Industrial Deals Beauty Best Books of the Month STEM nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Starting at $39.99 Grocery Handmade Wedding Rustic Decor Home Gift Guide Off to College Home Gift Guide Book House Cleaning TheTick TheTick TheTick  Amazon Echo now $99.99 Limited-time offer: All-New Fire HD 8, starting at $59.99 Kindle Paperwhite Trade it in. Fund the next. Tailgating STEMClubToys17_gno



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 10 reviews(4 star, Verified Purchases). See all 55 reviews
on September 25, 2010
It would have been impossible to condense all of the rich detail and psychological drama from the manga and anime versions of Death Note into these two live-action films, so this is an adaptation rather than a remake. But given the constraints of the medium, the filmmakers did a great job, making an entertaining pair of bookends that tells the story of the Death Note - an object that provides its user with the power to kill with the stroke of a pen - and the fall from grace of Light Yagami, an earnest and dedicated student and son who develops megalomaniacal tendencies as soon as the book falls into his possession.

This Blu-Ray transfer is good; the movies have already been released on DVD, but obviously if you want top quality, this is the way to go. Audio transfer is excellent, and Japanese and dubbed English dialogue soundtracks are included. The voice acting for the English dub is much better than average; the producers used the same voice actors who dubbed the anime, so they're intimately familiar with the stories and characters.

The production quality itself was quite good too. The actors who portray Light and his nemesis, the quirky detective known as L, are astonishingly close to their anime/manga counterparts, and it's a special treat to see Takeshi Kaga (best known to Japanophile Americans as "Chairman Kaga" in the original "Iron Chef" show) as Light's father. The CGI used to create Ryuk and Rem, the two shinigami - death gods who are so central to the storyline - is effective although perhaps a bit lacking the sort of polish you'd expect from an high-budget Hollywood production.

Special features document the making of the two movies.
0Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 26, 2013
I'll keep this short. I absolutely love the anime. Or at least I did up to a point. It decreased in quality to the point where it was down right rubbish. These movies made lots of changes, some large, some small. Most of the small changes I was not a fan of. A lot had to be missed due to the time restrictions a movie has as apposed to an anime series. Due to this many characters come off as not being as intelligent as they are meant to be. Certain precautions were skipped in order to shorten the run time which hurt the characters. But for the most part they can be overlooked. The larger changes I actually rather like. The anime had amazing moments, and was perfect up to a point, but took a turn down a path it never should have. The movies are lacking in these amazing moments, they are lacking in the original polish, they are lacking in a lot of things, but I ended up loathing the anime due to the path it took, and one of the major changes in the movies was not going down that path. Which I can only commend. It's the lesser of two evils in my opinion. It just works better and is more cohesive. If the anime annoyed you, I really would recommend this.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 17, 2011
An intriguing idea: what if a person was given the ability to kill anyone by just writing their name in a book (as in, the pen is mightier than the sword). What would such a person do with this new found power? In this case, that person is a law student named Light. Sadly, he is a tyrannical villain (to the nth degree), willing to kill anyone who gets in his way of creating an ideal world. The problem is he has a skewered vision of what is idyllic. Cops and crooks, they're all the same to him: obstacles.
I guess you could say this was a prime example of "absolute power corrupts absolutely." Naturally, Light doesn't see himself as the villain, rather, he sees himself as a champion of justice; he isn't a mass murderer. In his mind, people trying to thwart his plans are as equally bad as the killers and crooks he's trying to rid the world of. So when a task force is set up to find him, he joins it.

Oh yes, he has a cartoon sidekick which takes a bit of getting used to, and when more death books pop up......It begs the question, why is this happening and why hasn't it happened before? And why do these particular people get the books?

Highly entertaining.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 1, 2008
The Live action version of Death Note definitely shows the side of Light Yagami they couldn't show on the anime series. Having Light as a college student was a much better choice than what the manga and the anime series had him as a high school which a more creepy scary element to it. This Light is simply sick and tired of the way the Japanese Police Department was treating their criminals and not giving them a much harsher punishment. In this film, you cheer for Light than jeer him like in the series.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 12, 2013
Oh my goodness I thought i was going to go into A fan heart attack when I finally saw it arrive. I was so excited. I totally *heart* death note. The main Character is a genius!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 14, 2010
contrary to popular belief, The live action death note movies actually predate the Anime by a couple of months in Japan, so the Live action movies are the original adaption of the Managa.

These movies a great. A delve into the mind of a wannabe god, and man who'll do anything to catch him. Light/Kira (Kira being how the Japanese say "killer") (played by Tatsuya Fujiwara, of Battle Royale fame), is a more than average law student when he finds a notebook which says that any persons whose name is written in the book will die. After trying it out, he trys to rebuild the world by killing the criminals (convenient because they post the criminals face and name on the TV all the time). This catches the attention of L (played by Ken'ichi Matsuyama), a super detective with a super sweet tooth who vows to do anything to catch "kira" and bring him to justice.

The series is known for blurring of the lines between good and evil. For example, both Light and L consider themselves good, they both do bad things to reach their goals. For example L locks Light up for a month in solitary confinement, even after it seems that Light isn't Kira.

The films do take a different route for the ending. In the Anime and Manga, Light kills L with the death note, and NEAR catches Light. In the movies, L writes his own name in the death note with the instructions that he dies in a month. And L catches Light.

The movies have both the original Japanese audio tracks with subtitles, and an English dub performed by the English cast of the Anime series.

I only gave it 4 star because it does not include the third part "L: Change the World" which details L's last month on earth after catching Light and destroying the death note(s).

Over all, this is a great purchase and something to hold you over till they release a blu-ray set of the anime. (which is unlikely since the Anime was shot on 16mm film to save money. This is the case with almost all Anime untill a year or so back).
22 comments| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 20, 2013
great adaptation, I'll always prefer the anime but really well done for a live action movie. I like the different ending as well, made it extremely interesting to watch.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 20, 2013
Now, this is not NEARLY as awesome as the anime, but it was still pretty cool. It was interesting to see the characters portrayed.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 12, 2015
its not what I thought it be like, but it did come earlier then expected. I would recommend this if you like the monga or the anima, but be warned it is only in Japanize but It dose have English sub.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 5, 2011
all i have to say is the anime series is always better. no one to this date has yet to make a movie based off an anime better than the anime itself. oh yeah, amazon is awesome!!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse