Amazon Vehicles Beauty STEM nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc All-New Fire 7, starting at $49.99 Limited time offer Wickedly Prime Handmade Wedding Shop Shop Popular Services masterpiece masterpiece masterpiece  Introducing Echo Show All-New Fire HD 8 Kids Edition, starting at $129.99 Kindle Oasis Trade it in. Fund the next. National Bike Month on Amazon Ellen

Format: DVD|Change
Price:$45.67+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 203 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 799 reviews
on March 18, 2017
Classic film, can watch it over and over. The effects aren't modern, but a little grey paint and you have yourself a zombie. This movie has something to say, but can also be enjoyed simply for the suspense!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 6, 2011
The original Dawn of the Dead didn't make a big splash when it was released over 30 years ago, but over time society found out its true value. This 4 disc special edition is really the only one to get when it comes to this film. Featuring all 3 versions of the film plus a loaded documentary disc, this is one fans should NOT be without. For those who don't know, DOTD is about a world where zombies have overrun society, and while there are a slew of survivors all over the world, the point has come where life as we know it will come to an end. While the original Night of the Living Dead that was released in 1968 featured a world where zombies were the minority, this film picks up years later where zombies have taken over the majority of society, and whoever is left must fend for themselves. The movie focuses on 4 survivors who take refuge in a shopping mall and try to make a new life there, meanwhile later in the film tensions spikes as they know they cannot be comfortable forever and must fend off invaders.
Aside from great effects, fantastic over the top (for its time) gore, and an underlying statement about our zombified society, what really makes DOTD shine is its characterization. All 4 main characters are built up throughout the film and you begin to really care about them; the life they start to make in the shopping mall makes one wonder if they would do the same. George Romero has always had a touch for building good characters and this film is no exception. Critically acclaimed and arguably the GREATEST horror movie ever made (in my personal opinion, it absolutely is), this is one that no fan should be without and no avid horror fan should pass up.

Disc 1 includes the U.S. Theatrical version, which actually is George Romero's preferred version, running at 127 minutes you'll get the most well-balanced version of the film available. Includes all the gore and blood that was meant to be in theaters, as well as the genius soundtrack.

Disc 2 is the full extended version of the film which adds 12 minutes to the original length, running at 139 minutes. While the soundtrack to this version is the same, the movie features extra scenes but at times can just feel a tad too long; still though, because the movie itself is so great one wouldn't mind sitting in an extra 12 minutes. For me personally this is MY preferred version, but contrary to popular opinion, this is NOT the version George Romero himself prefers.

Disc 3 is the European cut of the film, and seems to be mostly everyone's LEAST cared for version of the film. And for good cause. The movie runs 118 minutes long and the soundtrack is greatly reworked for the European audience, featuring somewhat stranger ideas in terms of musical tension that comes in the form of funny synth sounds that while still workable, still takes away greatly from the original soundtrack which featured zombies walking and moaning to goofy "carnival-like" music that really made George Romero's "zombie nation" statement applicable and note-worthy. Furthermore, in this version, the ending is simply a black screen with credits, whereas in the other versions, credits were atop more zombie "pranks" with the same carnival type of music, that while on the surface sounds goofy, it still gave the film a pretty creepy touch that gets you smirking on the outside, while feeling a bit uncomfy on the inside.
The European version of this film is basically cut to make this more of a straight out action film rather than a psychological spine tingler that the other versions were so good at being. Classic director Dario Argento remade this version to appeal to European audiences, and while it does the job, more art-film enthusiasts may be turned off by it's almost complete lack of psychological creepiness.

Disc 4 features 4 different documentaries that fans of this film will absolutely pine over. 2 features are over an hour long each in length, and contain FULL cast and production team interviews all these years later, therefore it's VERY fun to see where all these actors are and how they've aged (may I say that the female protagonist of this film, Gaylen Ross, still looks just as gorgeous as she did 30 years ago! Wow!), including George Romero himself. Plus 2 shorter features that are home video shot, one featuring some cast members and zombies (the actors from way back when) going to the actual mall where the film was shot, as well as home videos made during the production of this film. All in all, the documentary feature gives fans a greatly detailed influx of info on this grand horror masterpiece.

