Bubble Witch Saga 3 Industrial Deals Best Books of the Month Red Shoes We Love nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Stream your favorites. Amazon music Unlimited. Learn more. All-New Fire 7, starting at $49.99 Starting at $39.99 Grocery Handmade Gift Shop Home and Garden Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon TheTick TheTick TheTick  Three new members of the Echo family Fire HD 8 Kids Edition, starting at $129.99 Kindle Paperwhite AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Shop now TG18PP_gno



on July 9, 2017
TWO defective game boards with missing pieces! The first game we received had 5 stations instead of the 15 that were supposed to be included and the game board had creases on it. We processed an exchange which arrived promptly. However, this board was in EVEN WORSE SHAPE! Crinkles everywhere and it was delaminated in spots and, once again, was MISSING TRAIN STATIONS! Once, ok, but twice? I feel like these are games that quality control should have rejected but these are definitely not right. Returning the replacement game as well and buying it locally for $5 less. I am including photos showing the instructions that state 15 train stations (3 of each color... we only got one of each color in both boxes.) -and other photos showing the crinkling and parts we received as well as photos of the game bought locally. The quality is very different and I would love an explanation as to why this occurred not once but twice! (I could have added even more photos but you get the idea.) Also, notice the color differences and how each box insert is different from the one sold locally. Strange.
review imagereview imagereview imagereview imagereview imagereview imagereview imagereview imagereview imagereview imagereview imagereview imagereview image
22 comments| 15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on August 23, 2017
Firstly, the game itself is a 5 star game. I purchased this game used from the Amazon warehouse deal and the box isn't even original. It's faded and thinner cardboard than the version in stores. I was also missing 10 train stations (2 in each color) and a black train. There were also about 10 extra blue trains. After a little research, it seems this is a counterfeit copy. It had the inspected sticker on the box as well. If it was inspected, it was NOT a job well done. From searching the internet and from other recent Amazon reviews, this seems to be a common problem with this particular game. Very disappointed in Amazon's quality control. I won't be returning it due to inconvenience, and I'll just use something else to replace the missing train stations, but Amazon should be clear that there are going to be missing components and/or if it is counterfeit, take it out of circulation.
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on February 16, 2017
I now own Ticket to Ride: Europe and Ticket to Ride: Nordic. I enjoy Europe, but Nordic remains my favorite. Here are some of the good and bad things about Ticket to Ride: Europe, compared to both Nordic and the original (USA) version.

Pros:
+ More complex than the original with the addition of locomotives, tunnels, and stations. (Stations aren't in Nordic.)
+ Plays up to 5 players, a potential improvement on Nordic if you play with larger groups.
+ Some cities will be more familiar and easier to find than in Nordic. (And easier to find if you're European!)

Cons:
- Art is not as pretty as in Nordic and the cards feel slightly lower quality.
- Compared to the US edition, the cities may be unfamiliar and harder to find for American players.
- While it scales from 2-5, it does not play as smoothly with 2-3 players as Nordic does. If you are only/mainly playing with 2-3, I'd highly recommend Nordic over either Europe or the US versions.

Overall this a really fun game that can be enjoyed with just about any group. It is strategic enough to hold your interest while simple enough to teach in 5 minutes. If you already have the US Ticket to Ride, it's worth getting this one for the added components which make it a slightly heavier game.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on August 5, 2010
Ticket to Ride Europe is an improved follow-up to the original Ticket to Ride. It improves upon the original by coming with standard-sized cards, by adding ferry and tunnel routes, and by adding train stations. It is a stand-alone spin off, so the original TTR is not required to play.

Much like the original TTR, TTR:Europe involves claiming train routes to complete city-to-city destinations on destination tickets. On each turn, players have take one out of three possible actions:
-- collect train cards (which are used to claim routes)
-- claim a route (by spending train cards). The routes score points as they are claimed, and their point value grows progressively with length: 1 length = 1 point, 2 length = 2 points, 3 length = 4 points, 4 length = 7 points, 6 length = 15 points, 8 length = 21 points).
-- take destination tickets (which give bonus points if you are able to complete the destination by the end of the game, but COST points if you are not able to complete). The player takes 3 destination cards and must keep at least one card, but has the option to reject up to two. The makes it a bit of a gamble - the player may get destination tickets they already have completed, or they may get destinations that are difficult to impossible to complete. The destinations can be close city connections worth a few points or cross continent connections worth 20 points.

Since each turn involves only one of three possible actions, the turns move very quickly and keep everyone engaged in the game. If you take your turn and get up to get a drink, it will usually be your next turn before you get back to the table. The scoring is fairly well balanced, and since you don't know what destinations other players have or haven't completed, the score can change dramatically at the end of the game.

Unlike the original TTR, there are two new route types that add a twist to the game. The first is the 'ferry' route. These are all 'any color' routes, but they take one or two locomotive (wild) cards to claim. The second is the 'tunnel' route. These are either a specific color or 'any color'. When a player wishes to claim a tunnel route, they state their intention and three train cards are drawn from the top of the deck. For each card that is the same color as the route, the player must add that many cards to complete the route, so it could cost anywhere from zero to three extra cards to build. If the player is unable to add enough cards to claim the route, the turn is over.

