bought the book as a way to remember it. My one complaint - the reason for only three stars - is that the colors are off. Of course printed illustrations of digital art will never be as bright as the originals, but since books are digitally composed, why can't the colors match better? I have experience printing digital art so I know that some printers can turn RGB digital images into perfect CMYK prints.

The catalog is still very good, just know that what you are seeing isn't accurate.
11 comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on November 7, 2013
Excellent text; extremely well illustrated. It presents a large body of work seldom seen and never in one place. The exhibition currently is at the de Young Museum in San Francisco where I live. Reading this book before going to the exhibition greatly enhanced my experience by eliminating the need to read the text mounted on the wall so I could focus just on the pictures.
0Comment| 19 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on January 28, 2014
Lovely book about David Hockney. The illustrations of his paintings are first class. I'd often see folks leafing through the book as it resided on the coffee table.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on January 26, 2014
Enjoyed this wonderful new Hockney show at the deYoung, but was looking for a more reasonably priced catalog. This one seems to be of the same top quality, and identical to the one for sale at the museum.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on February 2, 2014
I spent a long time in the art show when it was at the de Young Museum in San Francisco, and this was the best way to sum it up. So many of the pieces were so huge a book can't do them justice, but the book brings back great memories. What a genius!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on February 28, 2016
Always loved David Hockney work. Giving the limits of the printing technology I'm surprised how really good the reproduction of pantings and drawings are.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on March 10, 2017
It is exactly what I expected.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on March 14, 2016
Great books. It highlights well one of the most prolific Hockney's period.

Well done.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse



Need customer service? Click here