At this price, it's an easy decision, if you're already a fan of the film, you owe it to yourself to add this to your cart IMMEDIATELY. And for those who have never seen the film, for the price listed this is one buy that will absolutely not let you down.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 6, 2016
Essential for any fan of Romero's zombie world, fans of A&E's The Walking Dead, or Brooks' World War Z. This very complete edition includes well-restored multiple versions with recuts and significant added footage.

The box is handsome and durable, and houses the DVDs nicely.

Don't forget the supplemental comic and production notes that accompany this value-packed tribute to the world of "Zeds."
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 7, 2016
An incredible four DVD box set; with, all three versions of Dawn of the Dead (1978). Furthermore,there is an additional documentary disc. Also, each version of the movie contains various commentary tracks; including, cast,crew, production, writing staff and even legendary director George Romero himself. Initially, due to budgetary constraints, I found the price of the new box set cost prohibitive. However, I waited until Zover stocks offered an an almost new box set in very good condition that appears to have been played only one or two times. Specifically, the box set is in excellent condition with no scratches or abrasion on the box containing the set or the DVD's themselves. Moreover, the commemorative Dawn of the Dead comic book and production still inserts were in almost pristine condition. Most importantly, I purchased this box set in very good condition; for, a fraction of a new box set. the price. With respect to the film "Dawn of the Dead" this 1978 version is a worthy successor to Night of the Living Dead; thereby, vastly surpassing its predecessor in the areas of script, direction, production values, artistic merit, and commercial success. Also, Tom Savini demonstrated his special make effects genius, acting, and athletic prowess by doing his own stunts. Essentially, Romero and Savini are an incomparable two man tour de force; within, their given areas of expertise.
11 comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 12, 2016
The movie did not come sealed. The item description is misleading. Its in the old 3d glasses style 3d, not passive or active 3d. The movie was open and it didn't even come with glasses. Do not waste your money if you are looking for the new 3d technology in this product. Good for collecting, that's it.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 28, 2014
If you have not seen the original dawn of the dead stop reading and just buy this. It is the Zombie movie that all others aspire to be. It has hardcore violence and gore (with late 1970s realism), good acting, an oddly believable story and some actually chilling moments. While the pre-CGI special effects look totally fake, this movie still works. So, if you are too young to remember the furor when this first came out or if you are coming back to this for the first time in years (or decades), it is still totally worthwhile to grab a copy before this classic disappears.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon August 25, 2006
I was raised on this movie, much to my mothers chagrin. Every single weekend I had to rent it. I loved Night of the Living dead so much, that when saw this one at my local video store I went nuts. George Romero is a genius; even my 9 year old mind could see that. The whole plotline where the dead suddenly rise and want to eat the living and a group of survivor's hole up in a mall couldn't have made me happier, a whole entire mall as your house? what? YES! The makeup and special effects were sub par, blue tint and Hare Krishna's, but I still wouldn't have wanted them near me. I understand now as an adult the social commentary Romero was making, but beyond all of that his movies are just plain fun. No one has ever been able to touch his writing ability, his characters, his locations, and his zombies. No One. I even picked up the soundtrack featuring The Goblins, I still hum the music when I go to the mall. My favorite Zombie in this movie has to be the Nurse, she actually was spoken to by Romero for being "too over the top" with her flailing and facial expressions, just watching her Zomb-out cracks me up. My favorite character is "Fly Boy" the pilot, in his suave jacket, slick hair. Throughout the movie he is just a wimp, he cannot shoot, he isnt reliable to his pregnant girlfriend, he does the wrong thing at every turn BUT when he finally is eaten in the elevator he turns into the biggest badest nastiest zombie who has retained important knowledge and who is given the best makeup treatment to boost the importance of his change. Fly-zombie twitches, and bends his neck, and lurches around gathering the other clueless corpses upward and onwards to the secret hiding place of his hopeful buffet, the ending is classic romero and everyone who loves him will know what i mean. I only watch this maybe once a month now, I will pop it in when I am cleaning , or when I am home sick and need comforting. I realize that my warped mind has now equalized zombies to chicken soup but I give no apologies for it. SO buy this movie, relish it, eat it up, forgive it for being outdated a bit and cheesy at times, see it for what it is, THE single greatest zombie movie of all time.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 26, 2005
