Your Garage Luxury Beauty Best Books of the Month STEM nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Limited time offer Wickedly Prime Handmade Mother's Day Gifts hgg17 Shop Popular Services animespring animespring animespring  Introducing Echo Look Starting at $49.99 Kindle Oasis Nintendo Switch Shop Now disgotg_gno_17

Platform: Xbox 360|Change
Price:$13.69+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 55 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 75 reviews
on January 8, 2012
Dead Rising 2 video game was a prompt delivery and great game. Lots of extras in the game and good graphics. Glad we bought this one and would do again.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 11, 2013
this was one of the hard to find games that my man looked for for a long time he was happy to get this one under the tree.He has the other two in the series and is glad to now have the whole collection.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 19, 2011
As a fan of Dead Rising since the first game, the idea of a version of Dead Rising 2 with the original hero, freelance photojournalist Frank West (he's covered wars, y'kno- *shot*) was very enticing. But after finishing Dead Rising 2: Off the Record, I feel like it just wasn't a good fit for Frank.

The game is mostly a rehashed version of DR2, with some new psychopaths, survivors, and weapons. Obviously, the dialog is slightly different with a new lead character, but without spoiling too much, the storyline doesn't really diverge until near the end. Then, it gets a lot more interesting.

Ultimately, though, Frank just doesn't really fit as well into this story as Chuck Greene did. This version of Frank doesn't feel like the real thing from Dead Rising 1 or Case West, which is odd since Off the Record and Case West have the same writer. His reactions are less believable, and he spews far too many (grudgingly amusing) one-liners for my taste. He still has the same great voice actor, Terence J. Rotolo, but fans who buy this game just for Frank may be in for a bit of a letdown.

Frank's camera returns as another method of earning experience points and Achievements, but to be honest, I often forgot that it was there. Using it is still fun, though, and the interface has been jazzed up a little since DR1. The sidequest where you can photograph special PP stickers hidden all over the city remains an obscure annoyance.

With that out of the way, Off the Record improves a lot on the DR formula, without changing it. You no longer have to choose missions from a realtime menu, there are checkpoints, and grappling with the series' notoriously annoying transceiver isn't an issue since Frank receives a hands-free headset right off the bat.

The other main addition is Infinity Mode, where you can cast off the chains of the story mode and annoying survivors for special challenges scattered around Fortune City. Unfortunately, my initial taste of Infinity Mode was bitter, because my level was too low to complete challenges. Coming back to it after completing the story mode is more enjoyable, however. The challenges are a fun and occasionally bawdy (like "Stiff Back", where - oh, I'll let you find out) way of testing your zombie slaughtering skills. It does drag a bit between challenges where you have to kill a fixed number of zombies to unlock the next one.

After waiting four years for Dead Rising to come out of its sequel limbo, I thought that I couldn't get enough of the series, but after Off the Record, I think that Capcom Vancouver should perhaps let the world wait a spell before unleashing the zombie horde yet again, and make Dead Rising 3 something really special.
0Comment| 14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 29, 2012
Dead Rising 2: Off the Record follows up on Frank West, the protagonist of the original Dead Rising.

The premise is still the same, a limited amount of time to uncover the truth behind the outbreak and survivors to rescue. Weapons can be combined to create powerful new ones.

My favourite part is the sandbox mode, a free-roaming unlimited time mode where you can complete challenges and explore Fortune City.

There is online multi-player, but no local multi-play.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 31, 2013
There are a lot more ways to kill zombies in this game than in the previous games. Awesome graphics! They brought back the original character, which is cool! You're gonna love it if you're a zombie gamer!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 29, 2016
Hello random Amazon shopper. Looking for an older game, that CLAIMS new, but really isn't? Well look somewhere else. Amazingly, the game was actually new. (Nonoriginal shrinkwrap of course) but I peeled of the xbox sticker on the side, and sure enough it was a new game. Will test for issues but as is it's worth the 5. Good job guys.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 8, 2013
If you liked the first one, this is the same zombie smashing, hacking, bloody fun. Sadly, part way through several of the missions the game has frozen up and died. God, how I hate escort missions to begin with and having to repeat them has made the story mode unplayable. I bought it for the sandbox mode anyway.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 5, 2014
I like Deadrising Off the record better than the original deadrising 2. Off the record is a little bit better constructed than the original deadrising, and I love the camera feature that is brought back from deadrising 1. Off the record IS NOT A NEW DEADRISING it is just a little bit different from the original deadrising 2, new character,new places in the mall,new combo weapons,and new enemy`s to fight,and of course the camera feature. I would recommend this game to anyone who likes any of the deadrising games,its worth buying.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 13, 2014
What more needs to be said when you can attach a few chainsaws to a broom handle, then that on a bike and ramming through hordes of the undead? Only if you can do so dressed as a half pig-half stripper photographer while escorting a drunk woman dressed as a mermaid. If you've played deasrising 2 there is little need to play this one, it has all the same weapons and only one new area.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 5, 2015
Game arrived in perfect condition and on time. I've wasted tons of hours so far and a couple of obligations from playing so that means a great buy. Now time to order Deadrising 3 which looks out of this world bad ass.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you are posting in the form of a question.
Please enter a question.
See all 3 answered questions


Need customer service? Click here