Kindle Price: $9.99

Save $10.00 (50%)

These promotions will be applied to this item:

Some promotions may be combined; others are not eligible to be combined with other offers. For details, please see the Terms & Conditions associated with these promotions.

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

Dear Fahrenheit 451: Love and Heartbreak in the Stacks: A Librarian's Love Letters and Breakup Notes to the Books in Her Life by [Spence, Annie]
Audible Sample
Playing...
Loading...
Paused
Kindle App Ad

Dear Fahrenheit 451: Love and Heartbreak in the Stacks: A Librarian's Love Letters and Breakup Notes to the Books in Her Life Kindle Edition

4.2 out of 5 stars 49 customer reviews

See all 6 formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Price
New from Used from
Kindle
$9.99

Length: 256 pages Word Wise: Enabled Enhanced Typesetting: Enabled
Page Flip: Enabled Audible book:
Audible book
Switch back and forth between reading the Kindle book and listening to the Audible book with Whispersync for Voice. Add the Audible book for a reduced price of $7.49 when you buy the Kindle book.
Available

Best Books of the Month
See the Best Books of the Month
Want to know our Editors' picks for the best books of the month? Browse Best Books of the Month, featuring our favorite new books in more than a dozen categories.
click to open popover

Enter your mobile number or email address below and we'll send you a link to download the free Kindle App. Then you can start reading Kindle books on your smartphone, tablet, or computer - no Kindle device required.

  • Apple
  • Android
  • Windows Phone
  • Android

To get the free app, enter your mobile phone number.

Try Kindle Countdown Deals
Explore limited-time discounted eBooks. Learn more.

Editorial Reviews

Review

“A winsome volume published this year in which the librarian Annie Spence writes letters to books she has loved, or not.” ―New York Times Book Review

“Perfect for any bibliophile and terrifically funny.” ―Library Journal, starred Review

“A librarian delivers a charming epistolary volume that begs to be read with pencil in hand.... A smart, funny, forthright librarian in book form.” Kirkus

“Dear Dear Fahrenheit 451, thanks for the lovely reminder of the ways we find ourselves in books.” Booklist, starred review

“The truest testament to the quality of Dear Fahrenheit 451…is that my enjoyment of it was, in the end, great enough to outweigh my fury that someone other than me had written it....She has a unique ability to capture the thoughts and feelings of book lovers, both professional and otherwise, on the page.” ―NPR

“Readers (and librarians especially) will appreciate the sly stabs or ‘roasting’ that the author makes to point out fine and not-so-fine moments of key books that she is contemplating removing from her shelf. She weaves in stories from her life inside a library (which is fodder for chuckles in itself). Perfect for fans of Jenny Lawson.” ―LibraryReads, “The top ten books published this month that librarians across the country love”

“Hard to put down....Dear Fahrenheit 451 is a delightful gem for readers who experience stories as friends, not just words on a page.” ―Shelf Awareness

“A collection of one public librarian and book lover's snarky, relatable, and hilarious (like really, really, laugh-out-loud hilarious) letters to the books she has loved (and hated, and passed on) throughout her life." ―Bustle

“A must-read for librarians (duh) and avid book lovers." ―Albany Times-Union

“A funny, reflective look at the books we love and the ones we don't." ―Gazette-Mail

About the Author

Annie Spence can read while doing almost anything else: walking, cooking breakfast, pretending to be interested in a conversation. She has spent the last decade as a librarian at public libraries in the Midwest and lives in Detroit with her husband and son. Dear Fahrenheit 451 is her first book.

Product details

  • File Size: 3012 KB
  • Print Length: 256 pages
  • Publisher: Flatiron Books (September 26, 2017)
  • Publication Date: September 26, 2017
  • Sold by: Macmillan
  • Language: English
  • ASIN: B06XFZ1CXB
  • Text-to-Speech: Enabled
  • X-Ray:
  • Word Wise: Enabled
  • Lending: Not Enabled
  • Enhanced Typesetting: Enabled
  • Amazon Best Sellers Rank: #77,060 Paid in Kindle Store (See Top 100 Paid in Kindle Store)
  • Would you like to tell us about a lower price?


Customer Reviews

Rated by customers interested in
Literary Fiction
4.1 out of 5 stars
4.1 out of 5 stars
Romance Novels
4.2 out of 5 stars
4.2 out of 5 stars
Children's Books
4.4 out of 5 stars
4.4 out of 5 stars

Read reviews that mention

Top customer reviews

September 26, 2017
Format: Hardcover|Verified Purchase
review imagereview image
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
September 27, 2017
Format: Hardcover|Verified Purchase
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
February 18, 2018
Format: Hardcover|Verified Purchase
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
December 27, 2017
Format: Hardcover|Verified Purchase
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
February 8, 2018
Format: Hardcover|Verified Purchase
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
January 17, 2018
Format: Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
January 14, 2018
Format: Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Most recent customer reviews

Set up an Amazon Giveaway

Dear Fahrenheit 451: Love and Heartbreak in the Stacks: A Librarian's Love Letters and Breakup Notes to the Books in Her Life
Amazon Giveaway allows you to run promotional giveaways in order to create buzz, reward your audience, and attract new followers and customers. Learn more about Amazon Giveaway
This item: Dear Fahrenheit 451: Love and Heartbreak in the Stacks: A Librarian's Love Letters and Breakup Notes to the Books in Her Life