When Anchor Bay announced they were comming out with a Dawn of the Dead "ultimate Edition" they really meant it. You can see really see the blood sweat and tears that went through this dvd by looking at the cover. This review will mostly refer to the dvd, i don't have to explain what a cult classic this horror movie is. This is deff. the landmark of all zombie flicks. you zombie fans know that!! Enough said, the moment I popped in the first disc i was blown away by the transfer. The Dts. 5.1 surround sound really gives the movie a great boost. From every zombie moan to every bullet being fired, my speakers turn my room into a mall! (Slight exaggeration) There is very little grain even the night shots are pretty decent. As for the second disc (directors cut), which iv been waiting for years to see is simply amazing. Although the director's cut is only a 2.0 surround sound it still is stunning to see the 139 minute master piece. The special features on the first and second disc are weak but hey thats what the BONUS DISC is for right? On the director's cut there are some actual commericials from the Monroeville mall in the late 70's in case your interested. The commentary is pretty solid too, with DVD producers Richard P. Rubinstein and Perry Martin. I personlly like the commentary on the first disc with Make up master Tom Savini and the King of horror himself George A. Romero. You also get a comic book preview. Now for disc three, (European version) You get the cast commentary with Ken Foree, Scott H. Reiniger, and Gaylen Ross. The sound presented in this European version has good quality, 5.1 surround sound, 2.0 dolby surround, or the simple original mono. Picture wise, the transfer is decent. The special features are good too, you get all the international tv. spots, trailers, artwork, ect. You get the idea... Now for disc four, The Dead will walk Documentary is quite stunning, you get amazing interviews with just about everyone involved on the set of Dawn of the dead, on top of that you get the original documentary, you also get to look at home movies from zombie extra Robert Langer, the best part on the 4th disc is deff. the Monroeville Mall tour by the big man himself Ken Foree, Ken Foree makes the tour entertaining and keeps it brief. The packaging is amazing as well, you get an actual Dawn of the dead Comic book along with a good solid insert on all 4 discs. Overall one of the best movies and dvd packages of all time from Anchor Bay. A must buy!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon September 17, 2001
[...] This is essentially the print released during the original 1978 release; the only difference is some additional material added during the police dock scene. The Cannes cut and the so-called "Director's Edition" are interesting, but not what Romero intended for domestic audiences.
That being said, "Dawn" is no ordinary horror film! So many reviewers completely miss the point. DOTD, in my view, does NOT suffer from anachronism. Indeed, this brilliant satire of consumerism is very appropriately set during the 1970s. The excess, the self-absorption of the "me" decade is a perfect backdrop. The special effects are indeed cartoonish and not particularly scary. This is perfectly appropriate for the satirical nature of a film that some interpret as a very dark sarcastic tragedy.
The film is a continuation of the scenario of "Night of the Living Dead". The recently dead have risen and are attacking the living. "Dawn" starts 3 weeks after "Night", and the living dead have begun to get the upper-hand over humanity. To make matters worse, many of the human survivors refuse to acknowledge the situation, in some cases inciting rioting, looting, and violence among the remaining human population. Four survivors from diverse backgrounds take to the skies in a traffic helicopter to find refuge, and they land in a shopping mall in an area overrun by the living dead. The quartet manage to wall themselves within the mall and set up a small survivor colony. The nearly limitless supply of goods and diversions in their shopping mall citadel appeals to their natural consumerism, and they spend the next several months in a fog of denial and overconsumption. Of course, such a short-sighted society will eventually feed upon itself and collapse...
Those viewers wanting brutality and violence by themselves (without the interference of Romero's subtext) will not especially enjoy this film. Alternative films directe by Fulci, HG Lewis, etc. should satisfy this audience. There had never been a film like this up until 1978, and it's unfair to compare DOTD with its successors.
Technical details are average across the board, note that details about the aspect ration can be found on IMDB and elsewhere. Extras are sparse; this film cries out for at least a directors commentary and digital cleanup. There are rumors of a future Anchor Bay edition containing much more than this package offers; in the meantime, this edition will occupy a needed place in a thinking person's horror collection. See "Document of the Dead" (dir: Roy Frumkes) for an informative but dry commentary on the making of "Dawn".
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 12, 2013
There's just something about Dawn Of The Dead (the original, not the okay but hyper-banal 2004 remake). It somehow manages to rise above the zombie genre, the horror genre, the survival genre, the 70s schlock genre - no matter how you try to pigeonhole this movie, it stands alone. And despite having seen it now innumerable times since the advent of home video, I'm still not quite sure why. Because there's most certainly a "then" and "now" aspect to viewing the film. "Then" the movie was controversial because of its OTT gore - now, you see more gruesome effects on commercials. "Then", of course, the film felt like it might be happening out there, somewhere, right now - now, despite being post-apocalyptic, this film is as 1978 as a 1978 fly trapped in 1978 amber (just watching it makes me smell waterbeds and ferns). "Then", the shopping mall actually was a very important place, exciting and new - now, people may still be going to malls, I don't know, but they are certainly whale bone farmhouses that can be avoided. Yet somehow the trappings that should mire this movie in the past actually allow its better points to shine out more clearly as time passes. All Romero zombie flicks are essentially "12 Angry Men"-esque stage plays thrown into a stew of the undead - so now that the "shock/slock" aspects are kind of nullified by time, the core of characters has to carry the weight of the film and that they certainly do (unless you're just interested in having brains splattered on you in 3D in which case just skip this one and find the latest digital gore fest to stir your innards).