The other addition to the TTR:Europe that is not in TTR:USA are the train stations. The train stations allow a player to use the route of another player in order to complete a destination ticket. These can prove very useful when the right cards aren't coming your way, or if a section of the board get clogged by other players. They come with a cost: 1 card to place the 1st, 2 cards to place the second, 3 cards to place the 3rd, and a 4 point penalty for each station placed at the end of the game. However, if the station helps to complete a route, the 4 point penalty is usually a worthwhile tradeoff.

TTR:Europe even has bit of educational value. The city names are in their local names, so Moskow=Moskva, Munich=Munchen, Rome=Roma, Vienna=Wien, etc.

If you are looking for a game to add to your game nights, consider Ticket to Ride Europe. If you are on the fence between the USA version and the Europe version, you'll be happier with the Europe version.
0Comment| 193 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on September 2, 2017
Edit - received a replacement; board better but still poor quality compared to original Ticket to Ride game. Main fold point of board is splitting. Received the 15 train station pieces in the replacement game. Game play gets a 5 stars, quality of components received get 2 stars. I just can't get the energy to return this again so I will deal with the flaws. At least it is playable this time.

Original - Poor quality board was wrinkled and warped, making the game essentially unplayable. Cards and trains were well made. Set was missing 10 of the 15 train station pieces needed to play. I've played the game before at a friend's house so I know it is fun; just this copy was unplayable.
11 comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on November 14, 2015
'Gateway Plus' because the 'Europe' variant adds several new mechanisms that create a richer gameplay experience, while retaining most of the original's elegance. Players can take one of four actions on a turn - take train cards (to build routes in the future), take destination tickets (to acquire new points scoring objectives), claim routes by using the appropriate set of train cards (to score points and progress against objectives), or build a train station (to claim a route in alternate way). This simplicity allows the game to move at a very fast clip because players have usually chosen their action by the time their turns come around.

The addition of train stations, tunnels, and ferries add a light, but welcome layer of complexity. They also work well from a thematic point of view. Train stations offer additional flexibility. They mitigate the element of chance inherent to drawing destination tickets or being blocked off by an opponent, and they are almost necessary given that the European map is much less interconnected than its United States counterpart. Tunnels add an element of risk that forces players to think more about hand management. And ferries change the way players go about acquiring and using their locomotives.

It's little wonder that 'Ticket to Ride' games stand out as one of the most well-known and beloved gateway game series. For me, 'Ticket to Ride: Europe' is superior to vanilla 'Ticket to Ride' in almost every way with significantly higher replay and engagement value.

Pros:
+ Retains most of the elegance and simplicity of vanilla 'Ticket to Ride'
+ Richer gameplay thanks to addition of new gameplay mechanisms
+ Players feel a sense of accomplishment even if they don't win
+ Moves at a fast clip; players quickly get into the groove of pre-planning their turn
+ Beautiful board game with high quality, colorful game components
+ Just enough strategy and optionality for a gateway game
+ Beats out the original in terms of replayability

Cons:
- Train and railroad theme is not for everyone
- Location names can be difficult to read across the table
- Luck of the draw can make a big impact in regards to destination tickets
- Slightly more complicated than vanilla Ticket to Ride
- Little player interaction outside seeking to block others
- Works with 2, but not very well
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on August 15, 2017
I hear this is a great game, but this vendor is up to no good! I purchased this product in August 2017. It arrived damaged and without the clear plastic wrap that indicates it's unopened. When I opened the box, all of the cards were mixed up -- a complete mess inside the box. On top of that, only 5/15 train stations were included. I'm not sure what else was missing, as I decided to return it right away after these discoveries and headed straight to Target to buy a more reliable version. I strongly suggest avoiding this vendor, as it sounds like many people are having this problem.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on November 25, 2016
This is a genuinely outstanding board game, one that I personally cherish a lot, and my family as well. I had this in my wishlist for a long time, because let's face it ... these games are not cheap, but now it came as a deal (I guess for the Black Friday Season), and I did not doubt it a second. We have already played three nights in a row, and we just love it! I was familiar with the US version of this game, but I find this European version to be better, not only because of the Ferries, Stations, and Tunnels, but just the layout of the old continent makes me feel more immersed into the game.
I'd say if this is something you wanted to get, just get it, even at regular price, this is absolutely worth every penny. I am not suprised it got more than 1,000 5 star reviews!!!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on August 19, 2017
I bought this item know that the box was slightly damaged which was fine with me because it was much cheaper, but nothing in the product description said anything about missing pieces. There were two missing train stations of each color. This makes a big difference in the game play by not having them. I had to use made up pieces to account for the missing train stations. The addition of train station feature was one of the main reasons I bought this game over the base version. I'm disappointed that these missing train stations were not included in the game description. I don't know if there is a way to get more of these or if I can be refunded because I was given a product without all the pieces or knowledge about them being missing. If I knew they were missing. I wouldn't have purchased this game.
11 comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on August 30, 2017
Bought this as a birthday present for my daughter - unfortunately, she opened it after the window to return. It was missing train station pieces (only had one of each color, should have had 3 of each color). I contacted to manufacturer and was told that they would not replace the missing pieces because the game was likely a counterfeit. Very annoyed and now we can't play the game.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you are posting in the form of a question.
Please enter a question.
See all 41 answered questions


Need customer service? Click here