Of course, the general idea of most zombie movies is not zombies at all, but the actions of the survivors, especially the negative interactions between characters as the foibles and pettiness of the human species continues to assert itself, even in the face of extinction. From a certain point of view, the zombies might be considered the "good guys", or humanity in a pure state of utopian harmony - they like each other - the only thing they dislike are humans and, generally, by the end of the movie (if not before) we share their negative point of view, even if we aren't quite ready to disembowel and consume the characters. And that, I think, is what makes Dawn of the Dead special - you have 4 characters who, despite minor disagreements and bickering, work together and genuinely lean on each other in a way that makes you identify and root for them. In "Night Of" the male protagonists are simply interested in asserting their dominance, while the females meekly do what they are told, and everybody goes down with that ship. In "Day Of", everybody is so nasty that it's hardly a tragedy when it all goes wrong. However, even the biker gang in Dawn Of The Dead comes across more as heedless hedonists living in the moment than any sort of evil assortment of humanity's worst traits. So you might say that Dawn of the Dead is the only pro-human zombie film, even in its depiction of zombies, because, rather than a mindless horde of rotting flesh, the low budget necessity of having people depict zombification through facial ticks and grey paint allows them to assert identities and humanity (however putrified) that is touching in its own way.

It doesn't hurt that this is the only movie to explore the possibility of living in a mall after the apocalypse, with unlimited power. And the movie is full of humor - it pervades the film so that the tragic moments actually take on a poignant sting, as opposed to the whole thing being a never ending tide of gloom re: The Walking Dead for example (which I do like, but it could certainly use more levity to offset its own self-importance).
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse